Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Winter Wars FAQ / combat card from Air Recon?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Winter Wars FAQ / combat card from Air Recon? Fri, 15 July 2011 21:13
It seems that every time we play Winter Wars, another rules question pops up. Previously I'd played scenarios with the Storch (Recon/Rescue) but we never did a Recon, although my opponent did Rescue one of his units. Lately, we played Bastogne Corridor East using Winter Weather and Winter Combat Cards, since it's a scenario for the Winter board. We both chose to get the Storch off the airfield before it was killed and to Recon for the choice of two cards. After the games I thought that I should have drawn a Winter Combat Card too. Strasbourg also uses the Winter board, so it's possible the Axis could bring in a Storch from an Air Strike.

Anyway, here's the questions we faced, and below the answers I discovered or suggested. Please feel free to add your comments.

1) When you Recon by plane (Air Rules), do you draw a Winter Combat Card?

2) Does the Winter Weather restriction on tanks override the movement bonus for roads and Frozen Ground?

3) Does Out of Fuel work with all units? If not, what's considered a vehicle?
What's a vehicle?

4) When do you roll for minefields and frozen rivers?

5) What's the order of play for Infiltrators with other ordered units?
Winter Combat Card "Infiltrators" and sequence of play

6) If a unit is moving on a road and the road crosses a railroad, does the road extra hex movement benefit end?

7) Can mobile artillery activated by Artillery Bombard move and attack?

[edit: Mon, 19 December 2011]
I've been playing online for awhile now. But I played some Winter Wars recently, and it's still true that a question comes up every other game. Unfortunately the FAQ supplement doesn't cover much in Winter Wars. Here's one of my questions, and some from other threads:

8) Does Reinforcements count as one of your units ordered?
(i.e. only 1 for Recon, 1/2 for Probe, 1/3 for Attack, 1/4 for Direct from HQ, etc.)

9) If a Late War Mortar moves, does it ignore Line of Sight?

10) Can you play Out of Ammo on an Ambush?
For Out of Ammo what if there's no open baseline hex?

11) Can Infiltrators enhance Behind Enemy Lines to move and attack again? (+3,+6, or +7 movement/ +1 attack)

12) Can you play Heat of Battle after Heat of Battle?
Can you take ground after playing Heat of Battle?
Does an extra die carry over?

13) Do Machine Guns hit a Sniper on a Star?

14) Can you play 2 Ambushes (Overlord) or an Ambush & Ambuscade before the attacker fires?
[/end edit-update]

MY OPINION-ANSWERS:
1) Yes.
2) No.
3) No. What's a Vehicle?
Antoine wrote on Thu, 17 March 2011 10:44

stevens écrit le Wed, 16 March 2011 16:27

Artillery is Artillery (including mobile Artillery).
All of the following are vehicles:
Armor Units
Patrol Cars (jeeps)
Half-Tracks
Supply Trucks

Indeed. Moreover, Trains, Aircraft carriers and Destroyers are not vehicles.

4) Immediately, when you move on them.
5) Move all ordered units one at a time, Battle with units one at a time, then Move the Infiltrators unit again.
6) Yes, is what FAQ says but I think it's wrong. No, is how we've been playing and Railroad Tracks reference card even says, "road crossing a railroad plays as standard road"!!!
7) No. per FAQ.

[Updated on: Mon, 13 August 2012 04:02]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Winter Wars ?s: Draw Winter Combat Card from Air Recon? Fri, 15 July 2011 21:47
Quote:

1) Yes.
2) No.
3) No. Vehicles include tanks, tank variants (half-tracks, tank destroyers) and troop carriers (jeeps, trucks) but not infantry, artillery, trains, ships, planes, etc.
4) Immediately, when you move on them.
5) Move all ordered units one at a time, Battle with units one at a time, then Move the Infiltrators unit again.
6) Yes, is what FAQ says but I think it's wrong. No, is how we've been playing and Railroad Tracks reference card even says, "road crossing a railroad plays as standard road"!!!
7) No.


4]
Mines only activate on Enemy units. And any unit moving onto a mine must stop their movement at that point. No taking Ground and no Armor overun OFF OF a mine hex that you just moved onto. You may take ground and armor overrun ONTO a mine hex.

6]
The FAQ is not wrong on this point.
An armor or artillery unit moving across a railroad on a road/railroad hex is allowed to continue moving (if crossing at a regular railroad hex the unit would have to stop movement). Therefore the road does give a benefit of continued movement but NOT the benefit of moving an additional hex.
An infantry unit moving across the same road/railroad hex continues to have the benefit of moving one additional hex as long as it began, continued and ends on a road hex.

Page 5 Terrain Pack Rules:
Quote:

Movement: No movement restrictions for Infantry.
Armor and Artillery must stop when moving onto a Railroad
Track hex.

Page 14 FAQ:
Quote:

Q. If a unit is moving on a road and the road crosses a railroad, does the road extra hex movement benefit end?
A. Yes. Note: An Armor or Artillery unit does not have to stop its movement when moving onto a road crossing a railroad hex.


The FAQ "trumps" all other references to rules and cards.

[Updated on: Fri, 15 July 2011 22:29]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2083
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Winter Wars ?s: Draw Winter Combat Card from Air Recon? Fri, 15 July 2011 22:35
An infantry unit moving across the same road/railroad hex continues to have the benefit of moving one additional hex as long as it began, continued and ends on a road hex.

I believe that even the infantry would not be able to benefit in this case.

From the FAQ:


Q. If a unit is moving on a road and the road crosses a railroad, does the road extra hex movement benefit end?
A. Yes. Note: An Armor or Artillery unit does not have to stop its movement when moving onto a road crossing a railroad hex.

The underlined section is mine. It seems to state the road bonus would not apply to any unit.

It seems to act like a bridge in between road sections.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Winter Wars ?s: Draw Winter Combat Card from Air Recon? Fri, 15 July 2011 23:44
To be frank, there is a possibility that you may be correct, however, I think that this question was condensed from two separate questions when entered in the FAQ. I am currently doing a review for Rasmussen on the FAQ and I will forward this issue on for clarification.

Thanks TC. Confused

Think about a railroad hex for infantry as having no movement restrictions (so essentially the road crossing the railroad is like a road going across open terrain and does not effect the road benefit). I am not completely confident, but I think this was discussed somewhere before.

I will as I said, ask for a review of this question.

[Updated on: Sat, 16 July 2011 00:14]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2083
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Winter Wars ?s: Draw Winter Combat Card from Air Recon? Sat, 16 July 2011 01:59
stevens wrote on Fri, 15 July 2011 17:44

To be frank, there is a possibility that you may be correct, however, I think that this question was condensed from two separate questions when entered in the FAQ. I am currently doing a review for Rasmussen on the FAQ and I will forward this issue on for clarification.

Thanks TC. Confused

Think about a railroad hex for infantry as having no movement restrictions (so essentially the road crossing the railroad is like a road going across open terrain and does not effect the road benefit). I am not completely confident, but I think this was discussed somewhere before.

I will as I said, ask for a review of this question.



Sounds good to me Smile
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2247
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Winter Wars ?s: Draw Winter Combat Card from Air Recon? Sat, 16 July 2011 02:15
jfkoski wrote on Fri, 15 July 2011 15:13

1) When you Recon by plane (Air Rules), do you draw a Winter Combat Card?

No. The Combat card rules specify, "A player may only draw a new Combat card from the deck at the end of a turn in which he has played a Recon Command card."
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Winter Wars ?s: Draw Winter Combat Card from Air Recon? Sat, 16 July 2011 21:13
Page 6 Winter Wars Rules
Quote:

A player may only draw a new Combat card from the
deck at the end of a turn in which he has played a
Recon Command card - but not a Recon in Force or
any other Command card!


Embarassed Embarassed

I believe Sam is correct. The RECON (with a Storch) Action is not to be confused with the actual play of a RECON-1 Command Card. So in the case of using the Storch for RECON, the drawing of a Combat card is most likely not allowed even though the follow up action of drawing two Command cards is allowed.

[Updated on: Sun, 17 July 2011 14:48]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Winter Wars ?s: Draw Winter Combat Card from Air Recon? Mon, 18 July 2011 20:23
Thanks for responding. I didn't think about minefields for the side that placed them, since in my games that side never crosses them anyway.

As to Storch Recon, my thought was that it just wasn't considered for Winter Wars. Heck, I didn't think about it until after we played twice! To begin with, we've seldom ever used a Storch, and never considered bringing it on the board with an Air Strike!

Another question came up:
8) Does Reinforcements count as one of your units ordered?

The way I read it, you play your Battle card, then play Reinforcements and roll the die. The unit should be extra. So if your card is Armor Assault and you get an infantry, you still may battle with the infantry.

[Updated on: Sat, 11 August 2012 05:33]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Winter Wars FAQ / combat card from Air Recon? Mon, 19 December 2011 19:53
I'll try to post links to other threads.

9) If a Late War Mortar moves, does it ignore Line of Sight?
SWA 6: Late war Mortar
http://i1176.photobucket.com/albums/x334/brdavis3/Untitledpicture.png

10) Can you play Out of Ammo on Ambush?
Out of ammo combo ?
hdescavernes wrote on Thu, 15 December 2011 17:20

In the french forum Antoine has just stated that OOA couldn't be played in response to an ambush, by the attacker.


For Out of Ammo what if there's no open baseline hex?
Combat Deck - Out of Ammo

11) Can Infiltrators enhance BEL to move and attack again?
BEL and Infiltrators

12) Can you play Heat of Battle after Heat of Battle?
Can you take ground after playing Heat of Battle?
Does a bonus die carry over?
Road movement question and a Winter Combat card question.

13) Do Machine Guns hit a Sniper on a Star?
Machine gun (ASW) vs Snipers

14) Can you play 2 Ambushes (Overlord) or an Ambush & Ambuscade before the attacker fires?
Double Ambush

whew... lot more Winter Wars questions than I thought. More tomorrow?

[Updated on: Mon, 13 August 2012 03:27]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2083
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Winter Wars FAQ / combat card from Air Recon? Tue, 20 December 2011 11:46
jfkoski wrote on Mon, 19 December 2011 13:53

I'll try to post links to other threads.

9) If a Late War Mortar moves, does it ignore Line of Sight?
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=23788&start=0
http://i1176.photobucket.com/albums/x334/brdavis3/Untitledpicture.png

10) Can you play Out of Ammo on Ambush?
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=235099
hdescavernes wrote on Thu, 15 December 2011 17:20

In the french forum Antoine has just stated that OOA couldn't be played in response to an ambush, by the attacker.


For Out of Ammo what if there's no open baseline hex?
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=181056

11) Can Infiltrators enhance BEL to move and attack again?
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=230603

12) Can you play Heat of Battle after Heat of Battle?
Can you take ground after playing Heat of Battle?
Does a bonus die carry over?
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=208241

13) Do Machine Guns hit a Sniper on a Star?
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=23872&start=0

14) Can you play 2 Ambushes (Overlord) or an Ambush & Ambuscade before the attacker fires?
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=200708

whew... lot more Winter Wars questions than I thought. More tomorrow?


A late war mortar unit that moves need LOS to it's target.
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 170
Registered:
March 2011
Re:Winter Wars FAQ / combat card from Air Recon? Sat, 24 December 2011 11:02
13) Yes, Machine gun will hit sniper on star, because attackers dices prevails. It's in FAQ, pg. 5, question about dice conflicts.
      
    
Previous Topic:Crowdsourcing scenarios for upcoming tourney
Next Topic:The stockings are hung by the chimney with care.
Goto Forum: