Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Colosseum - English » ?s: Discard timing / Using medals in bids
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
LemonyFresh
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Registered:
July 2004
?s: Discard timing / Using medals in bids Tue, 10 April 2007 01:04
1) The Discarding of one tile that was used in an event - is this performed simultaneously or in turn order?

2) I am in an auction - I have 10 coins and one medal. The initiator bids 10. I bid 11. Must I immediately spend the medal in order to be able to make the bid, or may I save the medal just in case I don't win the bid?

Thanks!

- Anthony
      
Pierre
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 181
Registered:
October 2002
Re:?s: Discard timing / Using medals in bids Tue, 10 April 2007 09:02
1-Simultaneously in phase 5

2-You do not need to turn in the medal to bid, you can spend the medal after winning the bidding.

Pierre

[Updated on: Tue, 10 April 2007 14:11]

      
LemonyFresh
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Registered:
July 2004
Re:?s: Discard timing / Using medals in bids Mon, 18 June 2007 17:49
Pierre wrote on Tue, 10 April 2007 03:02

1-Simultaneously in phase 5


Are you 100% sure on this?

I've done a little poll, and EVERYBODY I've asked who has bought the game has naturally played that this is done in turn order.

A minor note, but, it would be good to clarify, especially since:

a) so many people seem to be playing it differently
b) the rules are unclear, and,
c) simultaneously play seems to be a much messier way of playing (you need to be guessing what other players are discarding, and, you need to do some sort of "1...2...3...everyone declare!" call in order for it to work right mechanically)

Thanks!
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:?s: Discard timing / Using medals in bids Tue, 19 June 2007 02:08
Agreed - since simultaneous would be a tad messy. But I can see why as well (namely if you are last, you would want to see what the others threw away as well).

So can we get this confirmed if is simultanous or not ? And if not, is it in turn order (and thus really is phase #4 and #5 really together then) ?
      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:?s: Discard timing / Using medals in bids Wed, 20 June 2007 07:54
Caboose schrieb am Tue, 19 June 2007 02:08

Agreed - since simultaneous would be a tad messy. But I can see why as well (namely if you are last, you would want to see what the others threw away as well).

So can we get this confirmed if is simultanous or not ? And if not, is it in turn order (and thus really is phase #4 and #5 really together then) ?


I agree that the rules are unclear about this. Although Pierre from DOW said it's simultaneous (so this is the official answer) we will continue to discard one of the used event asset tokens in turn order. Our house rule also states that the token is discarded already in phase 4, immediately after producing the event. Just because we think this is more practical.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:?s: Discard timing / Using medals in bids Wed, 20 June 2007 13:03
I agree that the discard should have happened in Phase 4. It also clears up the mess about only having to discard if you produced an event. If you don't produce an event, you skip all of phase 4 - including the discard - and then there is no question during phase 5 whether you had to discard or not.

I think I will adopt this procedure (even though it is contrary to the official answer) as a more practical method as well.
      
LemonyFresh
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Registered:
July 2004
Re:?s: Discard timing / Using medals in bids Wed, 20 June 2007 15:10
I don't mind which Phase it's in, I just wonder about the reasoning behind "simultaneous", and if that's what was actually intended.
      
    
Previous Topic:Producing an Event - Question
Next Topic:Movement question about Emporer etc...
Goto Forum: