Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Plays In Lieu of Command Card....
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Black Barney
Member

Posts: 39
Registered:
February 2007
  Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Mon, 19 February 2007 17:12
We had a couple hiccups over Lore cards like this on the weekend. Two questions:

Can you CounterAttack a Field Command? I don't think so cuz Field Command is NOT a Command Card. Correct?

Can you play any reaction card that has "Play after your opponent's command card" is the opponent plays something like Field Command or anything that "Plays in Lieu of Command Card"?

I ruled No in both instances.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Mon, 19 February 2007 19:51
Black Barney wrote on Mon, 19 February 2007 10:12

We had a couple hiccups over Lore cards like this on the weekend. Two questions:

Can you CounterAttack a Field Command? I don't think so cuz Field Command is NOT a Command Card. Correct?

Can you play any reaction card that has "Play after your opponent's command card" is the opponent plays something like Field Command or anything that "Plays in Lieu of Command Card"?

I ruled No in both instances.

It just means you play the Lore card instead of a Command card. It is still a Lore card and cards such as Counter-attack - which counter Command cards - have no effect on it.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Tue, 20 February 2007 07:48
also when you don't play a command card on your turn due such a Lore card, you do NOT draw another command card at the end of your turn since you didn't play one to begin with.

Cab
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Tue, 20 February 2007 17:02
Black Barney's on the fly rulings would match mine, but is there official word on these? For me, second one gives more doubt than the first...
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Tue, 20 February 2007 17:38
toddrew wrote on Tue, 20 February 2007 10:02

Black Barney's on the fly rulings would match mine, but is there official word on these? For me, second one gives more doubt than the first...

We are not official enough for you? Very Happy

A Command card is a command card; a Lore card is a Lore card. Things that effect Lore Cards do not effect Command Cards and vice versa. The game is about the simplicity - so don't add more than what is already said.

As far as official rulings: http://www.daysofwonder.com/index.php?t=msg&th=9515& rid=212090&S=4d9cc550c3eba8848bce4fb1c02a4509&start= 0#msg_75334

That is the link to the community generated FAQ. Section 1.8 addresses the counter attack vs lore card. It references Eric as the source. Since I can't find this on the forums (though I know I have read it), I suspect it may be buried on the blog somewhere.

Nothing official that I can find on question 2 - but the logic above states the same thing. A lore card played in lieu of a command card does not become a command card. Things that counter command cards do not counter lore cards played in lieu of command cards.
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Tue, 20 February 2007 18:07
Hey now, you don't know me from Adam, but I've taken your word as BL gospel from day one Very Happy , unfortunately for you, I was raised to question my faith Laughing

Seriously, though, thanks for the link. Still learning some of the nuances and correcting erroneous habits that I've picked up through selective reading of the rule book Embarassed

Definitely, my opinion of both matters was "no" and the first question is certainly that, the second most certainly, to my knowledge.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Tue, 20 February 2007 20:11
It's all good. Smile Sometimes I just answer based off of memory and that can lead to mistakes. It's good to keepp me in line and back up my statements. Sometimes that is easier - other times, like on this thread, there is less to back it up officially.
      
Stormshine
Member
Cadet

Posts: 89
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Tue, 20 February 2007 22:13
Check the Lore Cards Compendium under the Rogue's "False Orders" card. It gives an official instance showing a "Play in lieu of a command card" example.
      
Hemispheres
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Tue, 20 February 2007 23:11
I ran into a related issue this past weekend. I played Assault, and my opponent countered it with Dispel Lore. When something like this happens, do I just lose my turn completely, or am I still able to play a command card? We decided to handle it as if the card had never been played, allowing me to take a turn with a command card, but also not re-shuffling the deck. My opponent was of the opinion that, if the card was never played, all text on the card would be ignored, including the instruction to re-shuffle.

Thoughts?

-Dave
      
Stormshine
Member
Cadet

Posts: 89
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Wed, 21 February 2007 00:04
Hemispheres wrote on Tue, 20 February 2007 16:11

I ran into a related issue this past weekend. I played Assault, and my opponent countered it with Dispel Lore. When something like this happens, do I just lose my turn completely, or am I still able to play a command card? We decided to handle it as if the card had never been played, allowing me to take a turn with a command card, but also not re-shuffling the deck. My opponent was of the opinion that, if the card was never played, all text on the card would be ignored, including the instruction to re-shuffle.


Again in the Lore Cards Compendium, under Wizard - Dispel Lore, this is noted. You get to play a command card, but must discard the lore card. Considering the lore card is dispelled, a reshuffle should not occur, as that is a condition of playing the card successfully.
      
Black Barney
Member

Posts: 39
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Plays In Lieu of Command Card.... Wed, 21 February 2007 17:01
Hemispheres wrote on Tue, 20 February 2007 17:11

I ran into a related issue this past weekend. I played Assault, and my opponent countered it with Dispel Lore. When something like this happens, do I just lose my turn completely, or am I still able to play a command card? We decided to handle it as if the card had never been played, allowing me to take a turn with a command card, but also not re-shuffling the deck. My opponent was of the opinion that, if the card was never played, all text on the card would be ignored, including the instruction to re-shuffle.

Thoughts?

-Dave


You played it right. Since you never played the Lore card, you never played something something in lieu of a command card, therefore you get to play a command card.
      
    
Previous Topic:What are you expecting from the Expansion?
Next Topic:Question about foot units
Goto Forum: