Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Small World - English » Abandoning All Regions
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
*player1319285
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2013
Abandoning All Regions Mon, 29 April 2013 10:38
Hi, I just played for the first time with my friends tonight and encountered something with this and ended with an argument (not fun). I saw a smiliar thread to this but not exact and didn't want to necro a 3yr old thread.

Anyways, I was backed into a corner against Diplomat Sorcerers who wouldn't attack me and made me his ally. So I chose to abandon all regions. Now you do this at the start of your turn when collecting what troops you want to attack with. Then here came the debate. The next part where the rules say you then use them on your NEXT conquest using the First Conquest rules.

The way I thought it was I would be able to abandon all regions, then attack from a border during this turn as that would be my next conquest after readying. However my friend interpreted the rule as "next conquest" being "next turn". So I was more or less using the rules of going into decline except I wasn't going into decline or picking a new race and instead keeping my tokens and race. His theory being that it would be too cheap to pull out all your units then immediately attack someone's weaker regions (from the back) that were being defended from more interior regions.

So which was right? Did I miss a whole turn, or is it really just like going into decline except keeping your race and not picking a new one?

Thanks for the help
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7095
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Abandoning All Regions Mon, 29 April 2013 11:10
JMurdoch wrote on Mon, 29 April 2013 12:38

Hi, I just played for the first time with my friends tonight and encountered something with this and ended with an argument (not fun). I saw a smiliar thread to this but not exact and didn't want to necro a 3yr old thread.

Anyways, I was backed into a corner against Diplomat Sorcerers who wouldn't attack me and made me his ally. So I chose to abandon all regions. Now you do this at the start of your turn when collecting what troops you want to attack with. Then here came the debate. The next part where the rules say you then use them on your NEXT conquest using the First Conquest rules.

The way I thought it was I would be able to abandon all regions, then attack from a border during this turn as that would be my next conquest after readying. However my friend interpreted the rule as "next conquest" being "next turn". So I was more or less using the rules of going into decline except I wasn't going into decline or picking a new race and instead keeping my tokens and race. His theory being that it would be too cheap to pull out all your units then immediately attack someone's weaker regions (from the back) that were being defended from more interior regions.

So which was right? Did I miss a whole turn, or is it really just like going into decline except keeping your race and not picking a new one?

Thanks for the help


You get to attack in the same turn. You don't have to wait until your friend has a free romp through the board without you!! Laughing Any time you want, you can pull all your tokens up and then right away attack a totally new area as if it was your first conquest. It sounds like in your case it was a good idea. Cool
      
*player1319285
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2013
Re:Abandoning All Regions Mon, 29 April 2013 23:51
Thank you very much for the quick response. I don't mean to be rude, but I was wondering if anyone else could chime in on it? I know for a fact the my friend is one of those people who wont believe what just 1 random person says about it and will think his own version is right and be unmovable on it. It would be preferable to get the ruling straight from the devs of the game so it would be official (which I did send to also), but I doubt that will get responded to anytime soon if at all.

Thanks again
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7095
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Abandoning All Regions Tue, 30 April 2013 05:10
JMurdoch wrote on Tue, 30 April 2013 01:51

Thank you very much for the quick response. I don't mean to be rude, but I was wondering if anyone else could chime in on it? I know for a fact the my friend is one of those people who wont believe what just 1 random person says about it and will think his own version is right and be unmovable on it. It would be preferable to get the ruling straight from the devs of the game so it would be official (which I did send to also), but I doubt that will get responded to anytime soon if at all.

Thanks again


If you want to check, find someone with an iPad, get the Small World app and try it out. Any time you want, you'll be able to pull your tokens off the board and attack from any border region you want.
      
Deio
Senior Member

Posts: 178
Registered:
January 2011
Re:Abandoning All Regions Tue, 30 April 2013 09:09
JMurdoch écrit le Mon, 29 April 2013 23:51

Thank you very much for the quick response. I don't mean to be rude, but I was wondering if anyone else could chime in on it? I know for a fact the my friend is one of those people who wont believe what just 1 random person says about it and will think his own version is right and be unmovable on it. It would be preferable to get the ruling straight from the devs of the game so it would be official (which I did send to also), but I doubt that will get responded to anytime soon if at all.

Thanks again

I can tell you that Rasmussen81 is not just any random person. Check the forums and you will see he contributes a lot to them. Smile

Anyway, I can confirm that you get to attack during the same turn you abandoned your regions.
If you need another proof, check the Gypsies power ; it is a common strategy for them to abandon all of their regions and start from another part of the map.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7095
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Abandoning All Regions Tue, 30 April 2013 12:44
Deio wrote on Tue, 30 April 2013 11:09

JMurdoch écrit le Mon, 29 April 2013 23:51

Thank you very much for the quick response. I don't mean to be rude, but I was wondering if anyone else could chime in on it? I know for a fact the my friend is one of those people who wont believe what just 1 random person says about it and will think his own version is right and be unmovable on it. It would be preferable to get the ruling straight from the devs of the game so it would be official (which I did send to also), but I doubt that will get responded to anytime soon if at all.

Thanks again

I can tell you that Rasmussen81 is not just any random person. Check the forums and you will see he contributes a lot to them. Smile

Anyway, I can confirm that you get to attack during the same turn you abandoned your regions.
If you need another proof, check the Gypsies power ; it is a common strategy for them to abandon all of their regions and start from another part of the map.


Thank you for the kind words, Deio. It's no problem if he wants another opinion, and you provided it; the Gypsies power is a wonderful example of how the question comes up in a game.
      
*player1319285
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
April 2013
Re:Abandoning All Regions Tue, 30 April 2013 12:47
Thank you very much again. Also, with 6k posts on here I sort of assumed Rasmussen most likely knew what he was talking about. It's just good to have extra information.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7095
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Abandoning All Regions Tue, 30 April 2013 14:10
JMurdoch wrote on Tue, 30 April 2013 14:47

Thank you very much again. Also, with 6k posts on here I sort of assumed Rasmussen most likely knew what he was talking about. It's just good to have extra information.


It's always good to satisfy your curiosity. I think the reason this isn't even in the FAQ thread is because it's a question that hasn't really come up before. You can tell your friend that he has a unique interpretation on the rules. Laughing Very Happy

I'm always glad to help. Enjoy the game, and if you have an iPad you should think about getting the Small World app!! Cool It's great!

[Updated on: Tue, 30 April 2013 18:27]

      
    
Previous Topic:Cursed Ability and Not Being Able to Afford Tax
Next Topic:Stonehedge and Historian
Goto Forum: