Forums

Search
Forums » Colosseum - English » Are emperor's medals a fixed resource?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
craniac
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 7
Registered:
January 2006
Are emperor's medals a fixed resource? Tue, 12 June 2007 04:06
A friend posted this question on BGG after our first play:

as I looked in the instructions I could not seem to locate if these were a limited resource or not. Once they are obtained and used are the removed from the game or do they rejoin the pile of available medals? In our game they were spent frequently enough that it was never even close to an issue. It seems to me this should be a limited resource. Anyone know?

I also played wrong the first game, using the medals to move a pawn to gain another medal, etc.
      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:Are emperor's medals a fixed resource? Tue, 12 June 2007 07:42
craniac schrieb am Tue, 12 June 2007 04:06

A friend posted this question on BGG after our first play:

as I looked in the instructions I could not seem to locate if these were a limited resource or not. Once they are obtained and used are the removed from the game or do they rejoin the pile of available medals? In our game they were spent frequently enough that it was never even close to an issue. It seems to me this should be a limited resource. Anyone know?


This question was answered before. Answer: The emperor medals are not removed from the game, the do rejoin the pile of available medals. See this also thread: http://www.daysofwonder.com/de/msg/?th=11548&start=0

Quote:

I also played wrong the first game, using the medals to move a pawn to gain another medal, etc.

We made the same mistake in our first games Rolling Eyes
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Are emperor's medals a fixed resource? Thu, 14 June 2007 06:52
craniac wrote on Mon, 11 June 2007 20:06

A friend posted this question on BGG after our first play:

as I looked in the instructions I could not seem to locate if these were a limited resource or not. Once they are obtained and used are the removed from the game or do they rejoin the pile of available medals? In our game they were spent frequently enough that it was never even close to an issue. It seems to me this should be a limited resource. Anyone know?

I also played wrong the first game, using the medals to move a pawn to gain another medal, etc.


Although the medals do go back into the pile, there is a fixed # of them. And should you obtain a emperor asset token with no emperor medal available, alas you just bought a nice asset that just went to waste. Thus if that is the case, you might want to think of using one of your emperor medals (I've yet to see the rules that you cannot do that) for 3 coins in the bid and thus get the benefit of that asset back.

Cab
      
    
Previous Topic:when the Auction is finished do you discard assets not bought?
Goto Forum: