Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
cptantilles
Junior Member
First Lieutenant

Posts: 2
Registered:
November 2009
Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Thu, 31 December 2009 14:10
I have a question concerning the play of Their Finest Hour. When exactly is the deck and discard pile reshuffled - before or after TFH goes to the discard pile? That is, does TFH get reshuffled and placed in the new draw pile, or does it stay out and form a new discard pile? Thanks!
      
Keith685
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
December 2009
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Thu, 31 December 2009 16:27
Hello,

My understanding is that it is placed on the discard pile and reshuffled with the entire deck of discarded and remaining undrawn cards.

Happy New Year

Keith.

[Updated on: Thu, 31 December 2009 16:27]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Thu, 31 December 2009 16:54
Keith is right. It would be possible, if very lucky, for a player to play Their Finest Hour and then draw it again to play the next turn!

Welcome to the forum, gentlemen! Cool In case you haven't already found them, there are some goodies you might like over here, and the official FAQ over here.
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1406
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Thu, 31 December 2009 17:12
I've had it happen! My opponent played it, reshuffled the deck, and played it again on his very next turn! I've been playing this game F2F for almost four years now, and have only had that happen once! Needless to say, I lost that game!

      
JWRockets
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 26
Registered:
July 2009
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Thu, 31 December 2009 18:22
I have not seen it drawn back-to-back, but did see it come up three times in a single scenario.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 621
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Fri, 01 January 2010 10:28
I always play like this.
Discard TFH,and at the end off the turn draw first a card
and then reshuffle the deck , is this not the best way?
In this way it's impossible to redraw the TFH card in the same turn by the same player.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Fri, 01 January 2010 14:52
The official answer in the FAQ is that you reshuffle the deck before drawing.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 621
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Fri, 01 January 2010 22:29
I agree then , i never argue the official fact or Sam. Embarassed
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3069
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Fri, 01 January 2010 23:01
You are wise beyond your years Johan!!!!
Laughing Laughing Laughing
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Fri, 01 January 2010 23:06
It's easy to be right when simply reporting the answers that are in the FAQ. Smile
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2162
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sat, 02 January 2010 01:54
JJAZ wrote on Fri, 01 January 2010 16:29

...the official fact or Sam. Embarassed




That is very often (but not always) the same Laughing
      
cptantilles
Junior Member
First Lieutenant

Posts: 2
Registered:
November 2009
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sat, 02 January 2010 08:24
Thanks for the clarification! Our group has been playing the first mini-campaign in the scenario book and having a lot of fun with it.
      
djedi gamer
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 155
Registered:
July 2010
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Tue, 16 November 2010 12:07
Haha! That's way I've got TFH 3 times at one play!
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3069
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Tue, 16 November 2010 13:27
Welcome to the forums djedi gamer. We welcome your enthusiasm and your discussion.


      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1009
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Tue, 16 November 2010 18:16
Personnaly, I can't see the use of reshuffeling.
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1077
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Tue, 16 November 2010 18:23
Erik Uitdebroeck wrote on Tue, 16 November 2010 17:16

Personnaly, I can't see the use of reshuffeling.


It adds to the Fog of War and increases the element of unpredictability, essential to a fun game. Very Happy

[Updated on: Tue, 16 November 2010 18:26]

      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 1009
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Tue, 16 November 2010 18:24
Ok, thanks.
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

User Pages
Posts: 786
Registered:
September 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Tue, 16 November 2010 21:56
I just came from Memoir'44 Online and played Sword Beach as the Allies versus JDrommel and drew Their Finest Hour late in the game. After playing it I drew it again a turn later and it helped me win the game.
Makes it difficult to be the opponent when you draw TFH several times.

Jacques, thanks for 4 fun scenarios.

Stig Morten
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2162
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Tue, 16 November 2010 22:05
ad79 wrote on Tue, 16 November 2010 15:56

I just came from Memoir'44 Online and played Sword Beach as the Allies versus JDrommel and drew Their Finest Hour late in the game. After playing it I drew it again a turn later and it helped me win the game.
Makes it difficult to be the opponent when you draw TFH several times.

Jacques, thanks for 4 fun scenarios.

Stig Morten



It depends on what appears on the "bones" -- I have often only rolled 1 order and whiffing with 4 or 5 rolls is not unheard of. This of course resluts in a wasted turn Shocked
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 621
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sat, 20 November 2010 09:30
Eric Uitdebroek wrote
Personnaly, I can't see the use of reshuffeling.

Example.
you play with air rules and at the game start your opponent starts with the 2 air sorties ,after some turns he played them both and now has only the chance of starting a plane with the air power card to start flying if he draws it.
Maybe if you have the TFH card and know after you played it the deck is reshuffled and the air sorties can reappear and help your opponent win the game.
just a thought.

[Updated on: Sat, 20 November 2010 09:33]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3069
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sat, 20 November 2010 13:13
Yes, Johan is speaking with the experience of many battles.

It always makes a difference!!!
Laughing

[Updated on: Sat, 20 November 2010 13:14]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1173
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sat, 27 October 2012 21:47
Sorry to re-open this old thread.

The question was: do you reshuffle before or after you discard TFH, and people answer with: the faq says you reshuffle before you draw a new card.
This still does not answer the actual question.

According to the base game rules, the 5th step of a turn is "draw a new command card" this step contains the actions "put your played command card on the discard pile and draw a new command card from the draw pile".
When the faq says to reshuffle before drwing a new card, does it mean before the "draw a new card"-step (meaning also before you put the played card on the discard) or right before the "drawing a new card"-action, and therefor after the discard action.

My understanding was that you execute a card fully, and only then discard it. The reshuffle is an action on the card, so you do it before you discard the card.

Do we actually have a ruling that says if the reshuffle happens before or after the discard? Can someone point me to it?
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sat, 27 October 2012 22:09
Hello,

According to FAQ page 41, "Their Finest Hour":

Official FAQ


Q. After playing Their Finest Hour does the player draw before or after the deck and discard piles are shuffled together?
A. Shuffle the discards and deck together to form a new draw deck before drawing the new Command card.



That is how we play it.

Cheers,

[Updated on: Sat, 27 October 2012 22:10]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1173
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sat, 27 October 2012 22:29
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 27 October 2012 22:09

Hello,

According to FAQ page 41, "Their Finest Hour":

Official FAQ


Q. After playing Their Finest Hour does the player draw before or after the deck and discard piles are shuffled together?
A. Shuffle the discards and deck together to form a new draw deck before drawing the new Command card.



That is how we play it.

Cheers,


That is not the question. The question is do you shuffle TFH as well or du you shuffle, put TFH in the new, empty discard pile and then draw.

So to be perfectly clear:
Which is the correct way to play:
- discard, shuffle, draw
or
- shuffle, discard, draw

In both cases, you do what the faq says, you shuffle before you draw.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sat, 27 October 2012 22:31
Quit2 wrote on Sat, 27 October 2012 22:29

Almilcar wrote on Sat, 27 October 2012 22:09

Hello,

According to FAQ page 41, "Their Finest Hour":

Official FAQ


Q. After playing Their Finest Hour does the player draw before or after the deck and discard piles are shuffled together?
A. Shuffle the discards and deck together to form a new draw deck before drawing the new Command card.



That is how we play it.

Cheers,


That is not the question. The question is do you shuffle TFH as well or du you shuffle, put TFH in the new, empty discard pile and then draw.

So to be perfectly clear:
Which is the correct way to play:
- discard, shuffle, draw
or
- shuffle, discard, draw

In both cases, you do what the faq says, you shuffle before you draw.


We do play in this way:

- discard, shuffle, draw, so that TFH is again in the pile.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sun, 28 October 2012 05:16
TFH should end up in the discard pile, available for someone to take...and it should be shuffled into the deck, not just sitting on top! Laughing
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sun, 28 October 2012 15:39
There's usually a 2/50 chance of TFH being shuffled so either player gets it their next draw.
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 477
Registered:
October 2011
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sun, 28 October 2012 18:11
If you play a counter-attack on that TFH, you actualy play the same as TFH, right ?!

/-> This rule applied, you play the card you counter, so that is TFH here. (Normaly you also counter in mirror vision, but this is not needed here.)

So you reshuffle again ? And the counter-attack card goes back into the deck !? Rolling Eyes
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Their Finest Hour - Reshuffle Question Sun, 28 October 2012 19:29
Flemish_Havy wrote on Sun, 28 October 2012 21:11

If you play a counter-attack on that TFH, you actualy play the same as TFH, right ?!

/-> This rule applied, you play the card you counter, so that is TFH here. (Normaly you also counter in mirror vision, but this is not needed here.)

So you reshuffle again ? And the counter-attack card goes back into the deck !? Rolling Eyes


Correct. You would reshuffle again, the Counter Attack would be placed back into the deck before shuffling, and you would have another chance to pull TFH or Counter Attack from the deck. Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:Any Lincolnshire memoir players?
Next Topic:LoS with bunkers on hills in Expert mode
Goto Forum: