Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Colosseum - English » When to discard asset tokens
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
RichardD
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
December 2006
When to discard asset tokens Mon, 02 April 2007 21:17
The rules are pretty clear - each player discards one, during the "closing ceremony" pahse, after which the player in last place gets to take one from the leading player. OK, all fine and dandy.

But given the fact that players have to discard an asset from those used to stage an event, why not discard the tile as part of putting on the event? That way nobody needs to remember which event - and which tokens - had been used. And with my grey cells disappearing at a rapid rate, not having to remember even simple stuff like this would be a good thing. Unless I am missing some subtlety?
      
Pierre
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 181
Registered:
October 2002
Re:When to discard asset tokens Tue, 03 April 2007 09:19
It is a choice that we made. In the early stages of the game, phase 5 did not exist, but systematically players would forget one of the 3 things (podium, discard, take from leading player). We intentionally made it that way, so that nobody forgets.

Pierre
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:When to discard asset tokens Fri, 08 June 2007 18:28
But in regards to discard asset tokens, a few questions I thought of

1) Let's say on turn #1, I didn't produce an event. Based on the rules, I would think I wouldn't have to discard a token, since i didn't produce an event. Correct?

2) Another example. Turn #1, I produce an event and thus discard.
But on turn #2 I don't produce. Do I still discard (and thus be from the event from turn #1) ?

Just thought of these 2 examples and thus want to make sure I'm doing it correctly.

Cab
      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:When to discard asset tokens Fri, 08 June 2007 20:44
Caboose schrieb am Fri, 08 June 2007 18:28

But in regards to discard asset tokens, a few questions I thought of

1) Let's say on turn #1, I didn't produce an event. Based on the rules, I would think I wouldn't have to discard a token, since i didn't produce an event. Correct?


Yes, correct. You only discard a token if you have produced an event in this turn.

Quote:

2) Another example. Turn #1, I produce an event and thus discard.
But on turn #2 I don't produce. Do I still discard (and thus be from the event from turn #1) ?


Same answer: You only have to discard a token when you produced an event in the current turn.
The rules say: "An event is demanding on the men, animals and resources used to present it. It is inevitable that some will no longer be able to perform."
So if you don't produce an event in the current turn, there is no wastage and no resources are lost!

[Updated on: Fri, 08 June 2007 20:46]

      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:When to discard asset tokens Wed, 13 June 2007 20:20
atefec wrote on Fri, 08 June 2007 12:44

Caboose schrieb am Fri, 08 June 2007 18:28

But in regards to discard asset tokens, a few questions I thought of

1) Let's say on turn #1, I didn't produce an event. Based on the rules, I would think I wouldn't have to discard a token, since i didn't produce an event. Correct?


Yes, correct. You only discard a token if you have produced an event in this turn.

Quote:

2) Another example. Turn #1, I produce an event and thus discard.
But on turn #2 I don't produce. Do I still discard (and thus be from the event from turn #1) ?


Same answer: You only have to discard a token when you produced an event in the current turn.
The rules say: "An event is demanding on the men, animals and resources used to present it. It is inevitable that some will no longer be able to perform."
So if you don't produce an event in the current turn, there is no wastage and no resources are lost!



Actually this last quote is NOT correct from the rulebook.
My rulebook states, for Event cleanup : "At the end of every turn, each player must discard 1 of the Event Asset Tokens used in their LATEST event and remove it from the game." (Emphasis added to cap word)

That would indicate that I would thus INDEED discard a token on turn #2 for my turn #1 event.

      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:When to discard asset tokens Wed, 13 June 2007 23:08
Caboose schrieb am Wed, 13 June 2007 20:20

Actually this last quote is NOT correct from the rulebook.
My rulebook states, for Event cleanup : "At the end of every turn, each player must discard 1 of the Event Asset Tokens used in their LATEST event and remove it from the game." (Emphasis added to cap word)

That would indicate that I would thus INDEED discard a token on turn #2 for my turn #1 event.



Sorry, still believe I'm right. The german rules book is very clear about this point. It says (translated):
At the end of each turn each player must discard 1 of the Event Asset Tokens, which he used in the event in THIS ROUND. No word of "latest round".
Wolfgang Kramer writes in his FAQ (translated again): "Afterwards every event the players must discard an event token." No word of "every round"...

And think about the explanation of the "Event Clean-up". It's a kind of wastage, because an event is demanding on the men, animals and resources used to present it. It is absolutely logical that there is no wastage when you did not produce an event. Why should you lose any resources without using them? Rolling Eyes

[Updated on: Wed, 13 June 2007 23:09]

      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:When to discard asset tokens Fri, 15 June 2007 12:37
Fine and dandy for GERMAN people, but I have an English rulebook and it does state the LATEST event..NOT what the German translation states. And things do get changed in translation from one language to another.

So unless I hear otherwise, I'll stick with the English translation and thus if run an event in turn #2 and not one in turn #3, I still must discard an asset from the turn #2 event. And it does make sense to me, since the game is only 5 turns in duration anyways.
      
keltheos
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
June 2007
Re:When to discard asset tokens Fri, 15 June 2007 19:09
Once an event's completed it's flipped over, so how can it still be counted as your latest event if it's a spectator bonus?

We never even considered discarding 1/turn if not running an event, and with the difficutly in collecting them over time, it made sense to us. And we have the English rules as well.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:When to discard asset tokens Fri, 15 June 2007 19:22
Pretty simple to remember you last event run. Again, there is really only 4 turns of having to remember (since the last one doesn't really matter).

Yes it does happen and thus can be easily done to remember by placing such event in a set location (i.e. top most event of the flipped ones).

Cab
      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:When to discard asset tokens Fri, 15 June 2007 20:32
Caboose schrieb am Fri, 15 June 2007 12:37

NOT what the German translation states.

And not what Wolfgang Kramer says explicitly...? Ah, ok, you can't trust my translation, right? So sorry Cab, if we are not authentic enough for you and you can't agree to our explanations we are at our wits' end Sad
Hope DOW crew will help you!
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:When to discard asset tokens Mon, 18 June 2007 13:36
The English rules seem to indicate differently than the German. It was a poor choice of words that indicates you must discard each round instead of tying it to only Phase 4 if you participate in it.

Anyway, it's a dead issue. The same question was asked on Boardgamegeek and answered by Eric. You only remove the assest if you just produced an event in the current round. Previous events are exempt.

Here is the link:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1547706#1547706

[Updated on: Mon, 18 June 2007 19:44]

      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:When to discard asset tokens Mon, 18 June 2007 14:57
ColtsFan76 schrieb am Mon, 18 June 2007 13:36

Anyway, it's a dead issue. The same question was asked on Boardgamegeek and answered by Eric. You only remove the assest if you just produced an event in the current round. Previous events are exempt.

Here is the link:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1547706#1547706

Thanks a lot, ColtsFan, Cab will be glad to read that an official crew member of DOW has answered the question!
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:When to discard asset tokens Thu, 21 June 2007 13:43
If one is putting on Demos for DoW and thus represent DoW, then one would expect an "official" answer since I represent DoW when demoing. I don't think you would like a person to show you the rules and then say "oops I did that wrong".

Cab
      
Gamemaster71
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Registered:
July 2007
Re:When to discard asset tokens Fri, 13 July 2007 03:04
atefec wrote on Wed, 13 June 2007 14:08
Sorry, still believe I'm right. The german rules book is very clear about this point. It says (translated):
[i

At the end of each turn each player must discard 1 of the Event Asset Tokens, which he used in the event in THIS ROUND. No word of "latest round". [/i]




Even if the German rules state "THIS ROUND" and the English rules state "LATEST ROUND," they mean the same. Even if one of the rules used "CURRENT ROUND," it still means the same as "THIS ROUND" and "LATEST ROUND."
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:When to discard asset tokens Fri, 13 July 2007 04:19
Gamemaster71 wrote on Thu, 12 July 2007 20:04

atefec wrote on Wed, 13 June 2007 14:08
Sorry, still believe I'm right. The german rules book is very clear about this point. It says (translated):
[i

At the end of each turn each player must discard 1 of the Event Asset Tokens, which he used in the event in THIS ROUND. No word of "latest round". [/i]




Even if the German rules state "THIS ROUND" and the English rules state "LATEST ROUND," they mean the same. Even if one of the rules used "CURRENT ROUND," it still means the same as "THIS ROUND" and "LATEST ROUND."

Actually it doesn't mean the same thing. For example, it is Round 3. Alex produced an event in Round 2 but skipped the event production in Round 3. Brian produced an event in Round 3.

"THIS Round" = Brian's Round 3 production only
"LATEST Round" = Brian's Round 3 and Alex's Round 2 productions

If the rules should mean "THIS Round" then only Brian has to discard an assest from his Round 3 Production.

If the rules should mean "LATEST Round" then Brian would discard an assest token as normal from his Round 3 production and Alex would discard a second asset from his Round 2 production.

This is the distinction we are debating. Since discarding an asset is supposed to represent exhaustion and using up materials, it seems more thematic that the "THIS Round" example is the correct interpretation. If you don't produce an even THIS round, how can you exhaust your supply?
      
    
Previous Topic:Non-maximized score based on fewer resources
Next Topic:Who goes first?
Goto Forum: