Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Earth Elemental war council cost??
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
player21172
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
June 2004
Earth Elemental war council cost?? Mon, 01 January 2007 17:42
OK, maybe this has already been answered elsewhere, but how do you pay for the war council cost of an Earth Elemental? If it has to be summoned as an action during the game, do you need to reserve one war council level point for it? Then if you do summon it, you have the extra war council point to now use it?


Seems also, that you could create a scenario where both players have the chance to summon it. Place the summoning hex near the middle and each player now can decide to try to get to that hex an summon the creature. So then during set up do both players need to set aside one War Council level point just in case they are the one to summon the Earth Elemental.

I would be grateful for some input on this.
Embarassed
Thanks!

Kevin

[Updated on: Mon, 01 January 2007 17:43]

      
maxixe
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 13
Registered:
September 2006
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Mon, 01 January 2007 20:39
IMHO:

Earth Elemental costs 1 War Council Level, the same as Giant Spider and Hill Giant.

It does not come into play immediately.

It can only be summoned once and the summoning circle will be removed.

Normal rule is that opponent units have no additional effects on your summoning hex and vice versa. I.e. your opponent cannot summon EE on your hex, vv. If you have two EE minis, you can both play it.

In your stated example, it is a custom scenario where I can see there is a special rule. In this case, it is really up to the scenario designer.
      
casbarian
Junior Member
Major

Posts: 10
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Mon, 01 January 2007 20:58
player21172 wrote on Mon, 01 January 2007 10:42

OK, maybe this has already been answered elsewhere, but how do you pay for the war council cost of an Earth Elemental?



Somewhere it is stated that all creatures cost 1 Lore Level like Maxixe said. So down the road when there's a red creature...it is still going to cost 1 Level unless otherwise stated. (Initially, before seeing the rule, we thought that a blue would be 2 levels and reds would be 3.)

The elemental may never be summoned, but you are spending 1 Lore Level for the right to summon it at all. So if you have a Lore Council of 8 points and want to have an elemental, you spend 1 on the creature and 7 however you like.


maxixe wrote on Mon, 01 January 2007 13:39


Normal rule is that opponent units have no additional effects on your summoning hex and vice versa. I.e. your opponent cannot summon EE on your hex, vv. If you have two EE minis, you can both play it.



This is partially true, imo. The Player's Guide says that all landmarks affect morale, movement, line of sight, and combat restrictions of ANY unit. So although the enemy can't summon an elemental, they can sit there and take advantage of all the landmark perks.
      
player21172
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Mon, 01 January 2007 22:12
Thanks for the responses. Seems we were on the correct track trying to incorporate the EE into the game.

We are enjoying BL very much, and the creatures just add more interesting twists to it!

[Updated on: Wed, 03 January 2007 02:16]

      
ntaatgen
Member

Posts: 52
Registered:
February 2005
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Mon, 01 January 2007 22:15
Eric promised that there would be a creature compendium on the website early in the new year, so I suppose that will answer our questions.
      
JoystickJunkies
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 2
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Mon, 01 January 2007 22:38

Out of interest I created an adventure in the editor where you can summon both the Hill Giant and the Earth Elemental - if the link doesn't work look for Brandon Cartoris and the Fields of Summoning

http://www.battlelore.com/index.php?t=battlelore_editor& sub=view&id=218&returnto=battlelore_editor&game= &rid=272144&S=791e9a3208bd6ac7d9f18d4a3a39f04a
      
jty3
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Tue, 02 January 2007 03:36
Can you only get creatures in scenarios where it allows you to have a creature (ie. if a spider is allowed, you are allowed to swap it for a Hill Giant or Earth Elemental)?

Or, are you allowed to spend your council levels on creatures even if a creature is not in a scenario but a war council is? So would you be able to to get all three creatures if you spent three council levels?
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Tue, 02 January 2007 16:06
jty3 wrote on Mon, 01 January 2007 20:36

Can you only get creatures in scenarios where it allows you to have a creature (ie. if a spider is allowed, you are allowed to swap it for a Hill Giant or Earth Elemental)?

Or, are you allowed to spend your council levels on creatures even if a creature is not in a scenario but a war council is? So would you be able to to get all three creatures if you spent three council levels?

We have nothing official yet about these types of things so you can do what you want as long as your opponent agrees.

What has been recommended by Richard Borg is to use the scenarios that came with the game and swap out the spider for a creature of your choice.
      
FelixPhantasm
Member

Posts: 84
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Tue, 08 July 2008 20:06
Allow me to officially whip a dead horse... sorry, I can't find an answer to my question.

In an official scenario that includes a creature *and* does not explicitly state the war council make up; must one assign a LVL to the creature slot?

One example is "Riding Down The Spear Bearers" scenario in the Goblin Skirmishers pack... Pennants get the spider and 6 LVLs for a war council. Can I have LVL3 Commander, LVL3 Cleric, *and* the spider?
      
surigaostriat
Junior Member

Posts: 21
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Wed, 09 July 2008 01:20
Quote:

are you allowed to spend your council levels on creatures even if a creature is not in a scenario but a war council is?


The Rules say nothing about adding creatures to preset Scenarios. Creatures are detailed for Call to Arms, but not for Scenarios.

Which is just right in my opinion. Each scenario has its own feel, and plopping 3 Hill Giants down right in front of the enemy (who has to set his pre-set Spider in the back row) will make every Scenario the same.

However there is a place this is specified, not in the Rules that come with the game, but in the online "The Creature Compendium". I get the idea the Compendium entry is a DoW response to 'all' the "How do I buy a creature in a scenario" questions, boom, here you go, all good now?

[Updated on: Wed, 09 July 2008 01:23]

      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Wed, 09 July 2008 01:25
I wouldn't view as precedent the way the adventures are written in the base game, they are exceptionally explicit. Unless the adventure states otherwise, anytime a creature is fielded, it takes up a level on the war council (or two, etc., assuming such creatures ever make an appearance Smile ).

[Updated on: Wed, 09 July 2008 01:27]

      
FelixPhantasm
Member

Posts: 84
Registered:
January 2008
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Wed, 09 July 2008 19:53
I was afraid you might say that. Embarassed

I can already hear the chant of "cheat to win" from my friend. Laughing
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Thu, 10 July 2008 06:02
Wink
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Wed, 16 July 2008 04:46
jty3 wrote on Mon, 01 January 2007 19:36

Can you only get creatures in scenarios where it allows you to have a creature (ie. if a spider is allowed, you are allowed to swap it for a Hill Giant or Earth Elemental)?

Or, are you allowed to spend your council levels on creatures even if a creature is not in a scenario but a war council is? So would you be able to to get all three creatures if you spent three council levels?


If I remember correctly, there are different ways to put a creature on the board.

For a CtA (Call to Arms) created game, you cannot get a creature by adding one via the lore council (if I remember correctly - been gone for 3+ weeks). Only can obtain a creature via the CtA cards. And even though the cards state a spider, it can be ANY creature. In CtA rulebook, there are rules on how to break ties, etc should 2 creatures be turned up at the same time.

For a non-call to Arms scenarios, I believe you can obtain a creature by using 1 level of your lore council for the creature spot during the lore council creation. Unless the scenario states otherwise.

I'll presume Todd or Colt will put me back in the proper place if I stand incorrect..Smile

Cab
p.s. for those fortunate to been watching, I was shown on the Jay Leno show last Monday twice - in the audience <G>
      
DarkPadawan
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 599
Registered:
November 2006
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Fri, 18 July 2008 19:17
Caboose wrote on Wed, 16 July 2008 04:46

jty3 wrote on Mon, 01 January 2007 19:36

Can you only get creatures in scenarios where it allows you to have a creature (ie. if a spider is allowed, you are allowed to swap it for a Hill Giant or Earth Elemental)?

Or, are you allowed to spend your council levels on creatures even if a creature is not in a scenario but a war council is? So would you be able to to get all three creatures if you spent three council levels?


If I remember correctly, there are different ways to put a creature on the board.

For a CtA (Call to Arms) created game, you cannot get a creature by adding one via the lore council (if I remember correctly - been gone for 3+ weeks). Only can obtain a creature via the CtA cards. And even though the cards state a spider, it can be ANY creature. In CtA rulebook, there are rules on how to break ties, etc should 2 creatures be turned up at the same time.

For a non-call to Arms scenarios, I believe you can obtain a creature by using 1 level of your lore council for the creature spot during the lore council creation. Unless the scenario states otherwise.

I'll presume Todd or Colt will put me back in the proper place if I stand incorrect..Smile




The last paragraph is only partly right, Caboose.
If you check the following entry in the Creatures Compendium (
http://www.daysofwonder.com/battlelore/en/content/creatures/ ?id=generic#comment-14), the last sentence explains that even in CtA it is possible to launch a creature via the war council. But... this is only possible if no creature was chosen during the card deployment phase on both sides.

Dark.
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Earth Elemental war council cost?? Fri, 18 July 2008 23:21
or the DarkPadawan will correct you Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:Homebrew creature : un-named!
Next Topic:nuking your own troops - A morality Q for debate
Goto Forum: