Five Tribes –The Artisans of Naqala Five Tribes –The Artisans of Naqala

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Another train station question!
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
sonata1316
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
August 2013
Another train station question! Mon, 26 August 2013 22:21
me and my friends have been debating about the use of the train stations. The rulebook led us nowhere so i'm here to ask you guys! Can you or can you not build to stations to serve a destination through a railroad that has been completely been build by your opponent.

Example: We do know that with building a station you have the right to choose one and only one ride that's been served by another player and use it. So Player (A) builds a railway extending from Lisboa to Madrid and then Pamplona. Can player (B) build 2 stations on Liasboa and Madrid to actualy complete the destination card from Lisboa to Pamplona by choosing to use those two lines? (That means that with no effort and without using any of his own trucks serve the ticket)

Sorry for the bad english i'm doing my best!
      
DAC cazaron
Senior Member
Aspirante

Posts: 223
Registered:
May 2012
Re:Another train station question! Wed, 28 August 2013 12:02
I don't see why that wouldn't be the case, but it's a 6 value ticket for the price of 8 points... meaning you average a -2 for the ticket.

You get 4 points for any unused station at the end of the game, just to clarify where I got the 8 and -2 from.
      
sonata1316
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
August 2013
Re:Another train station question! Wed, 28 August 2013 18:10
Yes the math is right but academically i really wanted to find out if that's possible or not!
Thanks for the quick answer!
      
DAC cazaron
Senior Member
Aspirante

Posts: 223
Registered:
May 2012
Re:Another train station question! Tue, 03 September 2013 23:16
I'm pretty sure that the method is correct; you're using two of their train routes, you're using two stations. Logically, that makes complete sense, and there's nothing specific in the rules to say otherwise...
I'm pretty sure that it's legal; but I wouldn't do it, you'd lose too many points!
      
lax2football
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Registered:
May 2014
Re:Another train station question! Fri, 30 May 2014 10:02
As long as both train stations are not on Madrid to go both ways (Liasboa & Pamplona) and as long as no other train station is as same city. each route between two cities can have two stations one one each side. unless you are playing with depots then it's a whole new game.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7275
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Another train station question! Fri, 30 May 2014 18:51
sonata1316 wrote on Mon, 26 August 2013 13:21

me and my friends have been debating about the use of the train stations. The rulebook led us nowhere so i'm here to ask you guys! Can you or can you not build to stations to serve a destination through a railroad that has been completely been build by your opponent.

Example: We do know that with building a station you have the right to choose one and only one ride that's been served by another player and use it. So Player (A) builds a railway extending from Lisboa to Madrid and then Pamplona. Can player (B) build 2 stations on Liasboa and Madrid to actualy complete the destination card from Lisboa to Pamplona by choosing to use those two lines? (That means that with no effort and without using any of his own trucks serve the ticket)

Sorry for the bad english i'm doing my best!


I can't tell from your explanation, but the basic rules for Stations are like lax2football said:

1) Only one Station is allowed per city.
2) Stations only let you go between TWO cities. You don't have to pick which two cities until the end of the game, but a station can never do 'double duty'.
3) You can like Station to Station and use two opponent tracks...but you would have to use 2 Stations.
4) You lose 4 points for each station you use (by not adding them to your total at the end of the game)

As long as you're following the above rules, it's a legal move. Have fun and good luck!! Cool
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1465
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Another train station question! Mon, 09 March 2015 18:27
Can you build out from a station as if the line from city to station were yours? Example: you are built into a city and the two routes to the next city are taken, can you place your station on that next city and then build on your next turn out from the station?

      
ericamick
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Registered:
October 2010
Re:Another train station question! Mon, 09 March 2015 21:15
50th wrote on Mon, 09 March 2015 13:27

Can you build out from a station as if the line from city to station were yours? Example: you are built into a city and the two routes to the next city are taken, can you place your station on that next city and then build on your next turn out from the station?




You can build on any unclaimed line. There is no requirement that the lines you build connect to each other; it's not unusual for people to spend their last turn building a disconnected line just for the points.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7275
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Another train station question! Tue, 10 March 2015 03:24
50th wrote on Mon, 09 March 2015 10:27

Can you build out from a station as if the line from city to station were yours? Example: you are built into a city and the two routes to the next city are taken, can you place your station on that next city and then build on your next turn out from the station?




Yes, you can. And your route will include the opponent track that you just 'claimed' with your Station. Just remember that you don't count their track toward your longest route length. But it can be really useful to help you reach that destination if you're blocked off.

Have fun! Very Happy
      
50th
Senior Member
Armor Specialist

User Pages
Posts: 1465
Registered:
October 2006
Re:Another train station question! Tue, 10 March 2015 18:26
Thanks for the quick answers, My wife bought us the game (Europe) for our Christmas present to ourselves, so far, we really like it. We are looking at the 1912 expansion next, how is this and what does it add to game play?

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7275
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Another train station question! Wed, 11 March 2015 05:10
50th wrote on Tue, 10 March 2015 10:26

Thanks for the quick answers, My wife bought us the game (Europe) for our Christmas present to ourselves, so far, we really like it. We are looking at the 1912 expansion next, how is this and what does it add to game play?




1912 is a great addition. You'll get lots more options: tons of new destination tickets and different combinations you can make, to add to the replayability, but also Depots and Stations which is a fun twist.

It's a great value if you're liking the normal game!
      
    
Previous Topic:Player // BOT
Next Topic:Big game boards!
Goto Forum: