Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Official FAQ Thread
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Official FAQ Thread Thu, 06 June 2013 16:13
The Official Memoir '44 FAQ book is available for players who need extra clarification with the rules of Memoir '44. You can find them under the "Advanced Play" section of the Memoir page at www.memoir44.com.

The FAQ v2.0 is now available in English and has been completely reworked into a fully interactive 77-page beauty. The French version is currently being worked on. To enjoy all of the interactive features, it is recommended that you use Adobe Acrobat, though I'm sure other programs will work as well. The FAQ is available in two formats; the "Interactive FAQ Booklet" has all the bells and whistles, while the "Print-Friendly FAQ Booklet" has fewer background images to cut down on ink use.

As you read through the FAQ v2.0, look for these interactive elements:

~ Images linked to Memoir '44 web pages
~ Interactive Table of Contents
~ Jump to Table of Contents button in the lower right corner
~ Pop-up Table of Contents in lower left corner
~ HTML links
~ Cross-reference links
~ Scenario maps linked to the Official Scenarios online

The FAQ provides the official answers to the most frequently asked questions we have seen on the Memoir '44 forums so far. I have carefully compiled each entry and all the questions were reviewed by Richard Borg for accuracy.

As new expansions and further questions come up, Days of Wonder, Richard, and I will do our best to update the FAQ in a timely manner. In its current form, these updates will be much easier and therefore, more frequent than in the past. You can always check to make sure you have the latest version of the book by looking at the bottom right corner of any page.

This thread should be used as the place to post new questions that haven't been addressed yet. Please thoroughly search the rules, the FAQ and the Official Card Compendium online before asking anything, so as not to clutter this thread with questions that have already been answered.

Enjoy!

NOTE: Questions of "What If" situations that are not covered by Memoir '44 rules will not be answered in the FAQ. Players are always welcome to play with House Rules for these situations.

[Updated on: Thu, 06 June 2013 23:40] by Moderator

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

User Pages
Posts: 1063
Registered:
December 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 06 June 2013 17:48
Thanks for this Ras - and a good D-Day to post it! Smile
      
Dietrich von Kleist
Senior Member
Total Victory

User Pages
Posts: 740
Registered:
June 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 06 June 2013 19:24
Looks very good! Thumbs Up Thanks! Smile
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 646
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 06 June 2013 20:37
Fantastic! Great to have al questions in one place Smile
Thanks for your hard work!
      
deemao
Senior Member
Captain

User Pages
Posts: 170
Registered:
March 2011
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 06 June 2013 21:09
Great work, Jesse - as usual. Smile Thanks for providing your help to all players.
      
Appyo
Junior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 15
Registered:
May 2013
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 07 June 2013 02:46
Thank you for all the hard work you put into this!
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 987
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 07 June 2013 09:53
This is really fantastic. Thanks a lot, Ras.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sat, 08 June 2013 20:38
Thank you very much.

[Updated on: Sat, 08 June 2013 20:47]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 09 June 2013 05:38
You are all very welcome! I'm glad you're enjoying it.

As always, let me know if you come across any mistakes so I can fix them for version 2.1 and make the FAQ even better. Thank you to all my editors and helpers throughout this transition process, and thanks for everyone's patience between the last update and this one! Cool
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 881
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Mon, 10 June 2013 18:27
Well done sir and thank you!
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2083
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 27 June 2013 11:30
Sgt Storm wrote on Mon, 10 June 2013 12:27

Well done sir and thank you!


What he said - lol.

Indeed - that you for all your hard work on this.

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 10 July 2013 22:11
I played with Patrol Cars in 2 scenarios again this week. Oath of Kufra has a PC and bunker (Disaster at Dieppe, which I played a while ago does too). The rules sheet doesn't say anything about prohibiting PC in bunkers, so I've allowed it, although my opponents were dubious. [EDIT: Thanks for pointing out below the rule that PCs cannot go where tanks cannot go.]

I also played Raid on Barce where UK has 6 PCs and nothing else. Rule sheet says BEL and DIG-IN can't command PC so I thought that means: with no infantry command any 1 unit - but no +1d & 2nd movement and can't add sandbag, respectively. That's how Artillery Bombard and Armor Assault work, but again my opponent didn't think so and felt stuck with BEL (and MEDICS) in his hand when he was British. Wouldn't it be quite a handicap to be stuck with these 2 cards if they can't command 1 unit?

Note: In the Card Compendium, later troops like Patrol Cars don't have a section for questions and comments.

[Updated on: Tue, 11 February 2014 05:32]

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 646
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 10 July 2013 22:19
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 10 July 2013 22:11

I played with Patrol Cars in 2 scenarios again this week. Oath of Kufra has a PC and bunker (Disaster at Dieppe, which I played a while ago does too). The rules sheet doesn't say anything about prohibiting PC in bunkers, so I've allowed it, although my opponents were dubious.

I also played Raid on Barce where UK has 6 PCs and nothing else. Rule sheet says BEL and DIG-IN can't command PC so I thought that means: with no infantry command any 1 unit - but no +1d & 2nd movement and can't add sandbag, respectively. That's how Artillery Bombard and Armor Assault work, but again my opponent didn't think so and felt stuck with BEL (and MEDICS) in his hand when he was British. Wouldn't it be quite a handicap to be stuck with these 2 cards if they can't command 1 unit?

Note: In the Card Compendium, later troops like Patrol Cars don't have a section for questions and comments.


The detailed rules for pC
http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_op4_jeep_en. pdf say that any terrain that is impassible for artillery and armor is impassible for PC too.

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_terrain_2.jpg

So my guess is that a PC cannot enter a Bunker Smile

[Updated on: Wed, 10 July 2013 22:20]

      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 10 July 2013 23:32
Antoi wrote on Wed, 10 July 2013 16:19

JFKoski wrote on Wed, 10 July 2013 22:11

I played with Patrol Cars in 2 scenarios again this week. Oath of Kufra has a PC and bunker (Disaster at Dieppe, which I played a while ago does too). The rules sheet doesn't say anything about prohibiting PC in bunkers, so I've allowed it, although my opponents were dubious.

I also played Raid on Barce where UK has 6 PCs and nothing else. Rule sheet says BEL and DIG-IN can't command PC so I thought that means: with no infantry command any 1 unit - but no +1d & 2nd movement and can't add sandbag, respectively. That's how Artillery Bombard and Armor Assault work, but again my opponent didn't think so and felt stuck with BEL (and MEDICS) in his hand when he was British. Wouldn't it be quite a handicap to be stuck with these 2 cards if they can't command 1 unit?

Note: In the Card Compendium, later troops like Patrol Cars don't have a section for questions and comments.


The detailed rules for pC
http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_op4_jeep_en. pdf say that any terrain that is impassible for artillery and armor is impassible for PC too.

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_terrain_2.jpg

So my guess is that a PC cannot enter a Bunker Smile


My guess is that because it is a vehicle it may not enter a BUNKER. However, Cavalry units may enter a bunker (if they dismount - Shocked Laughing ) because they are not a vehicle.

[Updated on: Wed, 10 July 2013 23:33]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 881
Registered:
December 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 11 July 2013 18:53
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 10 July 2013 16:11

I also played Raid on Barce where UK has 6 PCs and nothing else. Rule sheet says BEL and DIG-IN can't command PC so I thought that means: with no infantry command any 1 unit - but no +1d & 2nd movement and can't add sandbag, respectively. That's how Artillery Bombard and Armor Assault work, but again my opponent didn't think so and felt stuck with BEL (and MEDICS) in his hand when he was British. Wouldn't it be quite a handicap to be stuck with these 2 cards if they can't command 1 unit?


The rules for PC clearly state that these cards cannot be used to order PCs. So that's how I would play it. It may seem like quite a handicap, but remember, the scenario Raid on Barce was most likely play tested with the same rules. As PC commander you just have to plan for some downtime while you discard your useless cards.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 11 July 2013 19:19
Sgt Storm wrote on Thu, 11 July 2013


The rules for PC clearly state that these cards cannot be used to order PCs. So that's how I would play it. It may seem like quite a handicap, but remember, the scenario Raid on Barce was most likely play tested with the same rules. As PC commander you just have to plan for some downtime while you discard your useless cards.


Just think of getting those cards as similar to getting a flat tire...
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sat, 13 July 2013 03:28
Antoi wrote on Wed, 10 July 2013 16:19

The detailed rules for pC [which can be downloaded] say that any terrain that is impassible for artillery and armor is impassible for PC too.

So my guess is that a PC cannot enter a Bunker Smile


Thanks, I read that sheet/download at least 6x, and didn't see:
Quote:

A terrain that is identified in the rules as Impassable or Impassable to
Armor & Artillery
is also considered as impassable to Patrol Car units.


If I had only PC and artillery and played Armor Assault, I'd be able to order 1 unit (no +1). So I'm still hopeful that if I have no infantry, just PCs, then Dig-In and BEL would just order 1 unit. Naturally, if I only had PCs and drew Medics then Medics would be unplayable.

[Updated on: Sat, 13 July 2013 03:33]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2247
Registered:
August 2006
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sat, 13 July 2013 15:20
It's clear to me that Patrol Cars don't benefit from the special privileges of BEL or Dig In, but if you don't have any usable infantry-type units, then one could be ordered as the "1 unit of your choice."

The precedent for this is destroyers and Artillery Bombard.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2083
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sat, 13 July 2013 16:27
sam1812 wrote on Sat, 13 July 2013 09:20

It's clear to me that Patrol Cars don't benefit from the special privileges of BEL or Dig In, but if you don't have any usable infantry-type units, then one could be ordered as the "1 unit of your choice."

The precedent for this is destroyers and Artillery Bombard.


I agree with this.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 14 July 2013 19:00
Operation Crusader / BREAKTHROUGH EXP.

Needs clarification regarding the recovery of Armor figures. Difference in the written rules and in French as JDRommel intended.

http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/msg/?th=27678&start=0
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 16 July 2013 01:34
Breakthrough to the Beach
FAQ p66

Q. Do the Churchill AVRE tanks follow the standard Flamethrower rule?
Do they have to remove Mines when entering a Minefield (like Combat Engineers) and can they still battle?
A. Per Jacques David's scenario specific rule - Churchill AVRE tanks behave like Combat Engineers when entering a Minefield.
The rule therefore is: In a Minefield they must clear the Mines, instead of battling.


The first question wasn't answered as to whether it was just a badge used to distinguish them. I remember reading the thread that first tried to answer it, but I think it didn't answer that question, either.

Now that we have the Equipment Pack, we could say:
1. It's a Flamethrower tank that can also clear mines, or
2. It was just a badge to represent a tank that can clear mines, or
3. It's a Hobart's Funny - Mine Digger, (though these CAN battle after clearing the minefield).

[Updated on: Tue, 16 July 2013 01:38]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 890
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 16 July 2013 09:36
JFKoski wrote on Tue, 16 July 2013 01:34

Breakthrough to the Beach
FAQ p66

Q. Do the Churchill AVRE tanks follow the standard Flamethrower rule?
Do they have to remove Mines when entering a Minefield (like Combat Engineers) and can they still battle?
A. Per Jacques David's scenario specific rule - Churchill AVRE tanks behave like Combat Engineers when entering a Minefield.
The rule therefore is: In a Minefield they must clear the Mines, instead of battling.


The first question wasn't answered as to whether it was just a badge used to distinguish them. I remember reading the thread that first tried to answer it, but I think it didn't answer that question, either.

Now that we have the Equipment Pack, we could say:
1. It's a Flamethrower tank that can also clear mines, or
2. It was just a badge to represent a tank that can clear mines, or
3. It's a Hobart's Funny - Mine Digger, (though these CAN battle after clearing the minefield).


According to the printed rules of the Equipment Pack:

Hobart Funnies Mine digger


A Hobart Funnie unit equipped with a Mine digger must stop upon entering a minefield. The minefield is removed (without detonating) and the Tank unit may still battle if eligible.


So my understanding is:

1. When moving in a minefield hex must stop.
2. The minefield is removed.
3. Unlike the Combat Engineers, they can still battle, if eligible.

[Updated on: Tue, 16 July 2013 09:37]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 19 July 2013 21:10
I've been playing with Italian High Command Rules lately. The side opposing the Italians has scored a few kills with Ambush and Battle Back. Once I scored an Ambush kill and didn't think anything of making him discard a card, even though it brought his hand down to 2. Then at end of turn, I drew my replacement and he drew his, bringing him back to 3. Presumably this is the correct way to play, even though the rules say:
EqPa p10

However the number of Command cards held by the Italian player cannot be reduced below three.

Would you play it this way, or just say the Italians don't get a draw at the end of their turn?
[EDIT Feb2014: Lately, I've played it as: no discard when down to 3 cards by Ambush or in OL]

I'm hoping someone will do an Italian High Command for OL (perhaps Invasion of Greece?) I can imagine Italians starting with ~12 cards (vs ~10 for Greece) then having a hand maximum of 3 at the end. Since this is hypothetical I don't expect an answer, but it would be interesting to consider if the Italians played all but one card, then lost one (or two) from Ambush(es), whether they'd discard their last card?

[EDIT Feb2014: jdrommel created an Italian OL, Klisura Pass, which is really good. We dumped the hand-size thing, and whenever down to 3 cards they can't lose a card. One time I deliberately played cards to stay at 3, so I wouldn't risk losing a good card. Card loss is similar to Operation Market Garden OL.]

[Updated on: Tue, 11 February 2014 05:38]

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 646
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 19 July 2013 21:39
Its a bit like the Market Garden Overlord, where the German starts with only three card but gets more and more by shooting Allied units. The Allied commander gets one less command card for every unit killed.

Sounds like a good plan for het Italian Overlord!
      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2083
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Sun, 21 July 2013 03:20
JFKoski wrote on Fri, 19 July 2013 15:10

I've been playing with Italian High Command Rules lately. The side opposing the Italians has scored a few kills with Ambush and Battle Back. Once I scored an Ambush kill and didn't think anything of making him discard a card, even though it brought his hand down to 2. Then at end of turn, I drew my replacement and he drew his, bringing him back to 3. Presumably this is the correct way to play, even though the rules say:
EqPa p10

However the number of Command cards held by the Italian
player cannot be reduced below three.

Would you play it this way, or just say the Italians don't get a draw at the end of their turn?


I would play it as the rule is stated. As the discard action in that case would reduce the Italian player to less than 3 cards, it should not occur.

The action of losing a card happens at the instance of loss and only the number of cards held at that time should be counted.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 30 July 2013 19:07
An addition for the FAQ for COMBAT CARDS:
Quote:

Hi all.

During one of my Sword of Stalingrad ladder games the question of if the Sniper Combat Card could be played during the battle phase came up. At that time, we played as if the Sniper had to be placed in the order phase (which turned out to be the correct ruling).

But I followed up with a question about this to DOW and here is the official reply:

Q: May a Sniper be placed anytime after the order phase?


Thank you for your request.

As per the Combat Rules:
"Combat cards are usually played in conjunction with unit(s) ordered with a Command card, to enhance these units' actions. When that is not the case, a sentence at the bottom of the card spells out when the card is played."

A: Since there is no specific sentence at the bottom of the Sniper Combat Card, it must be played along with a Command card, in the Order phase.

Best Regards,

Antoine Prono
Customer Service
Days of Wonder

      
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2083
Registered:
October 2004
Re:Official FAQ Thread Tue, 30 July 2013 22:27
Ah, I was going to post about the Sniper Combat Card but you beat me to it Laughing

Thank you Very Happy
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 31 July 2013 03:58
While preparing for the Sword of Stalingrad tournament, I came up with an Overlord (OL) Sequence Summary (Word file in my user pages) and posted on Boardgamegeek based on my understanding of the rules from about 5 or 6 sources prior to the latest FAQ.

IMHO the OL rules were thrown together into too few sections. Section 3 was the Initiative Roll, then Section 4 skips to discarding and drawing cards.
OL page 4

Once all the actions (movements and battles) of the Command cards given are complete....


In my summary I have 11 sections:
[EDIT: added 1 & 2, bumps down to 3-11]
1. Setup,
2. Start of Turn,
3. Select Cards,
4. Distribute Cards,
5. CiC Discusses Strategy,
6. CiC Plays Cards,
7. FGs Play Cards (or make Initiative Roll or not),
8. Order Units,
9. Move Units,
10. Battle,
11. Discard and Draw Cards.

I've found this helps find a place in the sequence for every rule you can think of (Command Cards, Combat Cards, Air Rules, Commissar & Marines).

I ran out of room trying to keep it to 2 pages, so gave up.

[Updated on: Tue, 11 February 2014 05:44]

      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 108
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 31 July 2013 20:06
stevens wrote on Tue, 30 July 2013 20:07

An addition for the FAQ for COMBAT CARDS:
Quote:

Hi all.

During one of my Sword of Stalingrad ladder games the question of if the Sniper Combat Card could be played during the battle phase came up. At that time, we played as if the Sniper had to be placed in the order phase (which turned out to be the correct ruling).

But I followed up with a question about this to DOW and here is the official reply:

Q: May a Sniper be placed anytime after the order phase?


Thank you for your request.

As per the Combat Rules:
"Combat cards are usually played in conjunction with unit(s) ordered with a Command card, to enhance these units' actions. When that is not the case, a sentence at the bottom of the card spells out when the card is played."

A: Since there is no specific sentence at the bottom of the Sniper Combat Card, it must be played along with a Command card, in the Order phase.

Best Regards,

Antoine Prono
Customer Service
Days of Wonder



Antoine's response implies that Combat cards such as Fortify should also be played in the Order phase, doesn't it?
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 646
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Wed, 31 July 2013 23:17
Fortify, specific says you place an sandbag after you move and battle with one of your ordered infantry.

I suppose you may even pick the unit of your choise after battling to place the sandbag with
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 108
Registered:
June 2010
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 01 August 2013 16:38
Yet there is no specific sentence at the bottom of the card, as per Antoine would be required...
      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 646
Registered:
March 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Thu, 01 August 2013 17:27
Zalamence wrote on Thu, 01 August 2013 16:38

Yet there is no specific sentence at the bottom of the card, as per Antoine would be required...


indeed, the card comes into play in the order fase, thats the moment you show it. you execute it the moment your battlefase is over.

At least, that's the way I interpret the answer from Antoine Smile
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 02 August 2013 02:33
I believe that once a unit starts it's battle, it continues all it's actions (Armor Overrun/Heat of Battle, Take Ground, BEL/Infiltrators 2nd movement, Fortify, Reposition, etc.) before the next unit conducts its battle.

[Updated on: Fri, 02 August 2013 02:34]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 02 August 2013 06:01
JFKoski wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 04:33

I believe that once a unit starts it's battle, it continues all it's actions (Armor Overrun/Heat of Battle, Take Ground, BEL/Infiltrators 2nd movement, Fortify, Reposition, etc.) before the next unit conducts its battle.


Correct. One unit finishes everything before the next unit goes (in most cases). Smile
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 02 August 2013 13:28
rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 00:01

JFKoski wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 04:33

I believe that once a unit starts it's battle, it continues all it's actions (Armor Overrun/Heat of Battle, Take Ground, BEL/Infiltrators 2nd movement, Fortify, Reposition, etc.) before the next unit conducts its battle.


Correct. One unit finishes everything before the next unit goes (in most cases). Smile

I play the FORTIFY card at the end of ALL my battles because I do not know which unit will benefit most until the end. Is this incorrect??????
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Letters From Iwo Jima

User Pages
Posts: 890
Registered:
November 2011
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 02 August 2013 15:22
stevens wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 13:28

rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 00:01

JFKoski wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 04:33

I believe that once a unit starts it's battle, it continues all it's actions (Armor Overrun/Heat of Battle, Take Ground, BEL/Infiltrators 2nd movement, Fortify, Reposition, etc.) before the next unit conducts its battle.


Correct. One unit finishes everything before the next unit goes (in most cases). Smile

I play the FORTIFY card at the end of ALL my battles because I do not know which unit will benefit most until the end. Is this incorrect??????


We play it just like you do and I have seen other well seasoned players using it in that way. So my understanding is that you are doing it correctly, Stevens.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7083
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 02 August 2013 16:07
Almilcar wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 17:22

stevens wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 13:28

rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 00:01

JFKoski wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 04:33

I believe that once a unit starts it's battle, it continues all it's actions (Armor Overrun/Heat of Battle, Take Ground, BEL/Infiltrators 2nd movement, Fortify, Reposition, etc.) before the next unit conducts its battle.


Correct. One unit finishes everything before the next unit goes (in most cases). Smile

I play the FORTIFY card at the end of ALL my battles because I do not know which unit will benefit most until the end. Is this incorrect??????


We play it just like you do and I have seen other well seasoned players using it in that way. So my understanding is that you are doing it correctly, Stevens.


It doesn't actually matter with Fortify because it's a Combat Card and they are just played with your other card. There's nothing in the rules that says at what time during your turn you have to apply the effects of the card, so you can wait until the end or place the Sandbags right after the unit battles.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 610
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 02 August 2013 17:16
stevens wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 13:28

rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 00:01

JFKoski wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 04:33

I believe that once a unit starts it's battle, it continues all it's actions (Armor Overrun/Heat of Battle, Take Ground, BEL/Infiltrators 2nd movement, Fortify, Reposition, etc.) before the next unit conducts its battle.


Correct. One unit finishes everything before the next unit goes (in most cases). Smile

I play the FORTIFY card at the end of ALL my battles because I do not know which unit will benefit most until the end. Is this incorrect??????


What a smart man you are Mr Stevens Shocked
      
stevens
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 3021
Registered:
February 2007
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 02 August 2013 20:09
JJAZ wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 11:16

stevens wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 13:28

rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 00:01

JFKoski wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 04:33

I believe that once a unit starts it's battle, it continues all it's actions (Armor Overrun/Heat of Battle, Take Ground, BEL/Infiltrators 2nd movement, Fortify, Reposition, etc.) before the next unit conducts its battle.


Correct. One unit finishes everything before the next unit goes (in most cases). Smile

I play the FORTIFY card at the end of ALL my battles because I do not know which unit will benefit most until the end. Is this incorrect??????


What a smart man you are Mr Stevens Shocked


I got that way from playing you, Johan! Cool
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 610
Registered:
May 2008
Re:Official FAQ Thread Fri, 02 August 2013 22:21
stevens wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 20:09

JJAZ wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 11:16

stevens wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 13:28

rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 00:01

JFKoski wrote on Fri, 02 August 2013 04:33

I believe that once a unit starts it's battle, it continues all it's actions (Armor Overrun/Heat of Battle, Take Ground, BEL/Infiltrators 2nd movement, Fortify, Reposition, etc.) before the next unit conducts its battle.


Correct. One unit finishes everything before the next unit goes (in most cases). Smile

I play the FORTIFY card at the end of ALL my battles because I do not know which unit will benefit most until the end. Is this incorrect??????


What a smart man you are Mr Stevens Shocked


I got that way from playing you, Johan! Cool


I'm proud son!
      
Pages (3): [1  2  3  >  » ]     
Previous Topic:A quick note about the FAQ and our rulings
Goto Forum: