Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Questions for the Official FAQ
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 20 August 2012 00:43
A

Choose between the two Command cards and then draw a new Combat card.

Sorry I forgot to answer your second question.. Embarassed
Good thing is Jesse stepped in to take care of it. Thanks Jesse!

[Updated on: Mon, 20 August 2012 12:00]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 20 August 2012 06:52
Oliver Upshaw wrote on Mon, 20 August 2012 01:18

I have two questions on the drawing of Combat Cards.

1. When you play a Recon Command Card do you:

A. Draw two new Command Cards choose one and draw a new Combat Card?
B. Or do you draw one Command Card and one Combat Card and keep both?

I am assuming that A is the correct answer.


Your assumption is correct. The Combat card action is on top of anything else that was going on.

Quote:

2. When using the Command Cars from the new Equipment Pack can you use a Recon Command Card to draw from the Combat Cards discard pile or do you have to draw only from the Command Card Discard Pile? I am assuming that you can only draw from the Command Card Discard Pile.



Again your assumption is correct. The key is that the rules say "Command Card" so Combat Cards are not available.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 20 August 2012 18:30
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 14 August 2012 01:12

The next few posts are going to have the same introduction:
...
Q. If you play Infiltrators (Winter Combat Deck) or Behind Enemy Lines, then use the Heat of Battle to get an extra attack, do the additional die from Infiltrators/BEL carry over?
A. Yes. Heat of Battle allows the unit, after a successful Close Assault, to Take Ground and battle again.


Yesterday I played Close Assault followed by Heat of Battle. I assumed that I would not get an extra die in the second attack, since Armor doesn't in an Armor Overrun after Close Assault. It seems obvious, but you may want to add this exception too.

Also, when I play Overlord the question keeps cropping up over order of movement, and order of battle. The rules jump straight from ordering units by cards and dice to
Overlord Rules

Once all the actions (movements and battles)
of the Command cards given are completed,...


I think it says somewhere that Barrage and Air Power are played first and battles resolved before Field Generals order any units.

Once FGs get their cards or dice roll and order units, I think you'd be able to move all units from all sections in any order, as if it was the normal game and only one card was played.

Likewise, after movement is done, you can attack with units in any order, provided you finish overruns, bombards, heat of battle, etc. before moving on to the next unit.

Unfortunately, I can't see these assumptions anywhere, so clarity in the FAQ would be appreciated.

[Updated on: Mon, 20 August 2012 19:06]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 25 August 2012 16:06
For the Equipment Expanison pack scenario # 16 - Twin Battles of Warnack and Bigonville.

One of the Exit Markers is on a German baseline frozen river hex. The scenario notes indicate that all the Exit hexes (5) are on German baseline road hexes but there are only 4 such hexes. There is the road on the German far left which ends on the side board 2 hexes short of the Axis baseline.

Should that river exit marker be on the German far left road hex instead?
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2164
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 25 August 2012 16:14
For the Command Cars.

As a Recon acts differently in an OL scenario than in a regular scenario(Regular - draw 2 cards and keep one vs Ol - draw 3 cards instead of the normal 2), is the option of picking a card from the discard pile when a CC is ordered by a Recon card in OL still an option?

[Updated on: Sun, 26 August 2012 15:50]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 26 August 2012 12:29
tank commander wrote on Sat, 25 August 2012 18:14

For the Command Cars.

As a Recon acts differently in an OL scenario than in a regular scenario(Regular - draw 2 cards and keep one vs Ol - draw 3 cards instead of the normal 2), is the option of picking a card from the dicard pile when a CC is ordered by a Recon card in OL still an option?


Unless it says differently, the answer would be yes.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 26 August 2012 15:44
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 26 August 2012 06:29

tank commander wrote on Sat, 25 August 2012 18:14

For the Command Cars.

As a Recon acts differently in an OL scenario than in a regular scenario(Regular - draw 2 cards and keep one vs Ol - draw 3 cards instead of the normal 2), is the option of picking a card from the dicard pile when a CC is ordered by a Recon card in OL still an option?


Unless it says differently, the answer would be yes.

And I would assume, as with the Germans on the first two turns of Pegasus Bridge (FAQ, p. 44), that the CinC does the special choice first, and then draws his other two cards.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2278
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 26 August 2012 16:00
JFKoski wrote on Mon, 20 August 2012 12:30

rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 14 August 2012 01:12

The next few posts are going to have the same introduction:
...
Q. If you play Infiltrators (Winter Combat Deck) or Behind Enemy Lines, then use the Heat of Battle to get an extra attack, do the additional die from Infiltrators/BEL carry over?
A. Yes. Heat of Battle allows the unit, after a successful Close Assault, to Take Ground and battle again.


Yesterday I played Close Assault followed by Heat of Battle. I assumed that I would not get an extra die in the second attack, since Armor doesn't in an Armor Overrun after Close Assault. It seems obvious, but you may want to add this exception too.

Richard has said that the Close Assault card represents a prepared attack, and so when the unit comes out of its position, it doesn't get the extra die. I would tend to assume that if the infantry gets an extra die from a Command card on his first attack (TFH, BEL, etc), he would get it on the HOB attack, too. However, I would assume that a Street Fight extra die wouldn't apply to HOB.
Quote:


Also, when I play Overlord the question keeps cropping up over order of movement, and order of battle. The rules jump straight from ordering units by cards and dice to
Overlord Rules

Once all the actions (movements and battles)
of the Command cards given are completed,...

I think it says somewhere that Barrage and Air Power are played first and battles resolved before Field Generals order any units.

FAQ says that on page 42.
Quote:

Once FGs get their cards or dice roll and order units, I think you'd be able to move all units from all sections in any order, as if it was the normal game and only one card was played.

Likewise, after movement is done, you can attack with units in any order, provided you finish overruns, bombards, heat of battle, etc. before moving on to the next unit.

There is nothing in the rules that requires one FG to finish all his moves or battles before the next one starts. We've found that it's usually simplest if one finishes before the next starts, but there are times when it's definitely valuable intermix them.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 27 August 2012 07:38
Jesse,

I really don't know if somebody (or even you) have come up with this idea.

What do you think if you number the questions included in the FAQ so that we could refer to them in an easy way?

Just like the Summary Cards.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 27 August 2012 10:08
Almilcar wrote on Mon, 27 August 2012 09:38

Jesse,

I really don't know if somebody (or even you) have come up with this idea.

What do you think if you number the questions included in the FAQ so that we could refer to them in an easy way?

Just like the Summary Cards.


That's an interesting idea, but I'm not sure I'll use it because when I update the FAQ it's already a huge job to change the Table of Contents. If I numbered the questions, I would have to go back and change every number after a new question. Confused
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 27 August 2012 10:20
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 27 August 2012 10:08

Almilcar wrote on Mon, 27 August 2012 09:38

Jesse,

I really don't know if somebody (or even you) have come up with this idea.

What do you think if you number the questions included in the FAQ so that we could refer to them in an easy way?

Just like the Summary Cards.


That's an interesting idea, but I'm not sure I'll use it because when I update the FAQ it's already a huge job to change the Table of Contents. If I numbered the questions, I would have to go back and change every number after a new question. Confused


You can use an alternative way of numbering. For instance, you could set a block for each section of questions, so that you'll always have a pool available. A quick roster:

Quote:


General Questions: 1-49
Terrain: 50 - 149
Troops: 150 - 199
SWA: 200 - 219
Action: 220 - 249
Command Cards: 250 - 279
Combat Cards: 280 - 300
....
and so on and so forth


You'll only have to indicate which ones are "spare" for future use. That's how we do work with self-made publications, so that updating may not be an overwhelming task anymore.

Updating the document it will be as simple as taking the next available spare number in the needed block. Additionally, it's a neat way of tracking versions:

- releasing an update will consist of indicating which Q&A were added, amended or even removed in each section; our experience says that people rapidly get used with this method once implemented.

Regards

[Updated on: Mon, 27 August 2012 10:29]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 27 August 2012 11:21
Setting a block of numbers for each section is an idea I hadn't thought of, but as I've discovered in the FAQ there are an unexpected number of questions that come up on a topic and no way to predict how many will be added in the life of the document.

To ensure that I wouldn't have to rework the number system, my blocks would have to be huge and there would be lots of spare numbers...so I'm not sure. Rolling Eyes
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 27 August 2012 13:10
Jesse,

I'll show you the translated document of your FAQ as soon as I finish the Section II - Terrain.

Regards
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 27 August 2012 21:39
I don't think numbered questions are that necessary, but if you're going to the trouble, you could set it decimal-style like the old Avalon Hill.

Section.Card.Question

Some questions/answers would have two numbers. For instance the question of Infantry Assault on Roads would be:
II.42.3 and
VIII.11.3.

The 11 is the card # for I.A. in the Compendium. Roman numerals match your section #s (II=Terrain, VIII=Command Cards). I don't know if you'd want to change them to match the Compendium sections: Terrain Cards=1, Command Cards=7, etc.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 28 August 2012 05:37
I'll be honest, the numbering systems sound like a lot of work in a project that is already a lot of work! Very Happy

[Updated on: Tue, 28 August 2012 06:05]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 10:24
rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 28 August 2012 05:37

I'll be honest, the numbering systems sound like a lot of work in a project that is already a lot of work! Very Happy


Jesse, it was a simple suggestion. Since you are the creator/maintainer, you are the only one to choose how it will be made.

As a side note, I will be adding here some inconsistencies that I've run into while translating:

FAQ Sup - Page 3 - "Winter Wars"

Q. Does an On the Move card allow my chosen unit to battle, recover figures, strafe, etc.?
A. No, On the Move only allows a unit to move; the unit can do no other actions.


I would add "except for a re-supply action". Additionally, I really think this Q&A fits much better under the "Breakthrough Format" questions.

[Updated on: Wed, 29 August 2012 10:36]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 10:27
FAQ - v1.3 - Pag 4

Q. The Breakthrough Kit suggests that I use two decks of Command cards for breakthrough battles. Does that mean I should
use two sets of Air Sortie cards if they are available?
A. Yes. The two sets of Air Sortie cards (4 cards) and the two Air Power cards will result in more airplanes during scenarios.


According to FAQ Sup and this:

Upcoming update to the FAQ

Q. If we're playing with two Command Decks, how many Air Sortie cards should be used in games with Air Rules (or Air Rules as optional)?
A. The number of Air Sortie cards we use in any scenario is a max of two. This is a good rule of thumb.



This Q&A should be removed.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 10:34
FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 10 "Towns&Villages"

Q. Can a Flame Thrower Tank unit ever attack from one town hex into another town hex?
A. Yes, but only in the following special situation: Flame Thrower Tanks battle with 3 dice, +1 die when ordered by Their Finest Hour, Armor Assault and Close Combat = 4 dice. Battle out of town -2 dice, target enemy unit in adjacent town hex -1 die (Flame Thrower Tanks terrain battle dice reduction limited to 1 max in Close Assault) so in the end, the attack would be with 1 Battle die.


I think the same exception should be added for the "Tank Destroyer" since when it does not move, it ignores all terrain battle restrictions.

[Updated on: Wed, 29 August 2012 10:37]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 11:06
FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 13 - Seawalls

Q. May the Axis player use the sea wall as a defensive position?
A. No. The sea wall only protects the Allies.


Is this a general rule for all the scenarios including Seawalls?

Since in the summary card it's stated that the unit behind the sea wall may ignore the 1st flag (regardless the side), it should be confirmed whether it's a special rule specifically included in the scenario of the previous Q&A or not.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 11:06
Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 12:24

rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 28 August 2012 05:37

I'll be honest, the numbering systems sound like a lot of work in a project that is already a lot of work! Very Happy


Jesse, it was a simple suggestion. Since you are the creator/maintainer, you are the only one to choose how it will be made.


No problem. As I'm working on the Update I'll look at this suggestion and see if I can figure out a way to use it without adding a ton of work. Thanks for the suggestion. Smile

Quote:

As a side note, I will be adding here some inconsistencies that I've run into while translating:

FAQ Sup - Page 3 - "Winter Wars"

Q. Does an On the Move card allow my chosen unit to battle, recover figures, strafe, etc.?
A. No, On the Move only allows a unit to move; the unit can do no other actions.


I would add "except for a re-supply action".


I believe this limitation includes re-supply actions. You cannot move a Truck and re-supply another unit, so the answer is correct as stated.

Quote:

Additionally, I really think this Q&A fits much better under the "Breakthrough Format" questions.


That could be...I'll look into it for the update. Thanks for the suggestion! Very Happy
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 11:08
Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 12:27

FAQ - v1.3 - Pag 4

Q. The Breakthrough Kit suggests that I use two decks of Command cards for breakthrough battles. Does that mean I should
use two sets of Air Sortie cards if they are available?
A. Yes. The two sets of Air Sortie cards (4 cards) and the two Air Power cards will result in more airplanes during scenarios.


According to FAQ Sup and this:

Upcoming update to the FAQ

Q. If we're playing with two Command Decks, how many Air Sortie cards should be used in games with Air Rules (or Air Rules as optional)?
A. The number of Air Sortie cards we use in any scenario is a max of two. This is a good rule of thumb.



This Q&A should be removed.


You'll find that I've already corrected this mistake when you look at all of the large font updates I posted on this thread. Thanks for making sure it gets fixed! Cool
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 11:11
Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 12:34

FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 10 "Towns&Villages"

Q. Can a Flame Thrower Tank unit ever attack from one town hex into another town hex?
A. Yes, but only in the following special situation: Flame Thrower Tanks battle with 3 dice, +1 die when ordered by Their Finest Hour, Armor Assault and Close Combat = 4 dice. Battle out of town -2 dice, target enemy unit in adjacent town hex -1 die (Flame Thrower Tanks terrain battle dice reduction limited to 1 max in Close Assault) so in the end, the attack would be with 1 Battle die.


I think the same exception should be added for the "Tank Destroyer" since when it does not move, it ignores all terrain battle restrictions.


Indeed you are correct. I'll add this to the list of things that need to be changed for the update. The reason it's not in the FAQ already is because it's a newer rule. Razz
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 11:14
Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 13:06

FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 13 - Seawalls

Q. May the Axis player use the sea wall as a defensive position?
A. No. The sea wall only protects the Allies.


Is this a general rule for all the scenarios including Seawalls?

Since in the summary card it's stated that the unit behind the sea wall may ignore the 1st flag (regardless the side), it should be confirmed whether it's a special rule specifically included in the scenario of the previous Q&A or not.


This only shows up in one official secnario (First Assault Wave - Omaha Beach) so you could say that it applies to all scenarios including sea walls! The whole point of a sea wall is that people can hide behind it from one direction...so it makes sense that it wouldn't offer any protection from the other side. Cool

You'll also notice that the card says "behind" the sea wall, which might be a clue about why the answer is the one we see in the FAQ. Smile

[Updated on: Wed, 29 August 2012 11:17]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 11:18
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 11:06

Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 12:24

rasmussen81 wrote on Tue, 28 August 2012 05:37

I'll be honest, the numbering systems sound like a lot of work in a project that is already a lot of work! Very Happy


Jesse, it was a simple suggestion. Since you are the creator/maintainer, you are the only one to choose how it will be made.


No problem. As I'm working on the Update I'll look at this suggestion and see if I can figure out a way to use it without adding a ton of work. Thanks for the suggestion. Smile

Quote:

As a side note, I will be adding here some inconsistencies that I've run into while translating:

FAQ Sup - Page 3 - "Winter Wars"

Q. Does an On the Move card allow my chosen unit to battle, recover figures, strafe, etc.?
A. No, On the Move only allows a unit to move; the unit can do no other actions.


I would add "except for a re-supply action".


I believe this limitation includes re-supply actions. You cannot move a Truck and re-supply another unit, so the answer is correct as stated.

Quote:

Additionally, I really think this Q&A fits much better under the "Breakthrough Format" questions.


That could be...I'll look into it for the update. Thanks for the suggestion! Very Happy


Jesse, I think I'm not wording properly. We had a thread a couple of week ago and you answered this:

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 15:13

Almilcar wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 16:04

Stevens,

thanks for the reply.

Yea, we do understand the Supply Truck need to be ordered, otherwise there is no Combate Phase for him, thus it can't carry on with the supply action.

The question was regarding the weakened unit and the "On the Move" units.

Thanks Again.


In that case, yes...you can use an On the Move order to get the weak unit next to the Supply Truck and heal it. Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 12:39
Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 13:18


Jesse, I think I'm not wording properly. We had a thread a couple of week ago and you answered this:

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 15:13

Almilcar wrote on Wed, 08 August 2012 16:04

Stevens,

thanks for the reply.

Yea, we do understand the Supply Truck need to be ordered, otherwise there is no Combate Phase for him, thus it can't carry on with the supply action.

The question was regarding the weakened unit and the "On the Move" units.

Thanks Again.


In that case, yes...you can use an On the Move order to get the weak unit next to the Supply Truck and heal it. Smile



Ah, I think I see your confusion. Let me try to explain:

On The Move orders can only be used to MOVE units. So a Supply Truck could be moved with one of those cards, but is not allowed to heal a unit.

Let's say I have an Infantry Unit that is down to 1 figure...I am allowed to use the On The Move order to MOVE my weak unit closer to my Supply Truck (notice that I'm not doing anything other than moving the unit). I can then use a regular order from the card to Move the Supply Truck next to my Infantry figure and heal him.

So, in this way I would be able to use the On The Move order to help my weak unit get healed, but I can never use the On The Move order to actually heal the unit...because like you said the Supply Truck would have no Combat Phase for that turn.

I hope that makes more sense. Cool

[Updated on: Wed, 29 August 2012 12:43]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 29 August 2012 12:48
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 12:39


Ah, I think I see your confusion. Let me try to explain:

On The Move orders can only be used to MOVE units. So a Supply Truck could be moved with one of those cards, but is not allowed to heal a unit.

Let's say I have an Infantry Unit that is down to 1 figure...I am allowed to use the On The Move order to MOVE my weak unit closer to my Supply Truck (notice that I'm not doing anything other than moving the unit). I can then use a regular order from the card to Move the Supply Truck next to my Infantry figure and heal him.

So, in this way I would be able to use the On The Move order to help my weak unit get healed, but I can never use the On The Move order to actually heal the unit...because like you said the Supply Truck would have no Combat Phase for that turn.

I hope that makes more sense. Cool


You caught it! Razz
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1407
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 31 August 2012 15:55
[quote title=Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 03:34]
FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 10 "Towns&Villages"

Q. Can a Flame Thrower Tank unit ever attack from one town hex into another town hex?
A. Yes, but only in the following special situation: Flame Thrower Tanks battle with 3 dice, +1 die when ordered by Their Finest Hour, Armor Assault and Close Combat = 4 dice. Battle out of town -2 dice, target enemy unit in adjacent town hex -1 die (Flame Thrower Tanks terrain battle dice reduction limited to 1 max in Close Assault) so in the end, the attack would be with 1 Battle die.


If the Flame Thrower Tank is limited to 1 battle die reduction, wouldn't it attack an adjacent town hex at 2? 3-1=2!
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 31 August 2012 17:13
[quote title=50th wrote on Fri, 31 August 2012 15:55]
Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 03:34

FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 10 "Towns&Villages"

Q. Can a Flame Thrower Tank unit ever attack from one town hex into another town hex?
A. Yes, but only in the following special situation: Flame Thrower Tanks battle with 3 dice, +1 die when ordered by Their Finest Hour, Armor Assault and Close Combat = 4 dice. Battle out of town -2 dice, target enemy unit in adjacent town hex -1 die (Flame Thrower Tanks terrain battle dice reduction limited to 1 max in Close Assault) so in the end, the attack would be with 1 Battle die.


If the Flame Thrower Tank is limited to 1 battle die reduction, wouldn't it attack an adjacent town hex at 2? 3-1=2!


Well, if you read the question is from town to town. That means the attacking Flame Thrower battles out at -2 (3-2 = 1) and -1 for the protection of the town for the target unit, so it will end up in: Attacking (3 - 2) - 1 (terrain protection) = 0
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 31 August 2012 17:44
[quote title=Almilcar wrote on Fri, 31 August 2012 11:13]
50th wrote on Fri, 31 August 2012 15:55

Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 03:34

FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 10 "Towns&Villages"

Q. Can a Flame Thrower Tank unit ever attack from one town hex into another town hex?
A. Yes, but only in the following special situation: Flame Thrower Tanks battle with 3 dice, +1 die when ordered by Their Finest Hour, Armor Assault and Close Combat = 4 dice. Battle out of town -2 dice, target enemy unit in adjacent town hex -1 die (Flame Thrower Tanks terrain battle dice reduction limited to 1 max in Close Assault) so in the end, the attack would be with 1 Battle die.


If the Flame Thrower Tank is limited to 1 battle die reduction, wouldn't it attack an adjacent town hex at 2? 3-1=2!


Well, if you read the question is from town to town. That means the attacking Flame Thrower battles out at -2 (3-2 = 1) and -1 for the protection of the town for the target unit, so it will end up in: Attacking (3 - 2) - 1 (terrain protection) = 0



CORRECT!

Which is why it must have an EXTRA dice to battle at all and hence the need for a Close Assault, TFH or Armor Assault card.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 31 August 2012 21:53
Here are what I think are the last few questions or clarifications from Richard Borg for the next FAQ update:

(RB) Comment - Please update the FAQ to read:
Q. Can an Early War Special Weapon Asset (SWA) unit be ordered with Behind Enemy Lines to move up to three hexes and still attack?
A. No. If Early War SWA units move in any way, they may not battle. This limitation includes when they are ordered by the Behind Enemy Lines card or Infantry Assault card.

(RB) Comment - please update the FAQ to read:
Q. If a unit is moving on a road and the road crosses a railroad, does the road extra hex movement benefit end?
A. No. Note: An Armor or Artillery unit does not have to stop its movement when moving onto a road crossing a railroad hex and they still get the +1 movement bonus.


The second question and answer is an update from the earlier clarification and further answers the questions you guys brought up.

Again, a big thank you to Richard for his patience with all of our questions and for taking the time to answer all of them. Not every game designer would be this involved with their game! Very Happy
      
Phread
Senior Member
Stiff Upper Lip

User Pages
Posts: 1778
Registered:
December 2008
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 00:40
rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 07:53

Here are what I think are the last few questions or clarifications from Richard Borg for the next FAQ update:

(RB) Comment - Please update the FAQ to read:
Q. Can an Early War Special Weapon Asset (SWA) unit be ordered with Behind Enemy Lines to move up to three hexes and still attack?
A. No. If Early War SWA units move in any way, they may not battle. This limitation includes when they are ordered by the Behind Enemy Lines card or Infantry Assault card.




Does this mean that M44 online is incorrect as it allows an EW SWA to move and. battle when ordered by a BEL.

[Updated on: Sat, 01 September 2012 05:12]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 1173
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 01:04
Phread wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 00:40

rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 07:53

Here are what I think are the last few questions or clarifications from Richard Borg for the next FAQ update:

[size=3](RB) Comment - Please update the FAQ to read:
Q. Can an Early War Special Weapon Asset (SWA) unit be ordered with Behind Enemy Lines to move up to three hexes and still attack?
A. No. If Early War SWA units move in any way, they may not battle. This limitation includes when they are ordered by the Behind Enemy Lines card or Infantry Assault card.



Does this mean that M44 online is incorrect as it allows an EW SWA to move and. battle when ordered by a BEL.


Aparently it does, and someone should make a bug report.
Can the next player who does this in the online game do so?
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 01:56
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 05:14

Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 13:06

FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 13 - Seawalls

Q. May the Axis player use the sea wall as a defensive position?
A. No. The sea wall only protects the Allies.


Is this a general rule for all the scenarios including Seawalls?

Since in the summary card it's stated that the unit behind the sea wall may ignore the 1st flag (regardless the side), it should be confirmed whether it's a special rule specifically included in the scenario of the previous Q&A or not.


This only shows up in one official secnario (First Assault Wave - Omaha Beach) so you could say that it applies to all scenarios including sea walls! The whole point of a sea wall is that people can hide behind it from one direction...so it makes sense that it wouldn't offer any protection from the other side.

You'll also notice that the card says "behind" the sea wall, which might be a clue about why the answer is the one we see in the FAQ. Smile


I played Disaster at Dieppe, an official scenario, and it has a seawall. I assumed it only applied to Allies (invaders).

Perhaps modifying the reference cards could be another thread.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 06:16
Quit2 wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 03:04

Phread wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 00:40

rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 07:53

Here are what I think are the last few questions or clarifications from Richard Borg for the next FAQ update:

[size=3](RB) Comment - Please update the FAQ to read:
Q. Can an Early War Special Weapon Asset (SWA) unit be ordered with Behind Enemy Lines to move up to three hexes and still attack?
A. No. If Early War SWA units move in any way, they may not battle. This limitation includes when they are ordered by the Behind Enemy Lines card or Infantry Assault card.



Does this mean that M44 online is incorrect as it allows an EW SWA to move and. battle when ordered by a BEL.


Aparently it does, and someone should make a bug report.
Can the next player who does this in the online game do so?


Well, technically yes it would mean the Online game is playing wrong...but don't jump the gun! Rolling Eyes

Up until last week the online game was playing according to the rules in this area and none of you even knew the rule was different until yesterday. You're welcome to submit the bug report, but it feels strange to me to tell the tech guys that their program is now playing the rule wrong...when the rule was just changed. Smile
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7134
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 06:25
JFKoski wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 03:56

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 05:14

Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 13:06

FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 13 - Seawalls

Q. May the Axis player use the sea wall as a defensive position?
A. No. The sea wall only protects the Allies.


Is this a general rule for all the scenarios including Seawalls?

Since in the summary card it's stated that the unit behind the sea wall may ignore the 1st flag (regardless the side), it should be confirmed whether it's a special rule specifically included in the scenario of the previous Q&A or not.


This only shows up in one official secnario (First Assault Wave - Omaha Beach) so you could say that it applies to all scenarios including sea walls! The whole point of a sea wall is that people can hide behind it from one direction...so it makes sense that it wouldn't offer any protection from the other side.

You'll also notice that the card says "behind" the sea wall, which might be a clue about why the answer is the one we see in the FAQ. Smile


I played Disaster at Dieppe, an official scenario, and it has a seawall. I assumed it only applied to Allies (invaders).

Perhaps modifying the reference cards could be another thread.


You're welcome to start another thread about modifying reference cards, but in this case I don't actually thing it's wrong...though it's not as clear as it could be. I can see the intent in the wording, and it is made clear with the FAQ.

I had not remembered that Disaster at Diepp also has a Sea Wall, my mistake. So to answer your question from before, yes; I think the rule would apply to all scenarios with a Sea Wall.
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1407
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 12:52
[quote title=Almilcar wrote on Fri, 31 August 2012 10:13]
50th wrote on Fri, 31 August 2012 15:55

Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 03:34

FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 10 "Towns&Villages"

Q. Can a Flame Thrower Tank unit ever attack from one town hex into another town hex?
A. Yes, but only in the following special situation: Flame Thrower Tanks battle with 3 dice, +1 die when ordered by Their Finest Hour, Armor Assault and Close Combat = 4 dice. Battle out of town -2 dice, target enemy unit in adjacent town hex -1 die (Flame Thrower Tanks terrain battle dice reduction limited to 1 max in Close Assault) so in the end, the attack would be with 1 Battle die.


If the Flame Thrower Tank is limited to 1 battle die reduction, wouldn't it attack an adjacent town hex at 2? 3-1=2!


Well, if you read the question is from town to town. That means the attacking Flame Thrower battles out at -2 (3-2 = 1) and -1 for the protection of the town for the target unit, so it will end up in: Attacking (3 - 2) - 1 (terrain protection) = 0



But this is a flame tank which is limited to a die reduction of 1 in close assault (PT rules page 11, Troops card #13)! Thus 3-1=2!
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 895
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 13:26
50th wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 12:52


But this is a flame tank which is limited to a die reduction of 1 in close assault (PT rules page 11, Troops card #13)! Thus 3-1=2!


I really don't get your question.

Since it's an ARMOR it battles out at -2 when on a town hex, regardless the dice reduction for terrain protection in close assault.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 13:31
[quote title=50th wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 06:52]
Almilcar wrote on Fri, 31 August 2012 10:13

50th wrote on Fri, 31 August 2012 15:55

Almilcar wrote on Wed, 29 August 2012 03:34

FAQ - v 1.3 - Page 10 "Towns&Villages"

Q. Can a Flame Thrower Tank unit ever attack from one town hex into another town hex?
A. Yes, but only in the following special situation: Flame Thrower Tanks battle with 3 dice, +1 die when ordered by Their Finest Hour, Armor Assault and Close Combat = 4 dice. Battle out of town -2 dice, target enemy unit in adjacent town hex -1 die (Flame Thrower Tanks terrain battle dice reduction limited to 1 max in Close Assault) so in the end, the attack would be with 1 Battle die.


If the Flame Thrower Tank is limited to 1 battle die reduction, wouldn't it attack an adjacent town hex at 2? 3-1=2!


Well, if you read the question is from town to town. That means the attacking Flame Thrower battles out at -2 (3-2 = 1) and -1 for the protection of the town for the target unit, so it will end up in: Attacking (3 - 2) - 1 (terrain protection) = 0



But this is a flame tank which is limited to a die reduction of 1 in close assault (PT rules page 11, Troops card #13)! Thus 3-1=2!


Yes, I see that you are thinking about the tanks attack capability NOT being limited by the terrain it is IN. The reality is however that it is. So although it fires two dice, if it fires out of a town it loses two dice and fires at ZERO.
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1407
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 13:58
I see what you are saying, but where does it say that the -2 for battling out isn't included in the maximum die reduction of 1?

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3070
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 14:07
50th wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 07:58

I see what you are saying, but where does it say that the -2 for battling out isn't included in the maximum die reduction of 1?




In the FAQ when the question was answered.

The answer in the FAQ itself infers that the -2 penalty on Armor is still enforced. Otherwise, the answer would be different. The only Armor that ignores the terrain that it is firing FROM is the Tank Destroyer. Even this condition is stated clearly in the rules and requires that the Tank Destroyer not move. So you will have a difficult argument saying that "just because it doesn't explicitly say it. it is implied" in the case of Flamethrower tanks.

Nice try though!


      
Pages (9): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:Let's Play OVERLORD -- Saturday, May 4, on Vassal!
Next Topic:Countryside "City Ruins" Tile
Goto Forum: