Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Questions about engineers and mines
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Nonathus
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
July 2007
  Questions about engineers and mines Fri, 27 July 2007 03:26
Hi everybody, I'm newbie and don't know if the question has been already answered cause I've been looking around at the forum and didn't notice anything about it.

According to the EF rules it says that an engineer that moves onto a minefield hex and if it is eligible to battle must clear the minefield hex instead of battling. If it cannot clear the minefield it detonates.

Well, the question is: "How does an engineer clear a minefield?" Does the rule above means that in case of no possibility of battling, the minefield detonates? (in that situation, we invented the rule of rolling 4 dice, and if a star appeared, then the minefield was cleared).

Also another question: if a minefield detonates, and the unit survives but in the next turn you do not move that unit, it means it detonates again?

Thank you for your answers.

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Questions about engineers and mines Fri, 27 July 2007 03:36
A mine field is cleared by using the Engineer's ability to battle instead of actually targetting an enemy. So if the Engineer moves 1 space into the minefiled, it cannot target anyone and the minefield is removed from the board.

If the Engineer moves 2 hexes to get to the minefield, then it can no longer battle (remember that even though the engineer is a special infantry it is not a special forces unit and cannot move 2 and still battle) and the mine detonates.

A mine only detonates when a unit enters the hex. If a unit remains in the same hex without moving, no further damage is done. Likewise, a unit that retreats through a minefield does not have to roll for dice either.
      
Nonathus
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions about engineers and mines Fri, 27 July 2007 03:45
WOW! the answer has been quick as lightning and also very clear, surely I'll be posting more doubts soon, thank you very much!

[Updated on: Fri, 27 July 2007 11:02]

      
    
Previous Topic:Darn pieces
Next Topic:Russian Use of Air Power Card
Goto Forum: