Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Call to Arms - Reserve Question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
rickr
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Registered:
December 2005
Call to Arms - Reserve Question Fri, 11 May 2007 17:39
Hi all,

I have a question about deploying reserve units in the "Call to Arms" rules supplement.

The rules say,

Quote:

"The player who was out-scounted deploys 2 units (and 2 units only) of his choice from among those specified on the deployment card he held back in reserve."
...
"The starting player then deploys his reserve..."


When the starting player deploys his reserve, does he get only 2 of the units on his reserve deployment card, or does he get all of the units?

Thanks!

[Updated on: Fri, 11 May 2007 17:40]

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question Fri, 11 May 2007 19:03
I believe it's only two but I am going off of memory.
      
Zeal
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

Posts: 214
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question Fri, 11 May 2007 19:19
I read it as two only for each player, unless he has the card that allows him/her to take one extra unit from the reserve.

That whole scouting thing on who goes first, basically comes down to the units left available for pulling into the reserve, specifically the creatures.
      
Mondior
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 7
Registered:
March 2007
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question Fri, 11 May 2007 19:57
I read it differently...

The Starting player has OUTSCOUTED the second player so...

Player 2 gets 2 of his reserve units and
Player 1 gets all of his units(As a bonus for outscouting the other player)

      
DarkPadawan
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 599
Registered:
November 2006
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question Fri, 11 May 2007 20:13
It is true, that the given information can be interpreted as Mondior says. The rules (german version) don't explicitely state how many reserve units to use for the player who won the "scouting duel".

Nevertheless, I think it is 2 out of 3 for both players.

Dark.
      
Mondior
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 7
Registered:
March 2007
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question Fri, 11 May 2007 20:19
DarkPadawan wrote on Fri, 11 May 2007 14:13

The rules (german version) don't explicitely state how many reserve units to use for the player who won the "scouting duel".



That is why I interpreted as I did. The rules explicitly say only 2 units for the plyer that was outscouted!
      
mvettemagred
Senior Member

Posts: 266
Registered:
August 2005
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question Fri, 11 May 2007 20:43
Outscouting your opponent allows you to play the first command card. That is generally considered an advanatage, which is balanced by the fact that you have more green (weak) units.

Also, by placing his reserve last, the player who outscouted his opponent is in a better position to respond to the reserve placement. He can place his reserves to either counter his opponent's reserves, or take advantage of his opponent's weak section. Either way, going second when placing reserves is an advantage.

I believe the reserve placement must be 2 units per player, again to keep things balanced. I haven't seen anything in Battlelore that suggests the CtA rules would be designed to give one player an automatic 1-unit advantage. A balanced setup is key to having a fair game of Battlelore.
      
Everett
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 10
Registered:
June 2005
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question Fri, 11 May 2007 22:19
Agreed - only 2 units from the reserve for each side. The Lexicon on page 12 of the CtA rules doesn't distinguish between the "outscouted" player and the other.
      
Mondior
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 7
Registered:
March 2007
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question Fri, 11 May 2007 22:24
After reading mvettemagred's post, I like the balance of that interpretation better.
      
Faithful
Member

Posts: 82
Registered:
May 2006
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question Fri, 11 May 2007 22:55
This is something that will keep me from continuing with BattleLore. If the people who make a livelihood from producing and testing these games can not state something on the card clearly then how many other issues will arise?

I personally do not wish to play the game with a computer handy or a tome of clarifications that one has to sift through to make sure everything is correct.

I may be in the minority, but I think these types of issues should be worked out in the play testing. If they have too few testers I am sure many people here would gladly help make sure BL is the clearest and finest game on the market.
      
Mondior
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 7
Registered:
March 2007
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question **Official Answer** Fri, 11 May 2007 23:21
I found this response over at BGG

Quote:

"Just 2 units as well."
Eric @ DoW"


Here is the (rather short) thread:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/165571

[Updated on: Fri, 11 May 2007 23:25]

      
Zeal
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

Posts: 214
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Call to Arms - Reserve Question Mon, 14 May 2007 18:19
Faithful wrote on Fri, 11 May 2007 14:55

This is something that will keep me from continuing with BattleLore. If the people who make a livelihood from producing and testing these games can not state something on the card clearly then how many other issues will arise?

I personally do not wish to play the game with a computer handy or a tome of clarifications that one has to sift through to make sure everything is correct.

I may be in the minority, but I think these types of issues should be worked out in the play testing. If they have too few testers I am sure many people here would gladly help make sure BL is the clearest and finest game on the market.



Well, if they didn't have any issues to haggle over, and were perfectly balanced, what would we go on and on about on the forums? It would be a desolate read.

I also don't want to see it become a Warhammer constant addendum beauracracy, but I think there is little fear it that.
      
    
Previous Topic:36 days and finally a new blog post!
Next Topic:New adventure with dragon: The Culling of Mogron the Great
Goto Forum: