Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » SWU - Barlog's power
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Yaruar
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
January 2011
SWU - Barlog's power Fri, 10 June 2011 11:40
If the player conquered the Region with The Diamond Fields by the Balrog, how much VP he will receive for this Region? 0 or 1 (for The Diamond Fields power)? Can he use The Diamond Fields power for another his Regions, in this case?

Can the player whose troops (active race) occupy the Pentacle's Region, conquer the Regions adjacent to the region occupied by the Balrog, but not adjacent to the regions occupied by his troops(active race) ?

[Updated on: Fri, 10 June 2011 18:55]

      
Trapistah
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
August 2010
Re:SWU - Barlog's power Fri, 10 June 2011 17:11
0 I'd say by looking at the rules. The player never conquers the region, since the Balrog stays there alone, thus can't score any points at all. At least that's how we've played it.. but hey... we've been wrong before ;D
      
Deio
Senior Member

Posts: 178
Registered:
January 2011
Re:SWU - Barlog's power Sat, 11 June 2011 10:24
I agree. The Balrog is not part of your troops! It does not allow you to conquer regions, just to make them empty. Regions conquered by the Balrog don't belong to anyone.

So the answers to your questions are:
- 0 VP as the region doesn't belong to anyone; and no you cannot use the Diamond Fields,
- no, as the Balrog is absolutely not considered as being part of your troops.
      
draziL
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

User Pages
Posts: 47
Registered:
July 2012
Re:SWU - Barlog's power Tue, 21 August 2012 20:59
Although I have seen this question in "Official Small World Underground FAQ", I did not find an official answer:

The rules read: "The player who discovers the Wickedest Pentacle immediately sends the Balrog invoked by it into the neighboring (i.e. sharing a common border) Region of his choice...In subsequent turns, the player whose troops occupy the Pentacle's Region may move the Balrog to the neighboring Region of his choice, once at any point during his turn, and repeat the process described above."

However, it is not clear what the term "neighboring" refers to. There are three different interpretations that I can think of:

1. Neighboring to the Wickedest Plalace region.
2. Neighboring to the region that the Balrog occupies.
3. Neighboring to any region that the race which controls the Balrog occupies.

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7091
Registered:
July 2007
Re:SWU - Barlog's power Wed, 22 August 2012 00:45
draziL wrote on Tue, 21 August 2012 22:59

Although I have seen this question in "Official Small World Underground FAQ", I did not find an official answer:

The rules read: "The player who discovers the Wickedest Pentacle immediately sends the Balrog invoked by it into the neighboring (i.e. sharing a common border) Region of his choice...In subsequent turns, the player whose troops occupy the Pentacle's Region may move the Balrog to the neighboring Region of his choice, once at any point during his turn, and repeat the process described above."

However, it is not clear what the term "neighboring" refers to. There are three different interpretations that I can think of:

1. Neighboring to the Wickedest Plalace region.
2. Neighboring to the region that the Balrog occupies.
3. Neighboring to any region that the race which controls the Balrog occupies.




I believe that the first time you move the Balrog, you would move it into a region adjacent to the Wickedest Place...after that you move it one region at a time around the board, always into regions adjacent to the one it was in before. The regions that your active (or In Decline) races control have nothing to do with the Balrog.

This is in line with the rest of the Small World games. Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:Balance
Next Topic:Help for translating a new extension from French: "Les dés du Destin"
Goto Forum: