Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Emcher
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 40
Registered:
June 2004
Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Tue, 13 March 2007 22:31
Is the Gung Ho rule about Marines in effect for all the scenarios?

In the rule section explaining this, it says that it is.

In all M44 Pacific Theater Scenarios, the US Marines are Gung Ho. They benefit from the following increase in Command Capacity:

But in scenario #51, it talks about the US Army Special Forces Infantry Units. Is this to imply that this scenario is Army based and not Marines? And if so, the Gung Ho rule does not apply?

Would appreciate a clarification on this.

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Wed, 14 March 2007 03:40
The wording is a bit tricky. It is not saying that all units in all scenarios are US Marines and therefore all scenarios are Gung Ho.

What it is trying to say is that in all scenarios with Marines, the Gung-Ho rules are in effect. So in the Scenario with the Army, there are NO Gung-ho rules.

Many of us missed this the first time around because we interpreted it the way I stated it in the first paragraph.
BTW, I am back from vacation, Ron. I'll get my next PBEM move out in the next day or so!
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Mon, 02 April 2007 22:57
I am bumping this thread because I have heard through the grapevine that a certain individual at DOW says our logic is incorrect and the USMC Gung Ho rules should be in effect for this scenario [the mt. austin scenario #51a].

I think the rules are quite clear on the interpretation, the scenario supports the interpretation, and history supports all of the above. It was the US Army in this battle and not the USMC; therefore, the USMC Gung Ho rules are not in effect. But we were told otherwise.

Could either Eric or Richard clear this up now that DOW has made this a bit murky? Thanks!

[Updated on: Mon, 02 April 2007 23:06]

      
raistlin_majere
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 159
Registered:
January 2005
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Tue, 03 April 2007 08:12
I don't see reason for Gung-Ho rules in the mt. austin scenario #51a.
Each scenario including USMC also has the following statement in the special rules section: US Marine Corps Command rules are in effect (see p. 7).
Since [Guadalcanal] Slopes of Mount Austen scenario does not have this statement I would say that the Gung-Ho rules are not in use for US Army player (or the scenario has an error Very Happy ).
      
Randwulf
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1364
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Tue, 03 April 2007 11:24
I am pretty sure that we have it right, and the un-named "certain individual at DOW" has it wrong...

If it has been changed? Then they should let us know so we can add it to the FAQ upgrade.


      
GreatDane
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 755
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Tue, 03 April 2007 15:36
ColtsFan76 wrote on Mon, 02 April 2007 22:57

Could either Eric or Richard clear this up now that DOW has made this a bit murky? Thanks!

We will most likely have to wait at least a week - as both gentlemen should hopefully be enjoying themselves
at Alan Moon's Gathering of Friends at the moment.
      
RBorg
Game Designer
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 238
Registered:
December 2003
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Wed, 11 April 2007 16:53
emcher wrote on Tue, 13 March 2007 17:31

Is the Gung Ho rule about Marines in effect for all the scenarios?


The Pacific Rules state on page 7?
In all Memoir '44 Pacific Theater scenarios, the US Marines are Gung-Ho!
They benefit from the following increase in Command capacity:

But in scenario # 51- [Guadalcanal] Slopes of Mount Austen the Allied units are Regular Army not Marines, therefore the US Marines Corps Command rules are not in effect for the scenario.

Richard Borg
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Wed, 11 April 2007 17:59
Thanks Richard. That's what we all thought until one of us not involved in this discussion got an email indicating otherwise.
      
AJBQC
Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 69
Registered:
April 2009
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Thu, 28 April 2011 05:00
RBorg wrote on Wed, 11 April 2007 10:53

emcher wrote on Tue, 13 March 2007 17:31

Is the Gung Ho rule about Marines in effect for all the scenarios?


The Pacific Rules state on page 7?
In all Memoir '44 Pacific Theater scenarios, the US Marines are Gung-Ho!
They benefit from the following increase in Command capacity:

But in scenario # 51- [Guadalcanal] Slopes of Mount Austen the Allied units are Regular Army not Marines, therefore the US Marines Corps Command rules are not in effect for the scenario.

Richard Borg


But Richard, the rules state they are in effect if I read it correctly.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2292
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Thu, 28 April 2011 05:17
Alan, FYI, this is a 4-year-old thread.

In the original Pacific Theater version of this scenario, Marine rules are not listed among the Special Rules. http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=1413

In the Air Pack version, the Special Rules say that Marine rules are in effect.
      
AJBQC
Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 69
Registered:
April 2009
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Thu, 28 April 2011 05:23
sam1812 wrote on Wed, 27 April 2011 23:17

Alan, FYI, this is a 4-year-old thread.

In the original Pacific Theater version of this scenario, Marine rules are not listed among the Special Rules. http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=1413

In the Air Pack version, the Special Rules say that Marine rules are in effect.


Hi Sam,

Thanks for pointing the 4 year thing out. However, the rules for the online version do state Marine rules are in effect, yet they don't work. Have you tried the online scenario?

Thanks,

Alan
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2183
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Thu, 28 April 2011 12:17
AJBQC wrote on Wed, 27 April 2011 23:23

sam1812 wrote on Wed, 27 April 2011 23:17

Alan, FYI, this is a 4-year-old thread.

In the original Pacific Theater version of this scenario, Marine rules are not listed among the Special Rules. http://www.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/editor/view/?id=1413

In the Air Pack version, the Special Rules say that Marine rules are in effect.


Hi Sam,

Thanks for pointing the 4 year thing out. However, the rules for the online version do state Marine rules are in effect, yet they don't work. Have you tried the online scenario?

Thanks,

Alan


Hmmm. The Marine rule applies to the US Army too in this scenario (in the AP version and Online Version at least)? Why the change from the original scenario which did not list the rule?
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2292
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Question on Pacific Theatre about Marines Thu, 28 April 2011 13:22
TC/Alan --

The difference between the two versions of Mount Austen was reported on this thread -- http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=213606#msg_213606 -- and a change was made to the scenario play. (See the April 21 post there.) Evidently, DOW changed the scenario play, but didn't change the text to match it.

Sam
      
    
Previous Topic:New Scenarios available!
Next Topic:Punchboard I Lack!
Goto Forum: