Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
HalfSlantRoll
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
May 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 16 May 2012 00:52
I've a curious concern on how you've resolved the following scenario regarding the Sorcerers' racial power. OR confirm if we've read and exercised its powers accordingly.

Upon his turn, The sorcerer is adjacent to 2 regions each occupied by one of his two opponents. One is occupied by a single Berserk Rat Token, the other by 3 Swamp Giant tokens. Without concern or other restrictions, he substitues the Rat Token and its immediate region successfully.

The other heavily occupied Swamp Giant Region is handled as follows:
One of the 3 Swamp Giants is converted, leaving 2 Swamp Giants tokens.
The new Sorcerer token, supplements two Sorcerer tokens - enough to conquer and occupy the region.

Our after action review of that specific game, noted that the Swamp Giants lost 2 tokens in that exchange instead of the usual 1. Making it for an impressive race to select.

Did we play the power correctly?

      
*player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 771
Registered:
November 2004
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 16 May 2012 06:33
A Sorcerer can only convert a token that is alone in a given region.
See Sorcerer's rules, p. 9 :"The token your Sorcerers replaces must be the only race token in its Region"

So none of the stack of Swamp Giants could be converted.

[Updated on: Wed, 16 May 2012 06:35]

      
Slyrk
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
April 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 17 May 2012 04:27
Three reasons why not to use the flying sorcerers the way it is described in the list at the beginning of the thread:

1. The rules are very clear:
- Flying does not make regions adjacent.
- There's a very important apostrophe in the sentence "and that Region must be adjacent to one of your Sorcerers'." i.e. the region matters, nullifying all arguments about there being a difference between giants and sorcerers.

2. Opinion of publisher is not equal opinion of game designer:
- That the updated rules are so specific just about that case (apostrophe and even the whole sentence being there) tells us that it is the game designers intentions that converting unadjacent tokens does not work, no matter what people of days of wonder said 2.5 years ago on some internet forum.

3. They'd be overpowered:
- Either all your oponents play suboptimal in the sense that they keep two tokens on each territory (limiting most races to 5 regions) or you could always conquer a token of every other player (with the exception of when a new race enters the board), reaching 18 sorcerers quite fast (assuming a 4 or 5 player game). In both cases a big advantage for the player with the sorcerers.

By the way, above arguments also imply that flying sorcerers should not be allowed to use their special power to enter the board. These are just my two cents on the matter however. If this matter came up in a tournament and it would be allowed, I'd quit...
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 771
Registered:
November 2004
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 17 May 2012 08:26
Slyrk écrit le Thu, 17 May 2012 04:27

Three reasons why not to use the flying sorcerers the way it is described in the list at the beginning of the thread:

1. The rules are very clear:
- Flying does not make regions adjacent.
- There's a very important apostrophe in the sentence "and that Region must be adjacent to one of your Sorcerers'." i.e. the region matters, nullifying all arguments about there being a difference between giants and sorcerers.

2. Opinion of publisher is not equal opinion of game designer:
- That the updated rules are so specific just about that case (apostrophe and even the whole sentence being there) tells us that it is the game designers intentions that converting unadjacent tokens does not work, no matter what people of days of wonder said 2.5 years ago on some internet forum.

3. They'd be overpowered:
- Either all your oponents play suboptimal in the sense that they keep two tokens on each territory (limiting most races to 5 regions) or you could always conquer a token of every other player (with the exception of when a new race enters the board), reaching 18 sorcerers quite fast (assuming a 4 or 5 player game). In both cases a big advantage for the player with the sorcerers.

By the way, above arguments also imply that flying sorcerers should not be allowed to use their special power to enter the board. These are just my two cents on the matter however. If this matter came up in a tournament and it would be allowed, I'd quit...
One reason that your point is void: the case of Flying Sorcerers has been settled for some years now.
What is in the initial post is considered the official answers to the rules questions.
Publisher answers are official, whatever you try to argue.
Flying sorcerers can convert other races in non adjacent regions.

I don't see why you try to revive an already long debate, which was settled. If you don't like the final answer, you still have to live with it - or play along your own house rules, but nobody has to submit to them.

Your third reason is linked to tactics.
Yes, the sorcerers do lead other players to play, as you say, "suboptimal" by leaving more than one token in each region.
But, facing a powerfull race, the other players will surely gang up to bash it.
Play more, and you will be less impressed by the sorcerers.
Note, too, that the Flying Sorcerers is quite a rare combination.
      
HalfSlantRoll
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
May 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 17 May 2012 22:15
Robin wrote on Wed, 16 May 2012 00:33

A Sorcerer can only convert a token that is alone in a given region.
See Sorcerer's rules, p. 9 :"The token your Sorcerers replaces must be the only race token in its Region"

So none of the stack of Swamp Giants could be converted.


Thanks. As it was our first night with the game, and several run throughs - we're now working with the updated rules available.

My apologies for raising the dead. Enjoying the game immensely and looking forward to SW: Realms.

Also in our first nights' run through - Heroic Sorcerers became an annoyance but fruitless in terms of VPs. The player always resorted to keeping into 2 regions.

Cheersy
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 18 May 2012 05:17
Slyrk wrote on Thu, 17 May 2012 06:27

By the way, above arguments also imply that flying sorcerers should not be allowed to use their special power to enter the board. These are just my two cents on the matter however. If this matter came up in a tournament and it would be allowed, I'd quit...


I'm afraid you would be quitting the tournament, then, because the rules are official and final. When DoW makes a ruling on the forums they are official clarifications and are often a result of talking to the creator of the game.

Days of Wonder does a great job of staying connected with their games and the communities and they often answer questions that come up. Their answers are not simply an employee's opinion! Cool
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 771
Registered:
November 2004
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sun, 20 May 2012 16:14
HalfSlantRoll écrit le Thu, 17 May 2012 22:15

My apologies for raising the dead.
God didn't apologize when he raised Jesus from the dead, so I don't see why you would. Very Happy
      
HalfSlantRoll
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
May 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Sun, 20 May 2012 16:42
Robin wrote on Sun, 20 May 2012 10:14

HalfSlantRoll écrit le Thu, 17 May 2012 22:15

My apologies for raising the dead.
God didn't apologize when he raised Jesus from the dead, so I don't see why you would. Very Happy


Laughing That makes me feel better! Forum-High-Five!
      
stefavramov
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
January 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 21 May 2012 19:56
Hello,
when you use MERCENARY can you pay 2 coins to reduce the number of tokens you need to conquer it by 4
Thank you
      
Brf123
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Registered:
August 2011
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Tue, 22 May 2012 18:46
stefavramov wrote on Mon, 21 May 2012 12:56

when you use MERCENARY can you pay 2 coins


The rules state:

Quote:

Each time you conquer a region, you may spend 1 Victory coin...
There is nothing implying you can spend two.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Tue, 22 May 2012 20:24
Brf123 wrote on Tue, 22 May 2012 20:46

stefavramov wrote on Mon, 21 May 2012 12:56

when you use MERCENARY can you pay 2 coins


The rules state:

Quote:

Each time you conquer a region, you may spend 1 Victory coin...
There is nothing implying you can spend two.



I totally agree. If you could spend more to buy the strength up higher, it would be explained in the rules. So you're stuck just paying 1 coin to make it a -2 for an attack. Cool

[Updated on: Tue, 22 May 2012 20:25]

      
davion
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
May 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 13 June 2012 09:32
Hello, I have a question.
Does elves (Spirit or not) in decline preserve their immortality? Does they lose one token per conquered territory or not?

[Updated on: Wed, 13 June 2012 09:32]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 13 June 2012 10:21
davion wrote on Wed, 13 June 2012 11:32

Hello, I have a question.
Does elves (Spirit or not) in decline preserve their immortality? Does they lose one token per conquered territory or not?


Unless stated specifically in the rules, each Special Power and Racial Power is lost when you go in decline. The Elves lose their tokens when they are in decline. Cool
      
ILUh
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
July 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 16 July 2012 18:35
Hello everyone!

A question emerged during our last play.
It seems to be not yet clarified in FAQ.

I have an active race with Fortified special power.
I posess for example 8 regions and have already placed all my 6 forts 1 per region. During next turn an opponent conquers one of my regions with fort, and fort is removed from the map. During my next turn can my active race re-deploy this fort again or not? Forts are re-usable after placing them 6 times or destroyed forts cannot be used again?

UPD
Found a reply here, is that an official position, that fortresses can be re-used after being destroyed?
If yes, is it possible to add this detail to FAQ?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 16 July 2012 19:16
ILUh wrote on Mon, 16 July 2012 20:35

Hello everyone!

A question emerged during our last play.
It seems to be not yet clarified in FAQ.

I have an active race with Fortified special power.
I posess for example 8 regions and have already placed all my 6 forts 1 per region. During next turn an opponent conquers one of my regions with fort, and fort is removed from the map. During my next turn can my active race re-deploy this fort again or not? Forts are re-usable after placing them 6 times or destroyed forts cannot be used again?

UPD
Found a reply here, is that an official position, that fortresses can be re-used after being destroyed?
If yes, is it possible to add this detail to FAQ?


This is not an Official answer, since the person who said it is not from Days of Wonder...but it is the correct answer. Unless it is stated in the rules that you can't reuse the Tokens you can keep recycling them as long as you want.

Have fun! Cool
      
theSchweitzer
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
August 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 03 August 2012 15:26
My friend and I are in a disagreement about intrepretation of the Sorcerer's "once per turn per opponent" substitution ability and don't feel any post has fully and clearly defined it.

I interpret it as merely defining the number of substitutions allowed and not the manner of substitions.

She interprets it as also defining the manner.

In other words, lets say there are players A, B, C, and D. D has Sorcerers. So according to my interpretation on D's turn D has 3 substitutions that he can distribute them amongst his opponents as he sees fit. So, provided the other conditions of the ability are met, he could use the substitution on 3 regions controlled by player A. According to her interpretation, he could only use a substitution once on player A (and once on each of the other players if the other conditions are met).

So who is right?

[Updated on: Fri, 03 August 2012 15:27]

      
*player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 771
Registered:
November 2004
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 03 August 2012 15:44
I allways played and interpreted that the Sorcerer can only convert one token of a given active race during a given turn.
So D cannot convert three A tokens just because there are A,B and C active races.
Your interpretation never occured to me - which does not prove that I would be right and you wrong, btw.
      
ILUh
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
July 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 08 August 2012 01:02
Thanks for your reply!

As far as I can see there is no additional official ruling for HORDES OF special power in certain situations. So what are the most rational rules to apply in following examples?

1) Can we leave in conquered regions only Hordes token\tokens, with no active race token? I think yes... but it makes things more complicated imo
2) When a region with "Hordes of" token is conquered what should we do:
a) discard it to storage tray (therefore you don't lose it when go in decline and save an extra race token)
b) interchange it with an active race token from map/hand (if there are any), which is sent storage tray instead of hordes

3)Hordes of + Pygmies/Elves and especially Kobolds
All racial powers are applied to Hordes tokens?
Btw how should we play Bivouacking Kobolds? Do not count Bivouack as second Kobold?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 08 August 2012 08:29
ILUh wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 03:02

Thanks for your reply!

As far as I can see there is no additional official ruling for HORDES OF special power in certain situations. So what are the most rational rules to apply in following examples?

1) Can we leave in conquered regions only Hordes token\tokens, with no active race token? I think yes... but it makes things more complicated imo
2) When a region with "Hordes of" token is conquered what should we do:
a) discard it to storage tray (therefore you don't lose it when go in decline and save an extra race token)
b) interchange it with an active race token from map/hand (if there are any), which is sent storage tray instead of hordes
3)Hordes of + Pygmies/Elves and especially Kobolds
All racial powers are applied to Hordes tokens?


I think that these questions are answered in the rules for "Hordes of". Those rules say, "You may use your 2 Hordes of tokens exactly as if they were additional active Race tokens of your own Race. They disappear when you go In Decline, however." (I added the emphasis).

It doesn't matter for #2, because they are treated exactly like any other Active Race token. That one is simply a matter of preference for you and your friends.

Quote:

Btw how should we play Bivouacking Kobolds? Do not count Bivouack as second Kobold?


Personally, I'm not a huge fan of the Kobolds because they are only half as useful as they seem! Smile

You must always have at least 2 Kobold tokens in a region. Otherwise they get lonely!! Very Happy If you read over the extended rules in the rule book for Bivouacking, you notice that it says the Encampments count as an extra race token for defensive purposes. When it comes to Kobolds, they need friends of their own kind. Cool

[Updated on: Wed, 08 August 2012 09:22]

      
ILUh
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
July 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 08 August 2012 18:54
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 02:29

"You may use your 2 Hordes of tokens exactly as if they were additional active Race tokens of your own Race. They disappear when you go In Decline, however." (I added the emphasis).

It doesn't matter for #2, because they are treated exactly like any other Active Race token. That one is simply a matter of preference for you and your friends.


I does matter in certain situations.
When 2 of your Hordes got killed you lose nothing after going in decline. If instead of killed Hordes you must/can send to storage tray your race token, you will lose additional 2 Hordes after going in decline.
There is no sense in interchanging race tokens on map, since they are all identical. Hordes are "exactly like any other Active Race token", but interchanging race token and horde makes sence! E.g. you have a region with 2 race tokens and a region with 1 horde token before going in decline. If you interchange horde with race token you are not going lose the region after declining.

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 02:29

Personally, I'm not a huge fan of the Kobolds because they are only half as useful as they seem! Smile


Thats right, but big number of kobolds is useful when you have to wipe somebody from map. In that case it is best coupled with bonus for battles like pillaging or ransacking.

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 02:29

If you read over the extended rules in the rule book for Bivouacking, you notice that it says the Encampments count as an extra race token for defensive purposes. When it comes to Kobolds, they need friends of their own kind.


I agree on Bivouacking issue, but not because of rulebook that was written before the expansions. Defensive purposes at that time only meant that you cannot attack regions using Bivouacks as tokens, nothing to do with lonely kobold sindrome. As you remember Bivouack is considered as second race token when proteting you from sorcerers, but in case of Kobolds that will make them overpowered, providing 5 extra tokens to use.

And can we use "Hordes of" as second Kobold - place Kobold+Horde or 2 Hordes in region when playing Kobolds? According to rules the answer is yes, just want to hear your opinion.

[Updated on: Wed, 08 August 2012 18:56]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 08 August 2012 19:21
ILUh wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 20:54

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 02:29

"You may use your 2 Hordes of tokens exactly as if they were additional active Race tokens of your own Race. They disappear when you go In Decline, however." (I added the emphasis).

It doesn't matter for #2, because they are treated exactly like any other Active Race token. That one is simply a matter of preference for you and your friends.


I does matter in certain situations.
When 2 of your Hordes got killed you lose nothing after going in decline. If instead of killed Hordes you must/can send to storage tray your race token, you will lose additional 2 Hordes after going in decline.
There is no sense in interchanging race tokens on map, since they are all identical. Hordes are "exactly like any other Active Race token", but interchanging race token and horde makes sence! E.g. you have a region with 2 race tokens and a region with 1 horde token before going in decline. If you interchange horde with race token you are not going lose the region after declining.


Even if you leave the Horde token on the board and go in decline you don't lose the region. The only reason I know this is because I've done it many times on the iPad version of the game...otherwise I would think the same thing as you. If it makes it easier for you to remember, you can switch out the Hordes of tokens for other race tokens, but the idea is that they are exactly like every other race token you have! Including when you go In Decline.

The previous paragraph is wrong. According to the iPad version, if a "Hordes of" token is alone in a region when you go In Decline, you lose the region.

Quote:

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 02:29

Personally, I'm not a huge fan of the Kobolds because they are only half as useful as they seem! Smile


Thats right, but big number of kobolds is useful when you have to wipe somebody from map. In that case it is best coupled with bonus for battles like pillaging or ransacking.


Good point. But if you have Kobolds linked with those offensive powers, you're going to be forced into Decline really quickly. Sometimes it can work out nicely to take enemies off the board, but I don't like the race much and often skip over it.

Quote:

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 02:29

If you read over the extended rules in the rule book for Bivouacking, you notice that it says the Encampments count as an extra race token for defensive purposes. When it comes to Kobolds, they need friends of their own kind.


I agree on Bivouacking issue, but not because of rulebook that was written before the expansions. Defensive purposes at that time only meant that you cannot attack regions using Bivouacks as tokens, nothing to do with lonely kobold sindrome. As you remember Bivouack is considered as second race token when proteting you from sorcerers, but in case of Kobolds that will make them overpowered, providing 5 extra tokens to use.


My point is still the same...the Encampments count for defense only! Kobolds need friends with them, not just defense, to follow the rules for their race. You're saying that Encampments are exactly like extra Race Tokens (basically like a "Hordes of" Power) but they are not exactly like a Race Token because they only count for defense.

They cannot be used with one Kobold token because the Kobolds always need to stay in pairs or more.

Quote:

And can we use "Hordes of" as second Kobold - place Kobold+Horde or 2 Hordes in region when playing Kobolds? According to rules the answer is yes, just want to hear your opinion.



Yes, because the "Hordes of" tokens are treated exactly like the Active Race tokens.

[Updated on: Thu, 09 August 2012 00:20]

      
ILUh
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
July 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Wed, 08 August 2012 20:54
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 13:21

Even if you leave the Horde token on the board and go in decline you don't lose the region. The only reason I know this is because I've done it many times on the iPad version of the game...otherwise I would think the same thing as you. If it makes it easier for you to remember, you can switch out the Hordes of tokens for other race tokens, but the idea is that they are exactly like every other race token you have! Including when you go In Decline.

Thanks for sharing that! Never played ipad version so that is really useful. So in an imaginary situation when you have only 2 regions with 1 horde in each (all other tokens killed) and go in decline you discard hordes to storage tray and take 2 race tokens to place instead... Sounds strange, but makes all ruling absolutely clear, eliminating all quarreling about interchanging.

UPD

According to the iPad version, if a "Hordes of" token is alone in a region when you go In Decline, you lose the region.


rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 13:21

My point is still the same...the Encampments count for defense only! Kobolds need friends with them, not just defense, to follow the rules for their race. You're saying that Encampments are exactly like extra Race Tokens (basically like a "Hordes of" Power) but they are not exactly like a Race Token because they only count for defense.

Maybe I missed something, but I never sustained that you CAN use Bivouack as second Kobold, instead I agreed with you than you can NOT use it as second Kobold. Smile
Please do not take my following reasonings too seriously, I can be really nit-picking sometimes. Confused

I just was trying to note that Smallworld base rules despite being very well written should not be considered as Holy Scripture perfectly explaining all odd situations with races from expansions released after. Or do you believe that game designers when typing "Encampment counts as 1 Race token toward the defense of the Region" were thinking about Kobolds? I think at that time there were only defensive and offensive purposes, no Kobold-friend purposes. And the rules in theory CAN be interpreted as possibility to use Bivouack as second "race token" (Kobold) for defence purpose, i.e. "not-for-attack purpose".

I also noted that in 2-player game diplomat special power + race with many tokens makes game very unbalanced. You can lock your opponent so he can not conquer regions and is forced to decline or to reenter map each time.

[Updated on: Thu, 09 August 2012 18:32]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 09 August 2012 00:10
Shoot! Razz I just played a game on the iPad and tested the "Hordes of" power when going In Decline...and I totally got that wrong! Embarassed I'll go back to the other post and change it. In the iPad version, if you leave "Hordes of" tokens in a region by themselves, they disappear when you go In Decline and you lose the regions. Unless the game has it wrong, (which is possible, I guess) then you would want to keep the regular token any time you have a choice.

So having found that I'm wrong with that, I'm wondering about the effect of "Hordes of" in your other questions. I'll try to get the combination of "Hordes of Kobolds" and test that one.

I'll also try to get the combination of "Bivouacking Kobolds" and test to see if I can leave just one Kobold with an Encampment.

Sorry for any confusion I caused! Razz
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 09 August 2012 01:43
OK, I managed to get the Bivouacking Kobolds combination in an iPad game. For now, I'm going to assume that the iPad version is official (being from DoW) until someone tells me otherwise.

With two Kobold tokens in my territories, I put all 5 Encampments in that territory and then tried to move one of the two tokens. I could not move any Kobold tokens out of the spot...so it looks like the Encampments don't matter for the Kobold racial power.

I hope this helps. Smile
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 771
Registered:
November 2004
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 09 August 2012 08:13
From the paper version of SW, the fact that "Hordes of" does not appear on the "in decline" side of the power token is a clear indication that it does not remain when the people owning it is in decline.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 09 August 2012 15:05
Robin wrote on Thu, 09 August 2012 10:13

From the paper version of SW, the fact that "Hordes of" does not appear on the "in decline" side of the power token is a clear indication that it does not remain when the people owning it is in decline.


Excellent point! Razz
      
ILUh
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
July 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 09 August 2012 19:19
rasmussen81, Robin
thank you for this info. Smile

It appears that when playing with Hordes one should always be aware where to place those tokens.

1) Place them in regions bordering with your opponents in order to protect your race tokens, since Hordes will be lost anyway when declining.
2) If you are going to decline next turn, it is better not to leave regions with only Hordes token\tokens as you will loose that region(s) after declining.

And interchanging hordes with race tokens should only be awailable during redeployment phase and only for tokens in play, not those from storage tray.

Another not clear moment is about shoosing between horde and race token when your region was conquered/you go in decline.
For example you have region with mix of horde+race tokens. Opponent conqers that region. Can you choose which token to discard and which to keep (it is preferable to discard Horde)? And if there were three race tokens and one horde - can you discards horde anyway, even when there were more race tokens?

For Bivouacking Kobolds that is clear, thanks for confirmation from Ipad version.
Will wait how it works for Hordes of Kobolds in Ipad, obviously you should be able to use two hordes\horde+kobold and can't use a single Horde token to keep a region.
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 771
Registered:
November 2004
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 09 August 2012 21:48
ILUh écrit le Thu, 09 August 2012 19:19

And interchanging hordes with race tokens should only be awailable during redeployment phase and only for tokens in play, not those from storage tray.
I think unused tokens still can be added to regions during redeployment - at least, it is the case when your last conquest failed because of a bad die roll (EXC if your race is Fairies).

I would rather say: be carefull never to leave a horde token alone before you go into decline, si you don't lose the region it is in.
      
ILUh
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
July 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Thu, 09 August 2012 23:05
Robin wrote on Thu, 09 August 2012 15:48

I think unused tokens still can be added to regions during redeployment - at least, it is the case when your last conquest failed because of a bad die roll (EXC if your race is Fairies).

I agree with you, unused tokens from hand are tokens still in play. I just meant you cannot take horde from map\hand, put it to storage tray and take already killed race token from storage tray instead. And cannot rearrange tokens at the beginning of the turn you are declining, it should be done at the end of your previous turn.
Robin wrote on Thu, 09 August 2012 15:48

I would rather say: be carefull never to leave a horde token alone before you go into decline, si you don't lose the region it is in.

Why never?) For example you have 6 tokens left (including 2 hordes), already own 5 regions (1 token per region). And you have only 1 horde token to complete conquests for this turn. Should I just put this token in one of regions already owned or try to conquer an additional region and score 1 VP (+steal 1VP from opponent if you conquer his region)? Yes, you will lose that region next turn, but why lose additional VP? Smile
      
Terean
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
November 2012
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Mon, 05 November 2012 13:51
Hey, everyone! New player here. I've been playing Small World for a few months now and me and my gaming group are enjoying it a lot. Smile

In our last gaming session there was an argument and I hope you can clarify this for us. Also, I apologize if this has been clarified already, maybe I just missed it. Anyway, here's my question:

Do bonuses from race abilities and special skills stack with each other? For example:

We had Underworld Giants coming from a mountain with a tunnel on it and conquering another region with a tunnel. Now, I understand that the giant's -1 to tokens applies, but does the -1 token from Underworld apply as well. So, would the giants need -2 tokens to conquer that zone (given that they still have to put down at least 1 token) or would they need only -1.

In a similar way, let's say we have Forest Wizards. If they're holding a forest with a crystal on it, how much victory coins would they get per turn from that zone. Is it 1 for the conquered region, another for having the Forest special power and a third one from the crystal? Or is it just 2?

Thanks in advance and I hope you can clarify this for us before our next game! Smile
      
Deio
Senior Member

Posts: 178
Registered:
January 2011
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Tue, 06 November 2012 20:57
Race abilities ans Special skills do stack. Your Wizards would get 3 coins for their region, and I think your Giants would be able to conquer some regions with 2 tokens less than usually needed.
      
bqllen
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
January 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 04 January 2013 19:19
Hey guys we are a group of friends that just started playing Smallworld and we love this game, but have some questions.

1. Can you abandon a region if you like and take up race tokens to attack another if you prefer?

2. This question only makes sence if the answer to 1. is no. In that case how about attacking Amazons - they might need to abandon a region once their attack phase is over and they need to redeploy. If so what regions are they allowed to abandon? a. any region, b. the last region they captured or c. any region they captured, not necessarily adjacent to rest of your empire

3. What regions can you attack enter the board from? We saw a gaming video where they attacked from the sea and claimed a coastal region, but we had interpreted the rules as only from the border (read: any land area touching the black edge of the board).

I hope you can be helpful Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 04 January 2013 19:29
bqllen wrote on Fri, 04 January 2013 22:19

Hey guys we are a group of friends that just started playing Smallworld and we love this game, but have some questions.

1. Can you abandon a region if you like and take up race tokens to attack another if you prefer?


You can abandon a region, but only at the very start of your turn or when you are forced to because of a power like the Amazons. You cannot abandon regions during your turn to attack other spots unless the rules specifically allow it (Marauding Special Power).

Quote:

2. This question only makes sence if the answer to 1. is no. In that case how about attacking Amazons - they might need to abandon a region once their attack phase is over and they need to redeploy. If so what regions are they allowed to abandon? a. any region, b. the last region they captured or c. any region they captured, not necessarily adjacent to rest of your empire


With Amazons, you can choose to abandon any region you want to when you occupy too many spots.

Quote:

3. What regions can you attack enter the board from? We saw a gaming video where they attacked from the sea and claimed a coastal region, but we had interpreted the rules as only from the border (read: any land area touching the black edge of the board).

I hope you can be helpful Smile


You can enter the board from any edge region, including coastal regions.

I hope this helps! Cool
      
[LR]Desert Scorpion
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
January 2013
Re:SMALL WORLD - CLARIFICATION RULES - PLEASE HELP ME Mon, 07 January 2013 10:05
Hi i want it know if i conquer the sea , the oponents players can conquer the border lands who are adjacents only to that sea?

[Updated on: Mon, 07 January 2013 10:06]

      
*player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 771
Registered:
November 2004
Re:SMALL WORLD - CLARIFICATION RULES - PLEASE HELP ME Mon, 07 January 2013 10:27
[LR

Desert Scorpion écrit le Mon, 07 January 2013 10:05]Hi i want it know if i conquer the sea , the oponents players can conquer the border lands who are adjacents only to that sea?
Yes they can.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7129
Registered:
July 2007
Re:SMALL WORLD - CLARIFICATION RULES - PLEASE HELP ME Mon, 07 January 2013 10:32
Robin wrote on Mon, 07 January 2013 13:27

[LR

Desert Scorpion écrit le Mon, 07 January 2013 10:05]Hi i want it know if i conquer the sea , the oponents players can conquer the border lands who are adjacents only to that sea?
Yes they can.



But you don't have to worry because they cannot conquer the sea; only the player with "Seafaring" can attack the water itself. Cool
      
Jamesman
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
March 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 15 March 2013 08:15
New player here. I have a few questions about the game, but only one I can think of right now.

Fortified: When claiming a race with the Fortified Special Ability and entering the board for the first time, do they get to play a Fortress on the board during the turn when conquering/claiming regions, or do they wait to place one on their next, full turn with that army?
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 771
Registered:
November 2004
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 15 March 2013 08:21
They place a Fortress at the end of each of their turns (including the first one).
Not during their turn.
Just at the end of their turn.
      
Jamesman
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
March 2013
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 15 March 2013 22:42
The rules book only said "once per turn," so I wasn't aware of when it took place. I guess that makes sense though and will make playing with Fortified more worthwhile, so thank you.
      
*player38092
Senior Member

Posts: 771
Registered:
November 2004
Re:F.A.Q: Clarification of Rules - Base Game Fri, 15 March 2013 22:45
I guess you are right about the wording. Rolling Eyes
Actually, I think that it is more coherent to wait until the end of one's turn to place a Fortress - just to be sure about what you managed to conquer before placing it.
But if you place one during the turn, I don't see what it could change.
The most important part of the answer to your question is that you can place a Fortress during the turn you enter (or re-enter) the board.
      
Pages (7): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Small World - A Spider's Web - Come into my Lair!
Goto Forum: