Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Leprechauns
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Phaye
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
August 2010
Leprechauns Sun, 07 November 2010 21:20
In the final round, if the Leprechauns place a pot of gold on the regions they occupy, does the player get those pieces when the round (and game) is over?
      
ilfiniol
Member

Posts: 62
Registered:
April 2009
Re: Leprechauns Sun, 07 November 2010 22:22
No.
      
Enker1978
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
October 2010
Re: Leprechauns Tue, 07 December 2010 20:11
An additional question on this race.

Is it allowed to collect the gold pieces in the round the Lepraichauns declines?

Im not sure, because both things happen at the beginning of the players turn. The collection of the pieces and the decline of the Lepraichauns.

We played it the way, that they are allowed to take the pieces bevor the decline, because you have succesfully defend the pieces from being captured.

[Updated on: Tue, 07 December 2010 20:19]

      
thesetup
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Registered:
June 2006
Re: Leprechauns Mon, 27 December 2010 23:35
I don't have the expansion rules in front of me, but I believe you'd get them. Your Leprechauns still control those regions, even though they're now in decline. I think you only need them active to PLACE the gold into regions. I don't think you have to remove them when you enter decline. That's how I'd play it anyway, but I've been wrong before...

Enker1978 wrote on Tue, 07 December 2010 11:11

An additional question on this race.

Is it allowed to collect the gold pieces in the round the Lepraichauns declines?

Im not sure, because both things happen at the beginning of the players turn. The collection of the pieces and the decline of the Lepraichauns.

We played it the way, that they are allowed to take the pieces bevor the decline, because you have succesfully defend the pieces from being captured.

Very Happy
      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

User Pages
Posts: 156
Registered:
June 2010
Re: Leprechauns Fri, 28 January 2011 23:38
I think you guys are right on.

The rules state:
Each Pot of Gold still present at the start of your next turn goes into your victory stash...

It doesn't seem to discriminate whether that is an active or in-decline turn.
      
panamafever
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 18
Registered:
February 2011
Re: Leprechauns Mon, 14 February 2011 21:51
I agree. To take an even more extreme example, you could probably Stout your Leprechauns (decline at end of turn) after placing some pots--and as long as "the pots of gold are still present" at beginning of your next turn you should be, ahem, "golden."
      
draziL
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 47
Registered:
July 2012
Leprechauns Sat, 18 August 2012 06:23
A couple of questions regarding Leprechauns:

The rules read: "..If an oponent conquers one of these regions before your next turn, he gets the pot of gold instead.."

1. It is not clear if the pot of gold worth one victory point for the conqueror of the pot of gold region, or he only manages to deprive the pot of gold from the Leprechauns' owner.
2. If a sorcerer uses his ability and replaces a Leprechaun (in the beginning of the Leprechauns' owner turn) in a region where a pot of gold exists, who gets the pot of gold ?

      
Deio
Senior Member

Posts: 178
Registered:
January 2011
Re: Leprechauns Sat, 18 August 2012 13:09
1. The pot of gold is always worth 1 victory coin, whoever is owning it.

2. When a Sorcerer uses his ability on a Leprechaun, the Sorcerer does get the pot of gold, as using his ability is considered as a conquest.
But a Sorcerer can only use his ability during his own turn, so the case you described (replacing a Leprechaun in the beginning of the Leprechauns' turn) does not seem possible to me.
      
DannyMack
Senior Member
KS Backer - Triton

User Pages
Posts: 156
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Leprechauns Sun, 15 September 2013 09:09
draziL wrote on Sat, 18 August 2012 00:23

The rules read: "..If an opponent conquers one of these regions before your next turn, he gets the pot of gold instead.."

1. It is not clear (read: to me) if the pot of gold worth one victory point for the conqueror of the pot of gold region, or he only manages to deprive the pot of gold from the Leprechauns' owner.
2. If a sorcerer uses his ability and replaces a Leprechaun (in the beginning of the Leprechauns' owner turn) in a region where a pot of gold exists, who gets the pot of gold ?

(Emphasis mine.)
1.> The rules do not say that the player who conquers the regions "keeps it away from" the Leprechaun player. It says he gets it. If he gets it, it should be clear that he (the conqueror) has it, and looking at the back side of the PoG token shows us that it is a value 1 VC. What he "has got" is 1 VC.

2.> Who gets it? See above. If another player conquers the region, he (the conqueror) gets it. Who owns the region? If it's a Sorcerer now (and a minute ago it was a Leprechaun) that PoG goes in Sorcerer's Victory Stash.
NOTE: The Sorcerers may only Zap! another player's token on the Sorcerers' own turn. There will never be an instance in which the Sorcerer will be conquering a Leprechaun region at the beginning of the Leprechaun player's own turn.


[Updated on: Sun, 15 September 2013 09:10]

      
Mavado
Member
Designer's Oath

Posts: 45
Registered:
April 2013
Re: Leprechauns Sun, 15 September 2013 20:58
panamafever wrote on Mon, 14 February 2011 21:51

I agree. To take an even more extreme example, you could probably Stout your Leprechauns (decline at end of turn) after placing some pots--and as long as "the pots of gold are still present" at beginning of your next turn you should be, ahem, "golden."
Tried it in-app. Didn't work. Sad The pots disappeared as soon as the Leprechauns entered decline.

[Updated on: Sun, 15 September 2013 21:49]

      
Conanian
Junior Member
Designer's Oath

Posts: 25
Registered:
November 2011
Re: Leprechauns Wed, 18 September 2013 02:40
Then this sounds like a scoring bug. If it says the Leprechaun gets the PoG at beginning of his turn if it is still there, it shouldn't matter if the Leprechaun is going into decline....the PoG was there at the start of the Leprechaun's turn...
      
Mavado
Member
Designer's Oath

Posts: 45
Registered:
April 2013
Re: Leprechauns Wed, 18 September 2013 17:31
Conanian wrote on Wed, 18 September 2013 02:40

Then this sounds like a scoring bug. If it says the Leprechaun gets the PoG at beginning of his turn if it is still there, it shouldn't matter if the Leprechaun is going into decline....the PoG was there at the start of the Leprechaun's turn...
Assuming your post was directed at me... Where I used Stout to decline in the same turn I placed the pots.

Actually, it does make sense. The pots are only there because of the Leprechaun's racial power. Since that power doesn't carry over into decline, the pots disappear just like the dragon, the catapult, heroes or halfling holes.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7145
Registered:
July 2007
Re: Leprechauns Wed, 18 September 2013 18:43
Mavado wrote on Wed, 18 September 2013 19:31

Conanian wrote on Wed, 18 September 2013 02:40

Then this sounds like a scoring bug. If it says the Leprechaun gets the PoG at beginning of his turn if it is still there, it shouldn't matter if the Leprechaun is going into decline....the PoG was there at the start of the Leprechaun's turn...
Assuming your post was directed at me... Where I used Stout to decline in the same turn I placed the pots.

Actually, it does make sense. The pots are only there because of the Leprechaun's racial power. Since that power doesn't carry over into decline, the pots disappear just like the dragon, the catapult, heroes or halfling holes.


I agree. I don't think this is a bug because you only get the Pots as points at the start of your next turn. But it only applies when you are Active.
      
    
Previous Topic:Realms - Adrift
Next Topic:Unlinking Game Center account from DoW account
Goto Forum: