Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » x2 Call to Arms?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
echtalion
Member

Posts: 96
Registered:
January 2007
x2 Call to Arms? Thu, 10 May 2007 21:54
Hi, I'm about to order my copy of Call to Arms, but I don;t know whether I should go for TWO sets. I think I read a couple of weeks ago something Eric wrote, about the advantage of playing with two sets.
I know, some of the elements would be redundant(booklet, etc...) but, is it still worthy getting two?
Please, answer promptly before I place the order... Razz
      
Phloid
Member

Posts: 48
Registered:
April 2006
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Thu, 10 May 2007 22:38
I can't think of any reason why you would want two sets. I don't think there is anything in there that having duplicates would help. Can you?
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Fri, 11 May 2007 00:49
you already got my opinion on the subject over at BGG Wink
      
markwars
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Registered:
February 2007
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Wed, 23 May 2007 02:39
Obviously it helps to have two of the base games while playing Call to Arms, but I can't think of a reason to use two CtA's sets. Has anyone come across a reason?
      
Alex-GR
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
March 2007
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Wed, 23 May 2007 03:05
The only reason I could think, is both players having the possibility (when playing CtA in organized mode) to select same deployment card sets and/or same specialist cards...Of course I don't think that this potential justifies buying an extra expansion set. Smile

[Updated on: Wed, 23 May 2007 03:09]

      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3198
Registered:
October 2002
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Wed, 23 May 2007 03:59
Actually what I wrote on the subject was that there was imho very little to no point in purchasing two copies of CtoA.

[Updated on: Wed, 23 May 2007 04:00]

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Wed, 23 May 2007 04:01
markwars wrote on Tue, 22 May 2007 19:39

Obviously it helps to have two of the base games while playing Call to Arms, but I can't think of a reason to use two CtA's sets. Has anyone come across a reason?

No. In fact Eric confirmed on BoardGameGeek.com that 2 sets of CtA is pointless.

It makes little sense to have duplicates of the decks. I think they are similar enough that someone isn't going to be broken hearted over not getting a particular deck.

The *only* reason I can come up with is the extra terrain. Perhaps you have a super Epic marshland with cliffs surrounding it and you ae few tiles shy. But to me, this doesn't justify purchasing a 2nd set. If DOW came up with official scenarios that required this many tiles, they would probably be provided in future sets.
      
JMcL63
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 305
Registered:
August 2004
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Wed, 23 May 2007 04:02
eric wrote on Wed, 23 May 2007 02:59

Actually what I wrote on the subject was that there was imho very little to no point in purchasing two copies of CtoA.

Newsflash
DoW sales plummet as company staffer tells customers: "Don't buy our product!"

More at Ten! Wink
      
Jude
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 196
Registered:
April 2006
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Wed, 23 May 2007 05:40
For specialist cards, my partner and I just play that we can each choose from the entire deck. If we both choose the same cards, who cares? So two Specialist decks aren't necessary. I wouldn't mind having some extra terrain pieces, though...

Jude
      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Wed, 23 May 2007 09:07
Quote: "color=darkblue]Newsflash
DoW sales plummet as company staffer tells customers: "Don't buy our product!""


lol

Let me save DoW by saying yes, you might want two sets because two of the decks have cavalry concentrated over fewer cards. Hence, there'd be a greater chance of getting a strong cavalry force in a particular section, and a chance of getting an army with a stronger cavalry component.

Similarly, looking at the analysis, it seems you could engineer a more linear, or discretely battled, army.

Also, the rules actually state that a specialist card can only be allocated to a single player, but two decks mean you can each choose the same cards. Of course a workaround for this is to allow the players to choose the same cards from one set and share them as already offered.

Then there's the extra terrain, as Jude says, which might be useful in some user designed scenarios.

If you play the dodgy 'owner chooses first' rule of course, thus losing a gaming partner by flaunting your considerable wealth and rubbing it in his/ her face, then you certainly DON'T want to buy a second set! Laughing

[Updated on: Wed, 23 May 2007 09:13]

      
Zeal
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

Posts: 214
Registered:
December 2006
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Wed, 23 May 2007 18:14
If you used two decks to concentrate the best units, wouldn't you in fact end up using MORE fedual levy tokens?

Of course if you had two battlelores as well, perhaps not as much

[Updated on: Wed, 23 May 2007 18:15]

      
yangtze
DoW Content Provider
Major

User Pages
Posts: 1842
Registered:
July 2005
Re:x2 Call to Arms? Thu, 24 May 2007 01:12
Depends what your opponent deploys Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:basic painting question
Next Topic:Dumb Newbie Question - I don't get it
Goto Forum: