Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Colosseum - English » When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Lord Yabo
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
June 2007
When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Sun, 10 June 2007 07:17
The rules state that once I roll the die, I must then move a nobel an amount on the die. Once I do and I land on the resting place we are unclear exactly what happens:
1) Can I use the medal I receive immediately, even if my portion of the phase is complete?
What if I was rolling two die? Can I use the medal to move the nobel forward or backwards after utilizing the first die, but before utilizing the second?

2) Can I use the mdeal on the same nobel I just moved which just earned me the medal?
On the one hand, the rules seem to say you can redeem the medal at any time.
On the other hand, I'm not to receive the medal unless I am finished moving the nobel. This scenario of rolling, landing on a resting place, then using a medal to move again seems to be more like the rule against receiving a medal when you double roll and the nobel is "passing through" a resting place.

Without having a clear answer on these we have been playing allowing the player to use the medal immediately and on the same nobel. This seems kind of broken as it is very easy to move a nobel 3 spaces out of your colosseum, land on a resting place, then use it to move him 3 back into your colosseum. It was not uncommon for us to have 3 nobels in a single colosseum.

      
Talespinner
DoW Content Provider
Rikugun Taii

User Pages
Posts: 119
Registered:
March 2006
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Sun, 10 June 2007 18:40
1 - Yes and no. The only limitation their use is "after moving the Nobles via the dice roll" (see page X) This would lead me to believe that once you have moved the nobles the amount required by the die (or both dice) that you can use any medals gained. So complete all dice movement first, then move them.

2 - Yes, if the noble stops on a resting space, you get a medal, and have completed all dice movement, you can move the noble using the newly received medal.

If you are having a problem with someone "bunching" up nobles on in a single arena, I recommend the other players use their die rolls to move those nobles out of the arena.
      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Mon, 11 June 2007 08:24
Talespinner schrieb am Sun, 10 June 2007 18:40

1 - Yes and no. The only limitation their use is "after moving the Nobles via the dice roll" (see page X) This would lead me to believe that once you have moved the nobles the amount required by the die (or both dice) that you can use any medals gained. So complete all dice movement first, then move them.

You belief right Very Happy
First you have to use your dice to move the nobles, afterwards you can use the medals to move them again.
      
Rhelik
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
March 2004
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Mon, 11 June 2007 21:42
So assuming you have 3 nobles outside your colosseum. You move one in with dice and lands on a resting spot 3 moves away.

You gain a Emperor's Medal and then use it to move another Noble onto the resting spot, getting yet another Medal. This allows you to move the third Noble onto the resting area.

Sounds a little abusive, but within the rules.

      
GBF640
Member

Posts: 31
Registered:
January 2007
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Mon, 11 June 2007 23:43
Here's another related question: if through the expansion of a player's arena a rest area falls within the bounds of that arena, can another player gain an Emperor's Medal by moving a noble onto that rest area? Our house rule is no, a rest area within an arena is no longer a rest area that gains a medal. Seems straightforward, but I wondered if anyone else played it differently.
      
Drew P
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 2
Registered:
September 2005
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Tue, 12 June 2007 01:57
I'm pretty sure you are incorrect. You first move the nobles using the dice, if you chose to use your emperor medal it is still considered part of the nobles movement,therefore you do not get a medal for the resting spot he landed on after the dice roll. In addition you do not get a medal if you use a medal to move a noble to a resting spot. So if you use a medal to move a noble you do not receive an addditional medal no matter how you figure it.
      
Warpstorm
Member

Posts: 40
Registered:
December 2006
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Tue, 12 June 2007 03:23
Rhelik wrote on Mon, 11 June 2007 15:42



You gain a Emperor's Medal and then use it to move another Noble onto the resting spot, getting yet another Medal. This allows you to move the third Noble onto the resting area.

Sounds a little abusive, but within the rules.




Actually, it's not within the rules.

Page X - If a player uses an Emperor Medal to move a Noble onto a resting area, she does NOT collect an Emperor Medal. Emperor Medals are only collected when Nobles are moved through a dice roll.
      
Warpstorm
Member

Posts: 40
Registered:
December 2006
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Tue, 12 June 2007 03:29
GBF640 wrote on Mon, 11 June 2007 17:43

Here's another related question: if through the expansion of a player's arena a rest area falls within the bounds of that arena, can another player gain an Emperor's Medal by moving a noble onto that rest area? Our house rule is no, a rest area within an arena is no longer a rest area that gains a medal. Seems straightforward, but I wondered if anyone else played it differently.



Except that I see nothing in the rules that should have this be the expected behavior. When in doubt of the rules, do the simplest thing which in this case is to allow the player to move a Noble into a rival's stadium and get the Medal.

Remember, these are not your resting places, but rather the Nobles'.
      
atefec
Senior Member

Posts: 318
Registered:
August 2005
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Tue, 12 June 2007 07:06
Warpstorm schrieb am Tue, 12 June 2007 03:29

GBF640 wrote on Mon, 11 June 2007 17:43

Here's another related question: if through the expansion of a player's arena a rest area falls within the bounds of that arena, can another player gain an Emperor's Medal by moving a noble onto that rest area? Our house rule is no, a rest area within an arena is no longer a rest area that gains a medal. Seems straightforward, but I wondered if anyone else played it differently.



Except that I see nothing in the rules that should have this be the expected behavior. When in doubt of the rules, do the simplest thing which in this case is to allow the player to move a Noble into a rival's stadium and get the Medal.

Remember, these are not your resting places, but rather the Nobles'.

It's within the rules to expand your arena on a resting area. The rules don't state that a resting area inside an arena is out of use. So there's no reason why a player should not gain an emperor medal for moving a noble on this place.
      
GBF640
Member

Posts: 31
Registered:
January 2007
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Tue, 12 June 2007 19:14
Quote:

Except that I see nothing in the rules that should have this be the expected behavior.

Quote:

The rules don't state that a resting area inside an arena is out of use. So there's no reason why a player should not gain an emperor medal for moving a noble on this place.

I can see you are both correct, strictly speaking. It's just that to me it feels like an oversight in the rules; it doesn't make sense to me that a noble would "rest" inside an arena, so we just made up our own house rule. Very Happy It just adds a little bit of strategy as to how you expand your arena, and it did come up in a game and prevent a player from getting a medal.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1595
Registered:
May 2004
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Wed, 13 June 2007 20:07
Rhelik wrote on Mon, 11 June 2007 13:42

So assuming you have 3 nobles outside your colosseum. You move one in with dice and lands on a resting spot 3 moves away.

You gain a Emperor's Medal and then use it to move another Noble onto the resting spot, getting yet another Medal. This allows you to move the third Noble onto the resting area.

Sounds a little abusive, but within the rules.




WRONG. You cannot get another medal via moving a nobel via emperor medal. See page 10. In upper right column of page 10, rules specifically state that if a player moves the nobel via emperor medal, he/she does NOT get an emperor medal!!

Cab
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 399
Registered:
January 2006
Re:When and how can I use the Emperor's Medals? Sun, 17 June 2007 10:46
Expanding to include the rest area is a great way to get others to move the noble into your arena with their dice rolls.
      
    
Previous Topic:House Rules For Auctions
Next Topic:2 questions - medals & "special event asset tokens'
Goto Forum: