Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Earth Elemental - Earthquake
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
FinalAttack
Member

Posts: 64
Registered:
December 2006
Earth Elemental - Earthquake Wed, 10 January 2007 23:35
Earthquake can be potentially quite powerful if your enemies retreat passage is cut off.

With Earthquake (2 lore) they automatically lose one figure. And must retreat as if in tremor. Since tremor states "MUST retreat 1 hex per Lore rolled". This is two hexes. If your enemy has no method of retreating that equals two lost figures.

Three figure lost total from one attack.

On top of that this occurs while the elemental attacks, not in lieu of it. So three more dice for potential hits and lore.

Imagine this senario.

http://img106.imageshack.us/img106/549/eeey5.png

1. All enemy units (red) have the full 4 units. Their retreat is cut off by other units (grey)
2. The earth elemental (brown) has stored 2 lore from previous fights.
3. An attack is made on one of the units. Three dice are rolled: results are 1 lore, 1 hit and 1 miss.
4. Earthquake is cast
5. Each surrounding unit losses 1 figure automatically.
6. Now everyone "MUST retreat hex for each lore rolled"

Now one of two things could be ruled to happen.

7a. When casting earthquake 2 lore is the max that can be rolled. Therefore they would retreat 2 hex. If they can't a figure is lost.

7b. The lore rolled during the EE's attack can also be counted. Therefore all surrounding units must retreat 3 hexes.

8a. Total figure loss = 4 from unit that was originally attacked in melee and 3 from the other two units.

8b. Total figure loss = 4 from every unit.

-------------------------------------

If instead the dice rolled during the attack was 2 lore and one miss. Tremor could have been cast forcing them to move 4 hexes, 2 lore that where stored and 2 from the roll.

Resulting in killing three units outright.

[Updated on: Wed, 10 January 2007 23:40]

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3198
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Earth Elemental - Earthquake Thu, 11 January 2007 00:50
Actually, in the case you describe, the tremor resulting from the earthquake would just force units adjacent to the EE to retreat a _single_ hex, because there was only 1 lore in your dice roll. The lore accumulated prior to trigger the earthquake does not count, it's only the lore just rolled.

This means that it is usually best to simply use the earthquake as soon as you roll 2 lore, if you're lucky enough to do so, because in that case the tremor will send units fleeing back 2 hexes.

It's (the issue of "just rolled" vs "stored") detailed in further depth in the Creature compendium that should go live any day now (keeping my fingers crossed).

eric
      
FinalAttack
Member

Posts: 64
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Earth Elemental - Earthquake Thu, 11 January 2007 02:19
Ah ... so Earthquake is activated with stored lore or rolled lore, tremor is activated ONLY by lore just rolled.
      
Ggrognon
Member

Posts: 74
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Earth Elemental - Earthquake Thu, 11 January 2007 15:07
A question using your figure/example.

If tremor is activated,
the unit on the red hex in the north-west may eventually succeed, isnt'it ?
I mean if the two other (red) units retreat, this will leave an empty hex (behind it on the right) to retreat into. No ?

The question is : with tremor, multiple units may need to retreat. In which order do the different retreats take place ? Is it the player owning theses units who decides ? That's what I suppose.
Or do all these units retreat simultaneously ?


Ggrognon.
      
SHwoKing
Senior Member

Posts: 402
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Earth Elemental - Earthquake Thu, 11 January 2007 15:09
Ggrognon wrote on Thu, 11 January 2007 15:07

A question using your figure/example.

If tremor is activated,
the unit on the red hex in the north-west may eventually succeed, isnt'it ?
I mean if the two other (red) units retreat, this will leave an empty hex (behind it on the right) to retreat into. No ?

The question is : with tremor, multiple units may need to retreat. In which order do the different retreats take place ? Is it the player owning theses units who decides ? That's what I suppose.
Or do all these units retreat simultaneously ?


Ggrognon.


Ggrognon, read the Earth Elemental card again, eveything is explain on how to deal with each unit retreat. It is not simultaneous, each unit is doing its retreat separately.

So it is clear that if you doing manage to deal with the unit in the center first, the unit on the left will have a safe spot to retreat one hex.

Though i'm not sure Final Attack exemple is by the rules. Something seems not good as with three Lore (two stored and one rolled) you can only cast one Earthquake (with stored) and one tremor (with the rolled lore). So it would be one figure killed + 2 retreating hex.

[Updated on: Thu, 11 January 2007 15:17]

      
Ggrognon
Member

Posts: 74
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Earth Elemental - Earthquake Thu, 11 January 2007 15:12
SHwoKing écrit le Thu, 11 January 2007 15:09


Ggrognon, read the Earth Elemental card again, eveything is explain on how to deal with each unit retreat. It is not simultaneous, each unit is doing its retreat separately.


I was sure I should have checked before asking.

Sorry.

[Updated on: Thu, 11 January 2007 15:12]

      
    
Previous Topic:BattleLore tabletop variant online
Next Topic:Two quick questions...
Goto Forum: