Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Colosseum - English » Using emperor medals to move nobles when not the main player?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Kheldar633
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
August 2006
Using emperor medals to move nobles when not the main player? Mon, 02 November 2009 20:20
This question came up in a 4-player game session last night and I have been looking for posts to support or refute it but have been unsuccessful.


I cannot find anywhere in the rules that state when you can and cannot use emperor medals with regard to whose turn it currently is:

o You can obviously turn them in for coins when you both are and are not the main player (bidding on and winning an auction initiated by another player).

o You would never use the medals for spectators when you are not the main player.

o Is there anything stopping someone who is not the main player from using a medal to move a noble out of an opponent's arena after they have completed their die rolls and movement, but before they count up their spectator totals?


We were on the last turn of the game when the question arose so we didn't allow it for that game, but follow-up reads of the rules haven't suggested this as a tactic nor stated that it is against the rules.

Thanks for reading!

--
Kheldar633
      
Benny77
Junior Member
Cadet

Posts: 1
Registered:
October 2007
Re:Using emperor medals to move nobles when not the main player? Thu, 03 December 2009 01:25
I also played a game a few nights ago with 3 players. The question came up for us as to when do you play the medals to move the nobles. At the time i wasn't sure but now that i have had a chance to think about it, i think that all players roll the dice in turn and then play the medals after that. The question i am still stuck on is do the medals get played in turn order also or is it you play your medal when you want only to find someone else plays their medal directly after yours out of turn order?
Any thoughts are appreciated.
Thanks.
Ben
      
Antoine
-= Crew =-
Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1663
Registered:
April 2007
Re:Using emperor medals to move nobles when not the main player? Thu, 03 December 2009 11:00
Hi there, welcome to the Days of Wonder Online Community Smug

Re. your questions:

Kheldar633 écrit le Mon, 02 November 2009 20:20

o You can obviously turn [your medals] in for coins when you both are and are not the main player (bidding on and winning an auction initiated by another player).

Yes.
Quote:

o You would never use the medals for spectators when you are not the main player.

Right, it wouldn't make sense.
Quote:

o Is there anything stopping someone who is not the main player from using a medal to move a noble out of an opponent's arena after they have completed their die rolls and movement, but before they count up their spectator totals?

Actually, this player would not be allowed to play his medal during an opponent's turn. The three steps of phase IV must be played in a row (they are part of the same phase):
> Player A moves nobles (rolling the die + medal if desired) (1), produces his event (2) and counts spectators (3). Players B and C are NOT allowed to play their medal(s) at this time.
> Player B moves nobles (1), produces his event (2) and counts spectators (3). Players A and C are NOT allowed to play their medal(s) at this time.
> and so on.

Hope it helped!
      
Kheldar633
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Using emperor medals to move nobles when not the main player? Sat, 24 April 2010 06:50
Thank you for the clarification! I am glad we have been playing the game correctly. I hope that you can find an elegant way to get this into the errata, game FAQs, and/or future game literature so that it is clear to all.

Cheers!
      
    
Previous Topic:possible 2 player game????
Next Topic:Moving the nobles
Goto Forum: