Forums

Search
Forums » Colosseum - English » Buying a new show to produce...
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
unck42
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 4
Registered:
November 2005
Buying a new show to produce... Wed, 20 June 2007 11:39
I just had a quick question about buying new shows to produce. The rule booklet tells you to take the remaining Show Cards after you have delt out the smaller shows to begin the game, and stack them in numerical order.

Now do the shows have to be purchased in that numerical order, or can we look at our sheets and compare what pieces we have and then buy any show we want, and that the numerical order just helps organize the game a little bit better, or do you have to buy them in that order, and always play the same ones first?

I just don't understand why they would have to be in numerical order.

Thanks
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Buying a new show to produce... Wed, 20 June 2007 12:58
I think the reason for this is two fold - 1) it is easier to find a specific event if they are in numerical order - look it up on your reference sheet and then just grab that number from the stack.

2) The rules states that you can buy any event that you want (so your theory of start with the first and work your way up is not valid) but that if you purchase a 2nd one, it must be of a higher value than the first one you bought. So if you buy #24 as your first one, everything after 24 is a valid 2nd purchase. If you keep them in order, then you can just start looking at a certain point in the stack and ignore everything before that.
      
Warpstorm
Member

Posts: 40
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Buying a new show to produce... Thu, 21 June 2007 13:27
Actually, it says "The new program they purchase must have a higher number than the previous one they have produced".

Theoretically, if you buy a high numbered one and then don't produce it, you can still buy a lower one. This might be useful to stake a claim on a turn 5 production early to ensure that nobody else gets to produce it. (I say "theoretically" because I haven't seen anyone do it in the admittedly small number of games I've played, but it seems legal).
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Buying a new show to produce... Thu, 21 June 2007 13:32
You are correct. I also think that there is an official variant that chucks this restriction out the window as well.
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 1597
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Buying a new show to produce... Thu, 21 June 2007 13:36
ColtsFan76 wrote on Wed, 20 June 2007 04:58

I think the reason for this is two fold - 1) it is easier to find a specific event if they are in numerical order - look it up on your reference sheet and then just grab that number from the stack.

2) The rules states that you can buy any event that you want (so your theory of start with the first and work your way up is not valid) but that if you purchase a 2nd one, it must be of a higher value than the first one you bought. So if you buy #24 as your first one, everything after 24 is a valid 2nd purchase. If you keep them in order, then you can just start looking at a certain point in the stack and ignore everything before that.


Just to clarify, you can buy any program you want initially.
But after you have PRODUCE a program, you can NO longer purchase a program LOWER than the one produced. That is the main criteria..the event you produced reduces what you can buy. Makes some sense since you should try to produce bigger events, not smaller ones.

For example, if a player buy program #20 in turn 1. But then produces event #5 for that turn.

On turn #2, the person could still purchase any event. On this turn, they produce event #20

On turn #3, the person must NOW purchase events higher than #20.

Cab
      
GreatDane
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 755
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Buying a new show to produce... Sat, 23 June 2007 18:53
ColtsFan76 wrote on Thu, 21 June 2007 13:32

You are correct. I also think that there is an official variant that chucks this restriction out the window as well.

Well - it isn't actually an official variant.
It is only the way the designer, Wolfgang Kramer, prefers to play.
      
    
Previous Topic:Movement question about Emporer etc...
Next Topic:How many Medals are you...
Goto Forum: