Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Berserk+Backstab
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
servando
Member

Posts: 57
Registered:
June 2006
  Berserk+Backstab Wed, 27 December 2006 16:55
For example a blue sword unit with a Berserk attacking a blue mounted unit, rolls 1 hit and 3 bonus, then a Backstab is played.
How many rerolls should be made?
2 because the first one is ignored, or none (because the backstab)
If they are rolled again and is a bonus and a blue helmet, each one loses a figure?
      
Blue Jackal
Junior Member

Posts: 27
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Berserk+Backstab Thu, 28 December 2006 01:08
I'd say none, partially for ease.
      
JMcL63
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 305
Registered:
August 2004
Re:Berserk+Backstab Thu, 28 December 2006 01:20
servando wrote on Wed, 27 December 2006 15:55

For example a blue sword unit with a Berserk attacking a blue mounted unit, rolls 1 hit and 3 bonus, then a Backstab is played.
How many rerolls should be made?
2 because the first one is ignored, or none (because the backstab)

The first hit is ignored, so can't be rerolled (cf. the Berserk FAQ). So you'd be rerolling 2 dice (although see my question below for a possible complication).
Quote:

If they are rolled again and is a bonus and a blue helmet, each one loses a figure?


I would say so, yes.

A possible complication?
Is the rerolling of bonus hits with the Berserk lore card optional? So could you choose not to reroll bonus hits because your opponent played the Backstab card? Wink
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Berserk+Backstab Thu, 28 December 2006 02:28
Well this complicates things nicely.

2nd card played trumps the first card played per page 52. But I think it is a matter of timing. "Backstab" is played after your dice are rolled. Maybe the question should be, when can you play the Backstab card? In other words, when is the dice roll phase over (see page 51).

If the Backstab has to be played after the initial roll, then the bonus strikes (all 3 of them) would be hits on the attcking unit. More than likley the effect of Berserk (the re-roll -not the extra dice) is voided. if the re-roll is not voided, than any other bonus strikes would count as hits against the defending unit (since the Backstab can only be used once). Also, the first bonus strike re-rolled would be ignored by the defender.

But if the re-roll is part of the original phase of dice rolling, then Backstab would only be played on the second dice roll. So the results should be the first bonus is ignored, the defender takes 2 hits, and 2 dice are rerolled. Then if any bonus strikes are rolled, Backstab could be played and all hits would be applied against the attacker as expected.

      
    
Previous Topic:Line of sight
Next Topic:Movement on bridges
Goto Forum: