Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Ticket to Ride Europe rules
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
The Lion
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
July 2012
Ticket to Ride Europe rules Sun, 01 July 2012 16:59
I would like to ask you about the rules of the Ticket to Ride Europe. The rules say:
1) When attempting to claim a Tunnel route a player first lays down the number of cards required by the length of the route. Then the three top cards from the train draw pile are turned face-up. For each card revealed whose color matches the color of the cards played to claim the Tunnel, an additional card of the same color (or a Locomotive) must now be played from his hand. Only then can the player successfully claim the Tunnel route. My question is : if of those three cards revealed there is none that matches the color of the cards played to claim the Tunnel what happen? Can the player claim the route or he should draw another 3 cards from the Train draw pile until one or more cards matches the color of the cards played?
2)I do not understand the use of building a train station. The rules say: If a player uses the same Station to help connect cities on several different Tickets he must use the same route into the city with the station for all of those tickets. Remember that each station played allows its owner to use one (and only one) route belonging to another player into that city for the purpose of completing a Destination ticket. I do not understand WHY should we use a station since we can claim a route without using a station? Since I can complete a destination ticket without the use of a station what is the point of building a station? The rules related to stations are not clear at all.
Could you please help me with that?
      
enen
Member

User Pages
Posts: 36
Registered:
May 2011
Re:Ticket to Ride Europe rules Sun, 01 July 2012 18:00
1) if none of the revealed cards matches the color of the cards played to claim the Tunnel, then you should be very happy, as you will build tunnel without discarding any more of your cards.

2)
Quote:

I do not understand WHY should we use a station since we can claim a route without using a station?


correct, you probably shouldn't use station while you can claim route by building trains. however, if that line is already occupied by your opponent, you CAN build the station.
f.e. you want to claim route Berlin-Warsawa, however your opponent has already built his trains on purple route.
you can either: a) build your trains on yellow route, b) claim Berlin-Danzing, and Danzig-Warsawa routes (ar any other different path), or c) build a station on either Berlin or Warsawa.
keep in mind, that using a station will deduct 4 points from your score in the end of the game. also, Station will "work" only if this route has been claimed by your opponent (or will be claimed by the end of the game -- so you can build station in the city without any trains going to/from him, however I believe it's not wise decision to do so)
note, that "borrowed" trains do not count towards longest path bonus.
      
Mr Bean
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 792
Registered:
May 2006
Re:Ticket to Ride Europe rules Sun, 01 July 2012 18:28
enen wrote on Sun, 01 July 2012 18:00

1) if none of the revealed cards matches the color of the cards played to claim the Tunnel, then you should be very happy, as you will build tunnel without discarding any more of your cards.

2)
Quote:

I do not understand WHY should we use a station since we can claim a route without using a station?


correct, you probably shouldn't use station while you can claim route by building trains. however, if that line is already occupied by your opponent, you CAN build the station.
f.e. you want to claim route Berlin-Warsawa, however your opponent has already built his trains on purple route.
you can either: a) build your trains on yellow route, b) claim Berlin-Danzing, and Danzig-Warsawa routes (ar any other different path), or c) build a station on either Berlin or Warsawa.
keep in mind, that using a station will deduct 4 points from your score in the end of the game. also, Station will "work" only if this route has been claimed by your opponent (or will be claimed by the end of the game -- so you can build station in the city without any trains going to/from him, however I believe it's not wise decision to do so)
note, that "borrowed" trains do not count towards longest path bonus.



Just to add to a) build your trains on yellow route:
in a 2 or 3-player game only one of those routes can be claimed; in a 4 or 5 player game you can use the yellow even if someone else has already claimed the pink.

The idea of the stations is that you can complete a ticket without having all the track. So you have to calculate if the amount of points deducted for the station is worth it because otherwise you loose the points for the ticket.
      
The Lion
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
July 2012
Re:Ticket to Ride Europe rules Mon, 02 July 2012 00:51
I would like to thank both of you for answering my question. Now understand why I should build a station. I would like to ask enen . You say borrowed trains do not count towards longest path bonus. What do you mean by borrowed trains? Do you mean the trains between two stations?
A last question. The rules say: When any one players stock of colored plastic trains get down to two trains or less at the end of his turn, each player, including that player, get one final turn. The game then ends and players calculate their final scores. What happen if a players Scoring Marker has reached the final number on the Scoring Track that is 100 and all players have still more than three trains on their stock? How then he can keep recording his score since he reached number 100 on the board game. Could that ever happen? I haven not played the game yet, I have just bought it today but before playing it with my friends I would like to know the rules very well.
      
enen
Member

User Pages
Posts: 36
Registered:
May 2011
Re:Ticket to Ride Europe rules Mon, 02 July 2012 16:32
Quote:

You say borrowed trains do not count towards longest path bonus. What do you mean by borrowed trains? Do you mean the trains between two stations?


let's say you have destination ticket Lisboa-Petrograd, you build everything with your own trains from Lisboa to Stockholm, and then your opponent claims Stockholm-Petrograd route. you obviously build station on Stockholm or Petrograd to complete your destination ticket, however, when you count trains to find out who has longest path and who will get the bonus, you do not count these 8 "borrowed" trains.

Quote:

What happen if a players Scoring Marker has reached the final number on the Scoring Track that is 100


you just proceed counting points as previously, keeping in mind that this player has 100 more points than shown on the scoreboard.
      
The Lion
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
July 2012
Re:Ticket to Ride Europe rules Mon, 02 July 2012 23:57
Mr Bean says so you can build station in the city without any trains going to/from him, however I believe it's not wise decision to do so. You say it is not a wise decision to do so because if there are no trains on a route that route will not be added at the final score at the end of the game, am I right?
I would like to ask you another question. The rules say If a player uses the same Station to help connect cities on the paths of several different Destination Tickets, he must use the same route into or out of the city with the Station for all Tickets. Could you please help me with an example to understand this rule?
      
Mr Bean
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 792
Registered:
May 2006
Re:Ticket to Ride Europe rules Tue, 03 July 2012 00:46
player1089853 wrote on Mon, 02 July 2012 23:57

Mr Bean says


Actually it was enen who said that so i will leave him to answer Smile
      
enen
Member

User Pages
Posts: 36
Registered:
May 2011
Re:Ticket to Ride Europe rules Tue, 03 July 2012 16:15
player1089853 wrote on Tue, 03 July 2012 00:57

Mr Bean says so you can build station in the city without any trains going to/from him, however I believe it's not wise decision to do so. You say it is not a wise decision to do so because if there are no trains on a route that route will not be added at the final score at the end of the game, am I right?


as I said before, stations only "work" when there are opponent's trains on the route. I'm not quite sure what you mean by "will not be added at the final score", so let's take another example.
let's say you have destination ticket Amsterdam-Wilno. you build routes Amsterdam-Essen, Essen-Berlin, Berlin-Warsawa, and now for some reason (let's say you can't get 3 red train cards) you can't claim Warsawa-Wilno. you can build Station on Wilno, but if Warsawa-Wilno route won't be claimed by any of your opponents, your destination ticket won't be complete.
so, even tho rules say that you can build station on any city at any time (expect if another station is already there), it's not wise to do so in the city which is not yet connected by any trains.

Quote:


I would like to ask you another question. The rules say If a player uses the same Station to help connect cities on the paths of several different Destination Tickets, he must use the same route into or out of the city with the Station for all Tickets. Could you please help me with an example to understand this rule?



sure. basically what this rule says, it's that one station should use only one route.
let's say you have Amsterdam-Wilno, and Danzig-Smolensk destination tickets.
you have claimed Amsterdam-Essen, Essen-Berlin, Warsawa-Wilno, Wilno-Smolensk routes.
Berlin-Danzig and Danzig-Warsawa routes are claimed by another player.
if you build Station on Danzig, you have to choose which route it will use -- Berlin-Danzig or Danzig-Warsawa. and if you want to have both if these routes connected to your network, you'll have to build another station on either Berlin or Warsawa.
      
The Lion
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
July 2012
Re:Ticket to Ride Europe rules Tue, 03 July 2012 23:37
I would like to thank you for taking the time to answer my questions. I much appreciate it!!!!!!! Smile
      
    
Previous Topic:Mandala bonus question in TTR India
Next Topic:Ticket to Ride Sardinia
Goto Forum: