Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Vantage Point Question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
GAWD
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Registered:
April 2007
Vantage Point Question Thu, 17 May 2007 17:27
Okay, my wife and I just played w/CtA the other night, and we had were at an impasse as to the Vantage Point specialist card.

It allows you to deploy up to 2 of your reserve units in hexes adjacent to your units.

Does this mean that I get to deploy my 2 units for the reserve phase and then another 2 units? Or does this mean that I get to deploy my 2 reserve units from the reserve phase to spots adjacent to some of my other units, effectively redeploying them?
      
mvettemagred
Senior Member

Posts: 266
Registered:
August 2005
Re:Vantage Point Question Thu, 17 May 2007 17:39
Thanks for posting this question. I had the same question after my first play of CtA, but didn't get around to posting it.

My guess is a redeployment of the two reserve units you already deployed, but we'll see what DoW has to day.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Vantage Point Question Thu, 17 May 2007 18:42
The way i read it is that you get 2 additional units. Here are my reasons.

1) Reserves are called in on step 4.4. Rules state you may pull no more than 2 from the Resereve card.

2) Specialist cards are played on step 4.6. At this point. the "Reserves" you deployed in Step 4.4 are no longer "reserves," they are now part of your army. So the only reserves you have at this point are the remaining ones on the reserve card. The text also states a "deploy" instead of a "redeploy."

Otherwise, this card really just moves your baseline reserves up to the "front" lines which may be sufficient but seems a bit weak if this is all it does.
      
GAWD
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Vantage Point Question Thu, 17 May 2007 20:02
CF76: That's the way we played it. The mantra, "If it's a Borg game, the simple solution is the correct solution" was ringing in my head.

The problem came in when we figured that none of the other Specialist cards allowed us to deploy more than 1 additional unit, making Vantage Point virtually "no-brainer" selection: uh ... 2 more units? of my choice? pretty much anywhere on the table? Yes please.

So, we finished the game thinking along the lines of mvette: that the card allows for the redeployment of your 2 reserve units (an extremely powerful ability in its own right).

Either way is workable I guess, but an "official" opinion would help us out for our next game.

Dunno ... just wondering

[Updated on: Thu, 17 May 2007 20:04]

      
mvettemagred
Senior Member

Posts: 266
Registered:
August 2005
Re:Vantage Point Question Thu, 17 May 2007 20:41
GAWD,

That's was my line of reasoning too. Keeps the power of the card more in line with the other Specialist cards (although not all Specialist cards are created equal).

I also had trouble with the terms "Reserves" and "Reserve Card". My interpretation was the "Reserves" were units you deployed from your "Reserve Card" into your army. So, your starting army consists of:
- Vanguard
- Midguard
- Rear Guard
- Reserves

Each part of your army consists of two or more units. So, the units on your Reserve Card aren't really Reserves until they're deployed into your army. The historical definition of Reserves is units that are on the battlefield, but are held back until needed/wanted. I think this fits my interpretation of the deployment of reserves in CtA.
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3196
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Vantage Point Question Fri, 18 May 2007 00:57
mvettemagred has it correct, actually. These are not new units, but rather reserve units already on the battlefield. And yes "redeploy" would have been a better term.

We thought there would be no confusion (when it is a new unit, like with Forced enrollment, we specify it by stressing "additional"). It appears we were too optimistic. Embarassed

      
GAWD
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Vantage Point Question Fri, 18 May 2007 01:08
thanks for the head's up eric Smile
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Vantage Point Question Fri, 18 May 2007 01:45
Thanks for the clarification. It could have easily gone either way with the wording, but as was pointed out in comparison to the other cards, my interpretation would have made it too powerful.
      
GAWD
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Vantage Point Question Sun, 20 May 2007 21:05
As a footnote to this question ...

will it be added to the relevant FAQ databases & such?

will you all change the wording of the card for future print runs to make "redeployment" clearer?

we played w/the clarification last night. It's still really good, but not so much the no-brainer it was at first.

Lv. 3 Rogue + Vantage Point + Infiltration = lots of pain, really quickly Twisted Evil
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Vantage Point Question Mon, 21 May 2007 14:53
GAWD wrote on Sun, 20 May 2007 12:05



Lv. 3 Rogue + Vantage Point + Infiltration = lots of pain, really quickly Twisted Evil


I haven't had an opportunity to play with CtA yet, but I have been playing a lot with the Rogue, and, yeah, that was my thinking too: Twisted Evil
      
Black Barney
Member

Posts: 39
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Vantage Point Question Tue, 22 May 2007 16:30
Does infiltration just allow you to move your units or do you take an entire turn with them? (battle, etc)
      
GAWD
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Vantage Point Question Tue, 22 May 2007 16:35
Just move. It doesnt' allow you to order them.

Even still ... you can set up some serious nastiness.
      
DarkPadawan
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 599
Registered:
November 2006
Re:Vantage Point Question Tue, 22 May 2007 16:49
GAWD is right with this. The text on the specialists cards is executed immediately after selecting them. At that time we are still in the setup phase (no War Council chosen) and there is no battle occuring, it is still the positioning process of the two armies.

Dark.
      
    
Previous Topic:Hope for Future Cards
Next Topic:Number of tiles in CtA
Goto Forum: