Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Colosseum - English » 2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens'
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 260
Registered:
December 2004
2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Sun, 10 June 2007 15:32
Ok... great game. My wife kicked my butt.

I know that the tokens discarded due to "Event Clean-up" are removed from the game.

What about Emporer Medals? When they are spent are they removed from the game or are they recycled?

Special Event Asset Token Questions:

Jokers: Are these tokens kept from turn to turn? In other words, are they good f0r one use or can they be kept for the entire game?

Additional Actions: If exchanged for an Emporer Medal, it is clearly removed. Is it discarded when used to allow an additional investment or kept to allow multiple investments over multiple turns?

Thanks for the help!
      
Talespinner
DoW Content Provider
Rikugun Taii

User Pages
Posts: 119
Registered:
March 2006
Re:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Sun, 10 June 2007 18:33
While I am not a source of official answers, this is what I think based on my reading of the rules and games played:

1. Emperor Medals are recycled. It does not specifically state to "remove them from the game" like it does for Asset Tokens. Although I have not seen a game that would have used them all anyway if they were removed.

Special Tokens:

1. Jokers are kept from turn to turn, unless you discard it during Phase 5.

2. Additional Actions - not sure on this one, since the rulebook does not say. I would assume that they are used once and then discarded, although that is just my opinion. I believe in the German FAQ it states that they are used once, but I am not sure if that is in regards to a question about "once per turn" or "once per game." My German is not the greatest.
      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Mon, 11 June 2007 08:14
Talespinner schrieb am Sun, 10 June 2007 18:33


2. Additional Actions - not sure on this one, since the rulebook does not say. I would assume that they are used once and then discarded, although that is just my opinion. I believe in the German FAQ it states that they are used once, but I am not sure if that is in regards to a question about "once per turn" or "once per game." My German is not the greatest.


Correct, these tokens are used once and removed from the game after usage (stated in Wolfgang Kramer's FAQ). Otherwise they would be too powerful!
      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 260
Registered:
December 2004
Re:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Mon, 11 June 2007 16:15
Where is Wolfgang Kramer's FAQ?

No problem if it's auf deutsch.

      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Tue, 12 June 2007 06:49
--JP schrieb am Mon, 11 June 2007 16:15

Where is Wolfgang Kramer's FAQ?

No problem if it's auf deutsch.



Get it here:
http://kramer-spiele.privat.t-online.de/faq.htm
      
--JP
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 260
Registered:
December 2004
Re:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Tue, 12 June 2007 15:00
danke!
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Wed, 13 June 2007 20:14
Any possibility of getting this answer officially from DoW ?? (since I cannot open Word documents nor read German! Sad

Thanks,
Cab
      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Wed, 13 June 2007 22:50
Caboose schrieb am Wed, 13 June 2007 20:14

Any possibility of getting this answer officially from DoW ?? (since I cannot open Word documents nor read German! Sad

Thanks,
Cab

Cab, you can trust us! Very Happy
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Thu, 14 June 2007 06:48
And how many times have i heard that before..and find out a few weeks later it isn't the case. I do demo DoW games and thus giving incorrect info doesn't help matters! Sad

[Updated on: Fri, 06 July 2007 02:48]

      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Thu, 14 June 2007 07:38
I can only assure that Wolfgang Kramer's FAQ explicitly says that the additional action tokens are used once and then removed from the game. If that's not enough, we can't help you Crying or Very Sad
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 399
Registered:
January 2006
Re:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens' Sun, 17 June 2007 10:54
Atefec:

DoW has contradicted the designers a couple of times in the past. DoW is the publisher, and the source of official contact.

I don't think that DoW has made significant changes from the submitted design, as that would seem not their style, but it is possible that they might have made a few minor ones, or in fact be applying as errata a different view.

Many other companies, however, can and do make changes from the submitted design, and don't always notify the designer, either.

So, until DoW "endorses" from a staffer, it's strong evidence, but not conclusive.
      
    
Previous Topic:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals?
Next Topic:Producing an Event - Question
Goto Forum: