Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Questions for the Official FAQ
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 15 December 2011 23:38
create Question for Out Of Ammo card not being used by Attacker against an Ambush card.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=24103&start=0
      
hdescavernes
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

User Pages
Posts: 733
Registered:
October 2003
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 15 December 2011 23:45
Q : Can OOA be played to counter an ambush?
R : NO !!!!

Q : Can OOA ba played by the defender right after an ambush that doesn't either kill off or force the attacket to retreat ?
R : ???

[Updated on: Thu, 15 December 2011 23:46]

      
Panzer9000
Member
Mayor

User Pages
Posts: 80
Registered:
September 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 16 December 2011 02:42
I couldn't find this in the FAQ (I might not have looked hard enough Laughing)

Can you counterattack your own card if the commisar rules are in effect.

Example:
I played gates of moscow. German played armour assault, Soviets placed card under commisar, Germans counter attacked their armour assault. They went 4-0 up after two turns.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2257
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 16 December 2011 03:27
Panzer9000 wrote on Thu, 15 December 2011 20:42

Can you counterattack your own card if the commisar rules are in effect.

Example:
I played gates of moscow. German played armour assault, Soviets placed card under commisar, Germans counter attacked their armour assault. They went 4-0 up after two turns.


You can only Counter-Attack your opponent's last card.

With Commissar rules (I apologize if this is obvious), here's how the sequence goes.

0. Start of game. Russia puts card under the chip.
1. Axis plays a card and takes his turn.
2. Russia plays the chip card, puts a new card under the chip, and takes his turn. (Or Russia may play a Recon-1 or Counter-Attack directly from his hand, instead of touching the chip on his turn.)
3. Axis plays a card and takes his turn.

The last card played is always your opponent's. That's the card that can be Counter-Attacked.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 23 December 2011 13:50
Check out this thread:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/740522/radar-alert-air-p ower-counter-attack

Need an answer to the Question of whether a COUNTER-ATTACK card can be used against an AIRPOWER card when Radar station rules are in effect.
      
Justinian
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 23
Registered:
December 2009
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 26 December 2011 08:37
My airplane is interdicting an infantry and my tank forces another unit to retreat next to my airplane. The database card in the FAQ would say that the unit is interdicted since the unit starts its turn next to the airplane, but the FAQ seems to say otherwise. Which is it?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 26 December 2011 16:21
The unit is not INTERDICTED unless it was adjacent to the Airplane at the time the Airplane performed it's battle action. A unit that retreats later is not MARKED with the Interdiction badges and may move and battle as normal.

This VERY answer is on P. 30 of the FAQ.

Quote:

Q. If an enemy unit is forced to retreat adjacent to my Airplane that is doing Ground Interdiction, is the new enemy unit under my Interdiction?
A. No.


The FAQ is the updated version of the rules, so it is the final say if the prior rules said something different or were not clear.

[Updated on: Mon, 26 December 2011 16:21]

      
Justinian
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 23
Registered:
December 2009
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 29 December 2011 22:55
I know. It was just that this ruling completely contradicts what is said on the data card. I knew that FAQ overides the printed card, I just wasn't sure if comments in the FAQ overide the card in FAQ. "starts its turn adjacent to Airplane" should be changed to "was next to airplane when the airplane did its air action".
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 29 December 2011 23:33
Justinian wrote on Thu, 29 December 2011 16:55

I know. It was just that this ruling completely contradicts what is said on the data card. I knew that FAQ overides the printed card, I just wasn't sure if comments in the FAQ overide the card in FAQ. "starts its turn adjacent to Airplane" should be changed to "was next to airplane when the airplane did its air action".


 http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_air_rule_5.jpg

The questions/answers in the FAQ are there to clarify the unclear statement on the card:"starts its turn adjacent to Airplane".
As we LEARN from the FAQ that a unit that was retreated in the prior battle action was not "technically interdicted".

I certainly agree that your text is much clearer, ("was next to airplane when the airplane did its air action") but the card is already printed and will probably not ever be changed... hence the FAQ.

If you are actually playing the boardgame, you use the INTERDICTION chits (little bomb craters) to actually mark these units. The interesting thing is that if an interdicted unit has to retreat, the chit goes with it, so that even if it is no longer adjacent to the airplane at the start of its turn, it still may not move on its next turn.

Again, FAQ p. 30
Quote:

Q. If my Airplane has used Ground Interdiction on a group of units and then one of my other units rolls a retreat flag against one of them, does the Interdicted unit retreat or not? If the unit retreats, is it released from the Interdiction?
A. The Interdicted unit must retreat. The Bomb Crater Marker is not removed from the unit when it retreats. The unit may not move on its turn, though it may still battle, even though it is no longer adjacent to the Interdicting plane.

[Updated on: Thu, 29 December 2011 23:40]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 31 December 2011 04:06
FAQ clarification needed for SMOKE SCREEN rules.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?rev=&reveal=:44345&a mp;mid=&&frm_id=35&th=24198&start=0&coun t=40&unread=&reply_count=&date=#msg_236038

[Updated on: Sat, 31 December 2011 04:07]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 01 January 2012 23:03
Sorry Ras... moved to Errata Forum.

Embarassed

[Updated on: Mon, 02 January 2012 18:24]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7098
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 02 January 2012 08:09
stevens wrote on Mon, 02 January 2012 02:03

CB#2 Errata

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?reveal=&rev=:236185& amp; amp;mid=&&frm_id=35&th=24212&start=0&cou nt=40&unread=&reply_count=&date=#msg_236185


Thanks for keeping this thread so updated with questions that have come up. Like I said in the FAQ Supplement, I will not be creating a Campaign Book FAQ so let's keep those questions separate and not clutter the basic FAQ thread with CB questions.

Thanks! Cool
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 01 February 2012 17:17
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=239005#msg_239005

Does Cavalry lose the extra dice advantage it gains on a CLOSE ASSAULT card in it's overrun and second attack?

It seems like it should be yes, since this limiting principle is applied to armor. P. 40 FAQ.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7098
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 01 February 2012 18:56
stevens wrote on Wed, 01 February 2012 20:17

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=239005#msg_239005

Does Cavalry lose the extra dice advantage it gains on a CLOSE ASSAULT card in it's overrun and second attack?

It seems like it should be yes, since this limiting principle is applied to armor. P. 40 FAQ.


Yep, it would be treated exactly the same way. I don't think this needs to be in the FAQ because the Overrun part of things doesn't change between Armor and Cavalry.

[Updated on: Wed, 01 February 2012 19:09]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 21 February 2012 22:39
Do Patrol Cars get to use the BCF Battle Back rules?
Quote:

Played the Raid on Barce scenario last night. Afterwards, I wondered if we got something wrong. The jeep units are only single figure. If they are attacked by close assault and survive, do they get the Stiff Upper Lip battle back die roll? I don't see any reason why not. We didn't play it that way because we forgot. (We don't have much experience with the Brits yet.)

What is the correct way to handle this?


Found on BGG.

Needs an answer here.

[Updated on: Tue, 21 February 2012 22:39]

      
GoboGobo
Member
Major

User Pages
Posts: 48
Registered:
April 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 22 February 2012 12:00
stevens wrote on Tue, 21 February 2012 22:39

Do Patrol Cars get to use the BCF Battle Back rules?
Quote:

Played the Raid on Barce scenario last night. Afterwards, I wondered if we got something wrong. The jeep units are only single figure. If they are attacked by close assault and survive, do they get the Stiff Upper Lip battle back die roll? I don't see any reason why not. We didn't play it that way because we forgot. (We don't have much experience with the Brits yet.)

What is the correct way to handle this?


Found on BGG.

Needs an answer here.


Quote:

Stiff Upper Lip:
A BCF ground unit that survives an enemy Close Assult combat without retreating and is down to a single figure may immediately battle that enemy back with 1d


I see no reason why any single figure unit would not be allowed to do Stiff Upper Lip.

[Updated on: Mon, 09 July 2012 09:42]

      
JJs Juggernaut
Senior Member
Commando Specialist - Armor

User Pages
Posts: 103
Registered:
November 2010
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 13 March 2012 01:22
There is a question raised by Darthnice on this thread http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?goto=242228#msg_242228 that should be added in the FAQ. It's in regards to whether LoS is needed for destroyers. Thanks.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 15 March 2012 21:43
Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?

In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?
      
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 447
Registered:
February 2009
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 17 March 2012 02:40
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 13:43

Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?

In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?



Waiting to see the answer on this one also..
Smile
      
bdgza
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 242
Registered:
February 2010
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 17 March 2012 10:27
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 21:43

Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?

In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?


Yes, of course. The adjacent hex rule of jungle terrain is a battle rule which the unit's special abilities overrule.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 17 March 2012 20:08
Adjacent Airplanes

Do grounded airplanes add to the aircheck value and if they do is it 1 or 2 dice? How about multiple adjacent ready to take of markers? Would each marker add?

      
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 447
Registered:
February 2009
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 17 March 2012 21:45
bdgza wrote on Sat, 17 March 2012 02:27

tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 21:43

Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?

In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?


Yes, of course. The adjacent hex rule of jungle terrain is a battle rule which the unit's special abilities overrule.



So can we take this answer as "Official" since this is the Questions for the Official FAQ.
We are curious because in the online version Snipers cannot move 2 hexes into Jungle and still battle.
      
bdgza
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 242
Registered:
February 2010
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 17 March 2012 23:56
sdnative wrote on Sat, 17 March 2012 21:45

bdgza wrote on Sat, 17 March 2012 02:27

tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 21:43

Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?

In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?


Yes, of course. The adjacent hex rule of jungle terrain is a battle rule which the unit's special abilities overrule.



So can we take this answer as "Official" since this is the Questions for the Official FAQ.
We are curious because in the online version Snipers cannot move 2 hexes into Jungle and still battle.


Perhaps report it as a bug in the Memoir '44 Online forum?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 17 March 2012 23:59
sdnative wrote on Sat, 17 March 2012 16:45

bdgza wrote on Sat, 17 March 2012 02:27

tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 21:43

Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?

In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?


Yes, of course. The adjacent hex rule of jungle terrain is a battle rule which the unit's special abilities overrule.



So can we take this answer as "Official" since this is the Questions for the Official FAQ.
We are curious because in the online version Snipers cannot move 2 hexes into Jungle and still battle.



Until the answer comes from a DOW rep, then no.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 23 March 2012 00:36
An artillery unit is ordered by the "Artillery Bombard" card. Its makes it first attack against an adjacent British unit which then makes a "Brit Battle Back" roll and it is a flag. This forces the artillery back.

Does the artillery get to make the second attack?

Or does the BB rolled flag act just like a flag result as from the play of the Ambush card?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 23 March 2012 03:29
tank commander wrote on Thu, 22 March 2012 19:36

An artillery unit is ordered by the "Artillery Bombard" card. Its makes it first attack against an adjacent British unit which then makes a "Brit Battle Back" roll and it is a flag. This forces the artillery back.

Does the artillery get to make the second attack?

Or does the BB rolled flag act just like a flag result as from the play of the Ambush card?


Sorry we didn't address this question before TC. I think it is an excellent question.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 23 March 2012 10:56
stevens wrote on Thu, 22 March 2012 22:29

tank commander wrote on Thu, 22 March 2012 19:36

An artillery unit is ordered by the "Artillery Bombard" card. Its makes it first attack against an adjacent British unit which then makes a "Brit Battle Back" roll and it is a flag. This forces the artillery back.

Does the artillery get to make the second attack?

Or does the BB rolled flag act just like a flag result as from the play of the Ambush card?


Sorry we didn't address this question before TC. I think it is an excellent question.


Thank you kind sir.

I found the original thread on this:

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=23835&prevloaded= 1&rev=&reveal=&start=0&count=40
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 23 March 2012 11:05
and might as well include this:

Q - An artillery unit is ordered by the Artillery Bombard card. It declares a close assault combat but is forced to retreat as a result of the Ambush card. Is the artillery allowed to make the second attack as per the Artillery Bombard card?

A - No. If an ambush against an artillery unit ordered to Bombard, is forced to retreat by the ambush, the artillery unit may not battle.

Richard Borg
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 23 March 2012 12:23
I knew we had discussed this before.

However, Richard did not specifically address the "Battle Back" effect that a British ground unit would have in this similar situation. My guess is that the same rules apply. If the artillery is forced to retreat on a BATTLE BACK, it would lose it's ability to continue the attack.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 24 March 2012 14:00
BEL and Road movement question.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=24888&start=0

What is the real Final Answer?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 25 March 2012 04:57
stevens wrote on Fri, 23 March 2012 07:23

I knew we had discussed this before.

However, Richard did not specifically address the "Battle Back" effect that a British ground unit would have in this similar situation. My guess is that the same rules apply. If the artillery is forced to retreat on a BATTLE BACK, it would lose it's ability to continue the attack.


Here it is:
http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=24883&start=0
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 25 March 2012 14:10
tank commander wrote on Thu, 22 March 2012 19:36

An artillery unit is ordered by the "Artillery Bombard" card. Its makes it first attack against an adjacent British unit which then makes a "Brit Battle Back" roll and it is a flag. This forces the artillery back.

Does the artillery get to make the second attack?

Or does the BB rolled flag act just like a flag result as from the play of the Ambush card?



and the final answer is......

The correct answer still is - If a Stiff Upper Lip roll against an artillery unit ordered to Bombard forces the artillery unit to retreat, the artillery unit may not battle.

Richard Borg
      
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 447
Registered:
February 2009
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 25 March 2012 16:34
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 13:43

Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?

In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?


Bump
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 28 March 2012 01:16
tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 16:43

Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?

In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?


I just an answer from DOW for this question.

My question as it was stated in my e-mail:


If a Sniper moves 2 hexes into a jungle hex, does its special terrian combat ability override the jungle battle restriction requiring a unit only being able to move 1 hex and battle?

and the official answer from DOW:

Dear John,

Thank you for your request.

Regarding Snipers and jungles:

A sniper moves like a Special Forces infantry unit, 1 or 2 hexes and battle.

Jungle Terrain rules do not allow a Special Forces infantry unit to move 2 hexes into the Jungle hex and still battle.

Therefore a sniper cannot move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and battle.

Best Regards,

Franck Lefebvre
Customer Service
Days of Wonder

[Updated on: Wed, 28 March 2012 01:17]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3045
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 28 March 2012 03:35
Dear TC,
Thanks for the post. I have played several Online expert scenarios with sniper and this is exactly how the rule is applied Online. If I move two hexes into a jungle with a sniper, the sniper CAN NOT battle.
      
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 447
Registered:
February 2009
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 28 March 2012 05:54
tank commander wrote on Tue, 27 March 2012 16:16

tank commander wrote on Thu, 15 March 2012 16:43

Can a sniper move 2 hexes into a jungle hex and still battle?

In other words does the sniper's special terrain battle ability overide the adjacent hex jungle battle rule?


I just an answer from DOW for this question.

My question as it was stated in my e-mail:


If a Sniper moves 2 hexes into a jungle hex, does its special terrian combat ability override the jungle battle restriction requiring a unit only being able to move 1 hex and battle?

and the official answer from DOW:

Dear John,

Thank you for your request.

Regarding Snipers and jungles:

A sniper moves like a Special Forces infantry unit, 1 or 2 hexes and battle.

Jungle Terrain rules do not allow a Special Forces infantry unit to move 2 hexes into the Jungle hex and still battle.

Therefore a sniper cannot move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and battle.

Best Regards,

Franck Lefebvre
Customer Service
Days of Wonder



There we have it the Official answer!!
Thanks TC
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 28 March 2012 06:54
In this case the French Resistance should not be able to use Infantry Assault to move 2 into jungles and battle. Currently it's allowed in the online game.

French Resistance, Ski Troops and Snipers have almost the same move onto terrain and battle rule.

[Updated on: Mon, 02 April 2012 17:41]

      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 28 March 2012 10:19
I find the DoW snswer inconsistent.

A sniper can move 2 into a town or forest and battle - ordinary infantry cannot. So why shouldn't the sniper be able to move 2 into jungle and battle?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 28 March 2012 11:41
Phread wrote on Wed, 28 March 2012 04:19

I find the DoW snswer inconsistent.

A sniper can move 2 into a town or forest and battle - ordinary infantry cannot. So why shouldn't the sniper be able to move 2 into jungle and battle?



Remember, only certain units may move into terrain where battle is normally not allowed on the turn of entry and battle on the same turn.

All units may move 1 hex into jungle and battle.

So, it seems to stem from the fact that NO unit can move 2 hexes (or in the case of BEL - 3 hexes) and battle from a jungle hex.

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2108
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 28 March 2012 11:42
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 28 March 2012 00:54

In this case the French Resistance should not be able to use Infantry Assault to move 2 into jungles and battle. Currently it's allowed in the online game.


I would suspect that is a bug which should be reported.
      
Pages (9): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Let's Play OVERLORD -- Saturday, May 4, on Vassal!
Next Topic:Countryside "City Ruins" Tile
Goto Forum: