Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Mystery Express - English » Conductor action with no cards?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Lupetto
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
May 2010
Conductor action with no cards? Fri, 18 June 2010 08:57
If the player has no cards in hand, and takes an action in the same car as the conductor, what happens?

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Conductor action with no cards? Tue, 22 June 2010 21:38
Lupetto wrote on Thu, 17 June 2010 23:57

If the player has no cards in hand, and takes an action in the same car as the conductor, what happens?


I don't have the rules in front of me right now, but if I remember correctly that situation is mentioned specifically...I believe that if you don't have a card you can't talk to the conductor because you don't have anything to replace the card with. Razz
      
ame_lia
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
February 2011
Re:Conductor action with no cards? Tue, 08 February 2011 10:31
Unfortunately, the rules say nothing about having no cards in your hand. We've just had this issue and had a loooong and quite disturbing talk about the situation. It is a breach in the rules and I think it needs to be settled.
The rule book says: "Select one of the 3 cards visible on the Conductor's spot". What I get from this is that at any time, there should be 3 cards on the Conductor's spot, so if you have no cards in your hand and are thus unable to replace one of the Conductor's cards, you cannot get a card.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 6851
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Conductor action with no cards? Wed, 09 February 2011 06:48
ame_lia wrote on Tue, 08 February 2011 13:31

Unfortunately, the rules say nothing about having no cards in your hand. We've just had this issue and had a loooong and quite disturbing talk about the situation. It is a breach in the rules and I think it needs to be settled.


The rules may not say anything directly about holding no cards in your hand, but the rules are still quite clear in this area.

Quote:

The rule book says: "Select one of the 3 cards visible on the Conductor's spot". What I get from this is that at any time, there should be 3 cards on the Conductor's spot, so if you have no cards in your hand and are thus unable to replace one of the Conductor's cards, you cannot get a card.


If you look on page 7 of the rules (which is where you got the above quote, I believe) and read the whole 3rd paragraph under 'Talking to the Conductor', you'll see that it says:

Rule Book Page 7

Chatting with the Conductor is a free bonus action that takesno time. However, the chat must occur after you take the action in this Car. If you don't have enough time left to perform the Car's action, you won't get to chat with the Conductor. Select one of the 3 cards visible on the Conductor's spots. Look at it, and then place it atop your discard pile. Next, take a card from your hand and place it face down on the empty Conductor's spot. This card must come directly from your hand, not from your discards.


I added the emphasis in red. We have to read the rules just as they are...and as you can see, a player MUST replace the card into the Conductor's spot and it has to come from their hand, not from the discarded ones under their token.

To answer your question...if you don't have cards in your 'active' hand, you can't talk with the Conductor.
      
    
Previous Topic:Two-Player rules
Next Topic:Bent Card
Goto Forum: