Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Colosseum - English » Non-maximized score based on fewer resources
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
RoamDog
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered:
July 2005
Non-maximized score based on fewer resources Sun, 01 July 2007 19:01
I think that I have read somewhere that a player cannot choose to NOT use resources that he has acquired that are called for in an event (i.e. you cannot leave out resources to lower your score and avoid the penalty of having the highest score in phase 5).

However, here is a slight twist on the question. What about the special case if you have one of the Joker asset tokens? Can you choose to make the joker a resource that is not needed in the event that you are producing (effectively removing a resource and lowering your score)?
The rules say that a "Joker CAN be used to replace any
standard asset token." Not that it MUST be used to replace a standard asset token?

Would like to get an official ruling please.

      
Gamemaster71
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Non-maximized score based on fewer resources Mon, 02 July 2007 10:04
There is nowhere in the rules where it says that you MUST use all of the needed asset tokens to produce an event.

And what is the big penalty for having the highest score in Phase 5? The asset donation is hardly a huge penalty when you will receive a +3 Podium.
      
RoamDog
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Registered:
July 2005
Re:Non-maximized score based on fewer resources Mon, 02 July 2007 14:24
I agree with you that the rules themselves are silent on using all your resources to optimize your score. However, Eric has clarified that "You cannot opt to "not count" points you would normally gain when running your event. If you don't want to get these points, you need to plan accordingly ahead of time Wink."

Even with this ruling, I believe that there is still a legitimate question related to the use of the joker.

But I do not agree with your assessment that the loss of an asset as a result of being in the lead is not potentially a big penalty. Consider, if you have 3 gladiators, and this gives you star performer and will need 3 gladiators for your next (and let's say final event). Then the loss of the gladiator could cause you to lose the star performer for minus 4, causes you to produce your event at one resource short (assuming no gladiators in the market and nobody will trade you one) for minus 5. So you got 3 for the podium and lost 9 because of the stolen resource for a net effect of minus 6. Many of our games are won by a single point so minus 6 is significant.
The scenario is even worse if the person that stole the gladiator also then got the star performer for themselves (effectively stealing that from you also).



Gamemaster71 wrote on Mon, 02 July 2007 03:04

There is nowhere in the rules where it says that you MUST use all of the needed asset tokens to produce an event.

And what is the big penalty for having the highest score in Phase 5? The asset donation is hardly a huge penalty when you will receive a +3 Podium.

[Updated on: Mon, 02 July 2007 14:25]

      
    
Previous Topic:PARTS AVAILABILITY
Next Topic:When to discard asset tokens
Goto Forum: