Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Using what's in the box.
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
barker_rs
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
January 2007
Using what's in the box. Mon, 04 May 2009 05:07
Here's a cool race that uses what comes in the box that you don't have to use up other tokens.

"Lost Tribes Unite"

Ignore Decline marker on tokens tell you decline then simply flip the race banner.

Recieve 7 and on first conquest use normal rules unless there is still some on the board. If lost tribes still on the board at your first conquest you may attack ANY adjacent region.

Bonus: you get plus one victory for every different race you kill on your turn. These tribes are tired of one race domination. Mad

Give it a try and let me know what you think. The best thing I liked about it is it gives you another full character with out subbing others. Also, I think this race works best if not available in the first 6 races.

      
Xknight2099
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Using what's in the box. Fri, 08 May 2009 00:02
I did a search yesterday and I got nothing about this, now I feel silly about posting thread about this same topic Laughing

Still thats a cool ability,

heres the ideas I had for them (copied from other thread)


The main problem is that both sides of the tokens are in decline.

Maybe you mark the banner when you decline this already in decline race.

Or remove it instead of an already in declince race you control?

As far as starting tokens I was thinking 0 (basicly you only get tokens based on ability PLUS:

Their natural ability is you automatically control the lost tribe tokens already on the board (assumeing any). This is ofset by the minimal starting tokens.

In addition to that if there are no Lost tokens already in play you get either + 1 gold and/or require one less unit to attack any square where the Lost markers are (the markers that show where to place them when placeing the map).

I have not counted out to see how many of those spots are on each map I am guessing its more then forest, hills, mines, and any other "bonus" spot. If it seems like an unfair advantage maybe you only get +1 gold for every 2 you control?

Also maybe you only get the +1 bonus if you would not normally get a bonus coin for controling that area.
For example Forest Lost would only get +1 even if the forest spot was also a Lost spot.



What do you think?
      
barker_rs
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Using what's in the box. Fri, 08 May 2009 04:03
Hey, that is a cool Ideal. I haven't thought about using their starting locations as an actual Region for bonus.

So far playing them by only using the Race banner to show if they are in decline or not, has not posed any problems. None of the guys have forgotten this during play...however there hasn't been any beer involved...lol This might after a little intox. Razz

How we play them is the Race Banner is pulled out until the first six comes out radomly and then it is suffled back in. This gauranties that the plus one for ever race has some meaning. The Lost Tribes Unite also works best with 4-5 players. Whats cool is if they come out shortly after the first 6 they seem to be very powerful. Do to that there seems to be a few lost tribes still on the board and a lot of different races to hack and slash.

The only problem with "0" starting tokens is if they come out at the end of the stack there is none on the board left. This would make them worthless at that point. Starting with 7 gives them enough to do something while chasing the different races at the end.

I love you region ideals and can't wait to try them out. I'll let you know how they worked out with are play. Very Happy
      
Xknight2099
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Using what's in the box. Fri, 08 May 2009 04:51
It complicates it a bit but you could say
they get 7 - the number alread on the board (maybe min of 2)


so if you get them and they already have say 3 on the board you would get an extra 4 + what ever the special power badge gives you.


EDIT: actually I forgot that you are limited to the number of tokens in the box so if you cant put all 7 in play becasue they are already in play that keeps them from being to strong/big

I have only played 1 three player game so far and we just use the lost as normal.

This should become a regular on our game nights so I should be able to try something too Cool

[Updated on: Fri, 08 May 2009 04:55]

      
barker_rs
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Using what's in the box. Sun, 17 May 2009 21:19
Will after a few more plays I have descided to take them down to 5 that you recieve when taking them. 7 was a bit to strong and 3 was to weak if they came out late in the game. We are still loving for every different race you conquer get one victory coin for their ability. "Pay backs a B" Wink

I did try the conquering their own land back they get one victory coin also but that made them a bit to strong again. I loved your ideal though and that is what I'll probly use for my blank Ability token. Saying for every Lost Tribe Region conquered you get plus 1 victory coin.

What we like about doing it this way, is knowing Days of Wonder it'll be another year or two before an expansion actually comes out. This way it gives another race without subbing or making you own cheesy looking pieces. At least it would look cheesy if I did them. lol

Have you had a chance to play with them?? I'll keep trying them and see if I need to tweak a little more.
      
Xknight2099
Junior Member

Posts: 12
Registered:
May 2009
Re:Using what's in the box. Thu, 21 May 2009 22:03
no I have still not had a chance yet... my group likes to play different things each week and we always buy new stuff and of course we have to play the new stuff lol.

I like that for the blank power (makeing it a +1 bonus for the Lost tribe spots)

Now for the lost tribe when the conquer a race is that just a race in one region or do they have to kill all the tokens of one race? (which would make elves impossible)
      
barker_rs
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Registered:
January 2007
Re:Using what's in the box. Sat, 23 May 2009 16:31
No just a race token in a region. "One victory token for every different race killed." Not destroyed...in other words every Region conquered with a different race occupying it you get one victory point. So, on a 5 player game with no races in decline the max will be 4 victory coins for this ability. It makes you want to attack every other race that is active and in decline. That is why they work best with 4-5 players but it also makes them not too strong on a 2-3. They have been balancing out quite nicely. I make sure they are not in the first 6 choices to pick from that way most if not all are off the board by the time they come up. Most of the games I have played with them there is 2-3 lost tribes still on the board. This is why getting 7 was too strong, but when we play with getting only 3 there was only 1 still on the board. That proved to be too weak not allowing enough tokens to reach out to all the lucky ones on the board. Very Happy One thing you have to consider is that the ones on the board is only allowing you to start there. Unless you take them off the board they do not add to your attack. This is why you need to get some to start with.

I understand playing the new games and I hope you get a chance to run with this one again. Right now this is our favorite until the new runs off. It'll be in my top 5 for a long time though. Wink
      
BamH1
Member
Small World Creation Contest Winner

User Pages
Posts: 85
Registered:
August 2007
Re:Using what's in the box. Mon, 25 May 2009 05:42
player307444 wrote on Sun, 24 May 2009 00:31

I make sure they are not in the first 6 choices to pick from that way most if not all are off the board by the time they come up. Most of the games I have played with them there is 2-3 lost tribes still on the board. This is why getting 7 was too strong, but when we play with getting only 3 there was only 1 still on the board. That proved to be too weak not allowing enough tokens to reach out to all the lucky ones on the board. Very Happy One thing you have to consider is that the ones on the board is only allowing you to start there. Unless you take them off the board they do not add to your attack. This is why you need to get some to start with.

What if you phrase the troop number something like this:
"take up to <x> tokens (count tokens still on the board)"
Where <x> is what ever troops you think is best for balance.
That way it's factored in and doesn't matter if ppl choose it at the start Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:The right Race at the right time...when to pick what
Next Topic:Missing Die?
Goto Forum: