Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Seafaring
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
Pizzakrydda
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Registered:
December 2012
Seafaring Sun, 03 February 2013 17:01
http://gameknight.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/Seafaring.jpg

We had a discussion during our last gaming session concerning the special power Seafaring.

Our interpretation of the power, as seems to be many others too and the german rules(exlusively), is that the(/a) race using Seafaring is the only way to conquer "otherwise unavailable regions".

Since we were two players that had played the game and the remaining 3 players were new to it - the player first playing picked a race with Seafaring and easly got away with taking over the 3 lake regions (Thus not taking the fact that they were new players in concideration).

He won partially because of this, and obviously it ended in a discussion about Seafaring beeing a bit OP. I pointed out that this really wouldn't happen if everyone around the table would have realized the situation and forced him to decline a second race.



Long story short:
Is there any way to capture (or at least destroy) a sea or lake region without Seafaring?

Such as:
- Sorceress (Racial power)
- Catapult (Special power)
- Etc.

Thank you! ^^
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Seafaring Sun, 03 February 2013 18:41
No, there is no way to take over the Water regions. No other power or race can take away the Water. I'm not sure how this can be too overpowered, because all it allows a player to do is keep 3 regions for the in-decline race...you guys could still take over all of his other spots! And you could take over his active race as well.

So why did it seem so overpowered?
      
Pizzakrydda
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Registered:
December 2012
Re:Seafaring Sun, 03 February 2013 20:49
I re-read the rules, and I now know why you don't get why we think it's OP and that we probobly misinterpreted the rules.

"As long as your Seafaring race is active, you may conquer the Seas and the Lake, considering them as 3 empty Regions."

Which we have interpreted as EACH Sea or Lake is considered beeing 3 regions.

... By what you just stated, I interpreted it as you implied that they should be considered as one region each. Which seem to balance things out in that case.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Seafaring Mon, 04 February 2013 02:46
Yes, each region only counts a 1 region each. So the player could ONLY get 3 gold (points) each turn if they control all of the water. If he only captures the lake...1 gold. If he gets the lake and one sea region; 2 gold. Cool
      
Pizzakrydda
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Registered:
December 2012
Re:Seafaring Mon, 04 February 2013 02:51
Haha, thanks for the help. It seems so stupid in retrospect, but I guess that I was the one supposed to use the Seafaring when reading the rules for the first time and I probobly just assumed that it would be "mega awesome" Very Happy

Thank you again, for clearing things up! Razz
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7133
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Seafaring Mon, 04 February 2013 02:58
Pizzakrydda wrote on Mon, 04 February 2013 05:51

Haha, thanks for the help. It seems so stupid in retrospect, but I guess that I was the one supposed to use the Seafaring when reading the rules for the first time and I probobly just assumed that it would be "mega awesome" Very Happy

Thank you again, for clearing things up! Razz


My pleasure! And don't worry about it, I've made bigger mistakes with rules before!! Laughing
      
    
Previous Topic:More areas of use for the Victory Coins. (Interactions between players)
Next Topic:Help us make Small World better, a whole lot better!
Goto Forum: