Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » sniper combat card
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
tank commander
Senior Member
I Love Pineapples

User Pages
Posts: 2070
Registered:
October 2004
sniper combat card Thu, 15 August 2013 13:45
I thought of this the other day after I played the Sniper Combat Card.

Please note I am only talking about the turn in which a Sniper is placed on the board.

A sniper placed via the Sniper Combat Card may only battle.

The question is where does the "order" to battle originate from?

From the play of the Sniper Combat card?

Or is it a "free" order obtained by placing the Sniper next to an ordered (from a Command Card) infantry unit?

In which case if the Command card in question is Firefight, Close Assault or TFH, would the Sniper benefit from the +1 attack dice from these cards?

Maybe I am overthinking this a bit Rolling Eyes


My take is that the battle "order" comes from the Combat Card and that the Sniper would not benefit from any bonus card that ordered an infantry unit which the Sniper was placed next to.

      
Antoi
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 627
Registered:
March 2005
Re:sniper combat card Thu, 15 August 2013 14:27
hmmm good question..... Smile

Most cards (like firefight) say you can roll one additional only with a certain amount of units.
So in that case I would certainly say no, the sniper doesn't get an additional die.
But cards like close assault......... hmmmm. I guess no Rolling Eyes
      
magick
Member
Lieutenant

User Pages
Posts: 51
Registered:
December 2004
Re:sniper combat card Thu, 15 August 2013 17:09
Playing on the online version,the sniper benefits +1 dice using firefight and TFH.I haven't tried it with close assault though,so I am of the opinion that the sniper benefits the same as any other unit.It would be very interesting to hear other opinions on this subject.
      
Zalamence
Senior Member
Bring Boys Back Home

User Pages
Posts: 107
Registered:
June 2010
Re:sniper combat card Thu, 15 August 2013 17:25
I think it costs an order to activate the sniper. So, if the sniper isn't activated separately, it cannot even battle.

The same question may concern the Reinforcements card, right?
http://static.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_urban_2.jpg

The difference is that this card has the sentence: "Play this card before ordering any units."
So I could be wrong and it is this card (and this card only) which requires the player to use an order to activate the new unit.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Memoir '44 Online Betatester

User Pages
Posts: 3013
Registered:
February 2007
Re:sniper combat card Thu, 15 August 2013 19:42
Zalamence wrote on Thu, 15 August 2013 11:25

I think it costs an order to activate the sniper. So, if the sniper isn't activated separately, it cannot even battle.

The same question may concern the Reinforcements card, right?
http://static.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_compendium_urban_2.jpg

The difference is that this card has the sentence: "Play this card before ordering any units."
So I could be wrong and it is this card (and this card only) which requires the player to use an order to activate the new unit.

REINFORCEMENTS
The card itself states that the unit may not move, but may battle, and so if there is any enemy unit in firing range it may battle without the need for an order. The card itself is the order.

I believe that the SNIPER card has almost the same text verbatim. I would play it that the sniper is already ordered. If you are choosing to use the firefight card with the sniper card, he will still count as one of the 4 units. As so yes the sniper will gain from the Firefight +1 dice.

When playing the standard reinforcement in a game usually the units may not move but may battle without additional orders.

[Updated on: Thu, 15 August 2013 19:59]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:sniper combat card Thu, 15 August 2013 20:17
I believe the sequence is:
-Play a Command Card,
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_command_17.jpg
-Order units,
-Play Sniper card,
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_urban_10.jpg
-Move units,
-Battle, etc.

Some of these Combat Cards, like Sniper, are vague enough that you might get away with playing it after moving units.

For my OL Sequence Summary (see user files or BGG forum for Overlord Pack) I put Sniper card under the section "Order Units". I put Reinforcements and Air Bombardment under the previous section "FGs Play Cards"

I agree that the card (Sniper or Reinforcements) is the order. So the order giving +1 die from Close Assault, Firefight, TFH, etc. doesn't apply to the extra unit. But you could play Street Fight on the Sniper if applicable.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2245
Registered:
August 2006
Re:sniper combat card Fri, 16 August 2013 06:41
The Sniper card doesn't put any conditions on the new unit's right to battle, so I would interpret that to mean that the Sniper unit is automatically able to battle -- even if the card was played along with Dig In (where the other units can't battle) or BEL (where only a single unit is normally ordered).

As to whether the Sniper gets an extra die on Firefight or Close Assault, I've always assumed yes. (However, I've assumed that on Firefight or Close Assault, I've always assumed that the usual condition about being non-adjacent or adjacent applies.) On the other hand, I don't have a slam-dunk counter to the argument that if the Sniper is ordered by the Combat card, that wouldn't give it the extra die.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 610
Registered:
May 2008
Re:sniper combat card Fri, 16 August 2013 08:46
The bottom line says " play this card before ordering any units"
So I think you can never benefit of an extra die of any card as there is no other card played.
j.
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

User Pages
Posts: 2245
Registered:
August 2006
Re:sniper combat card Fri, 16 August 2013 14:41
JJAZ wrote on Fri, 16 August 2013 02:46

The bottom line says " play this card before ordering any units"
So I think you can never benefit of an extra die of any card as there is no other card played.
j.

You're talking about Reinforcements, not Sniper.
      
JJAZ
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

User Pages
Posts: 610
Registered:
May 2008
Re:sniper combat card Fri, 16 August 2013 21:22
Embarassed
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Advanced Historian

User Pages
Posts: 603
Registered:
October 2005
Re:sniper combat card Sun, 18 August 2013 18:33
I forgot that for our Sword of Stalingrad tournament, someone asked customer service for a ruling. He posted it on the Vassal ladder group page.

Quote:

Thank you for your request.

As per the Combat Rules:
"Combat cards are usually played in conjunction with unit(s) ordered with a Command card, to enhance these units' actions. When that is not the case, a sentence at the bottom of the card spells out when the card is played."

A: Since there is no specific sentence at the bottom of the Sniper Combat Card, it must be player along with a Command card, in the Order phase.

Best Regards,
Antoine Prono
Customer Service
Days of Wonder

[Updated on: Sun, 18 August 2013 18:34]

      
    
Previous Topic:What Should I Buy Next?
Next Topic:Unable to enter battle reports
Goto Forum: