Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Cargo Noir - English » Sequence of Events Question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Sequence of Events Question Wed, 23 May 2012 05:44
I've really been enjoying Cargo Noir lately even though I haven't been very successful yet! Embarassed Rolling Eyes While we were playing, our group ran into a question that I didn't know the answer to, and after some searching I still haven't found out how this works:

Player A bid on New York with 2 Coins and Rio with 1 Coin during his turn. Player A has a Syndicate card.

During the rest of the round, Player B outbids New York with 4 Coins and Rio with 5 Coins. I love this game! Smile When it gets back to Player A, he doesn't have the coins in his safe to outbid either port...and here comes the question about sequence:

Can Player A -

1) Abandon Rio and collect his 2 Coins for the Syndicate. Then immediately use these two new Coins, along with the 1 Coin from Rio to outbid the player on New York. He would now have a stack of 2 original Coins + 2 Syndicate Coins + 1 Rio Coin for 5 Coins.

2) Abandon Rio and collect his 2 Coins for the Syndicate, but since Player A doesn't have enough Coins to stay in the bid for New York at this phase, he also has to abandon New York. Then wait until he sends out the new round of ships and place them on other ports since he can't go back to New York or Rio.

The question comes down to how important the Sequence of events is.

Any help would be very much appreciated! Very Happy
      
TheMarshalUK
Senior Member
Second Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 185
Registered:
March 2009
Re:Sequence of Events Question Wed, 23 May 2012 11:06
Hi Jesse
Unless im misreading your question i think that the resolving ships actions rule of page 4 of the rule book covers your question, as the sequence of events can run pretty much as you want them too.

I. Resolving
Ships' Actions
The 2nd turn and all subsequent turns start with a resolution of the actions of the Ships that were sent out in Phase 3 (see p. 7) of the prior turn. All actions are resolved in the order of the player's choice and each action takes effect immediately upon being resolved, so coins gained from one action can immediately be used for another, etc...
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7127
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Sequence of Events Question Wed, 23 May 2012 11:14
Perfect!! That's exactly what I was looking for and it does indeed answer the question. I must have missed that part of the directions when I was looking for clarification.

Thanks!! Cool
      
    
Previous Topic:Any chance an iOS version of CN is coming?
Next Topic:Storing the cargo tiles
Goto Forum: