Forums

Search
Forums » Pirate's Cove - English » Consort and Treasure Island
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
guest294393
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
December 2006
Consort and Treasure Island Tue, 08 January 2008 04:28
If someone plays the consort card on me and I choose to go to Treasure Island, can I opt to dump no treasure thus awarding the person playing the card no points?
      
Taylor
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 160
Registered:
January 2004
Re:Consort and Treasure Island Wed, 09 January 2008 01:00
I can see nothing in the rules that says that you HAVE to bury treasure when you are on TI. So if you didn't bury treasure you wouldn't collect any fame & thus no sharing.

Remember though that you can't opt to go to TI after they have played the card as the card is played at the end of the "treasure" phase (I assume they mean plunder) so you would already have chosen the island you are at.

L8R's
T
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Consort and Treasure Island Sat, 02 February 2008 04:37
Actually, the Consort card is played after the Treasure Phase, which is Phase 1 of the round. So you must select a Pirate before he decides where he is going; which occurs later during Navigation, which is Phase 2.

So if someone picks you with the Consort card, you can choose where to go - say Treasure Island to purposely not offload treasure - or an Island with the least amount of booty showing on the treasure card - just to spite him.

So it is legal to go to Treasure Island and earn no fame points. But doing that means basically a wasted turn - unless you really wanted to pay extra for an upgrade. So you have to decide if sharing some is better than loosing all.

[Updated on: Sat, 02 February 2008 04:38]

      
Taylor
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 160
Registered:
January 2004
Re:Consort and Treasure Island Sat, 02 February 2008 13:43
I had completely missed that there was a treasure phase.
In my head phase 1 was navigation. (I don't know what phase I thought was the one where you put the new cards out)
Well done Colts Fan

L8R's
T
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Consort and Treasure Island Sat, 02 February 2008 15:23
It's a little confusing because Phase 6 is called "Move black pirates & check treasures." And if you are like me, you have PDF files of the rulebook on your computer. When you quickly scroll through, you only see the top 70% of the page. "Navigation" is on the top of one page. "Treasure" is ont he previous page but on the bottom and usually unseen. So when I first read this post, I thought everything was OK to.... until I started digging. So an easy mistake to make!
      
kissmarci
Junior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 22
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Consort and Treasure Island Wed, 01 April 2009 17:12
Can I say then that I start to grow up to the big ones?
'Cause I made the same mistake once, thank god only when reading the rules and not playing the game (I am already over my 4th game played, big time...hehe).
      
    
Next Topic:Exellent Two-player variant!
Goto Forum: