Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » BattleLore - English » Evade Lore Card Question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
enickson
Junior Member

Posts: 5
Registered:
June 2007
Evade Lore Card Question Wed, 04 July 2007 15:50
The card states explicitly that the attacking unit may not attack. But judging from the other "rulings" in the BattleloreMaster Lore card document I have to ask. If the defending unit retreats 1 hex back but is still adjacent to the attacker, can the attacker still attack? Again, I would say no. But judging from the other card rulings/unofficial errata, it may not. I mean the First Strike card doesn't mention anything about the melee attack being the defending unit's battle back. It also explicitly says that the attacker (now turned defender) gets to battle back, which is incorrect according to the errata. So... anyone?

A lot of these cards could use reprinting with clearer text judging by the size of the lore document Smile
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Evade Lore Card Question Wed, 04 July 2007 16:37
No offense, but how much clearer can "Attacking unit may not pick another target, nor battle this turn." be? Rulings on othr cards don't necessarily apply to this card. I don't understand the ambiguity.
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Evade Lore Card Question Wed, 04 July 2007 16:54
ColtsFan76 wrote on Wed, 04 July 2007 07:37

I don't understand the ambiguity.


I don't think there is any ambiguity, just some counter-intuitiveness involved: yes the targeted unit may retreat and end up adjacent to the originally attacking unit yet still evade the attack.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Evade Lore Card Question Thu, 05 July 2007 19:25
toddrew wrote on Wed, 04 July 2007 09:54

ColtsFan76 wrote on Wed, 04 July 2007 07:37

I don't understand the ambiguity.


I don't think there is any ambiguity, just some counter-intuitiveness involved: yes the targeted unit may retreat and end up adjacent to the originally attacking unit yet still evade the attack.


Yes, i understand the situation: it's like if someone is going to hit you and you sidestep him. You have evaded the punch but are still adjacent to him and probably laughing your butt off.

The "ambiguity" I don't understand is the text on the card itself. It seems to cover it all already. the only thing that can be added is "Yes, we really mean it!"
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Posts: 830
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Evade Lore Card Question Thu, 05 July 2007 19:41
I think I needed to coin a new term "counter-mis-intuitiveness" Laughing , but yeah, exactly like that. And if there's one thing I want more of, it's laughter during BattleLore. I already enjoy myself plenty, though Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:BL and Command Phase Lore Cards
Next Topic:Most overused gaming forum term
Goto Forum: