Forums

Search
Forums » Relic Runners - English » Perform the Temple Effect for Free
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
ericamick
Junior Member

Posts: 21
Registered:
October 2010
Perform the Temple Effect for Free Sat, 26 October 2013 20:37
Suppose I am sitting on a temple at the start of my turn, and I have a toolbox on the "perform temple effect for free" space. Can I use the toolbox before moving? If so, I suppose it means I can effectively explore two temples with one turn. The description in the rules does not clarify the situation.
      
graham_butters
Member
KS Backer - Goblin

Posts: 93
Registered:
January 2013
Re:Perform the Temple Effect for Free Sun, 27 October 2013 01:39
On your turn you move first, and then explore. So you could not explore the temple and then move. Furthermore you cannot end your turn on the same space you start on, you have to move every turn. So your scenario wouldn't really work with the rules but is a great idea otherwise.
      
ericamick
Junior Member

Posts: 21
Registered:
October 2010
Re:Perform the Temple Effect for Free Sun, 27 October 2013 17:30
I was thinking more of this:

Explore temple using toolbox ability
Move
Explore second (different) temple

I can go along with not allowing exploration before movement; it just wasn't obvious if the effect was intended to allow overriding the conventional turn order or just the need to pay for exploration.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7193
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Perform the Temple Effect for Free Sun, 27 October 2013 18:19
ericamick wrote on Sun, 27 October 2013 20:30

I was thinking more of this:

Explore temple using toolbox ability
Move
Explore second (different) temple

I can go along with not allowing exploration before movement; it just wasn't obvious if the effect was intended to allow overriding the conventional turn order or just the need to pay for exploration.


Like Graham Butters said, you cannot explore before moving. This is clearly explained in the rules. So to do what you're talking about would be breaking the rules.

The toolbox ability does not let you explore any time you want...it simply lets you explore without using one of your Rations.
      
ericamick
Junior Member

Posts: 21
Registered:
October 2010
Re:Perform the Temple Effect for Free Sun, 27 October 2013 19:45
rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 27 October 2013 13:19

ericamick wrote on Sun, 27 October 2013 20:30

I was thinking more of this:

Explore temple using toolbox ability
Move
Explore second (different) temple

I can go along with not allowing exploration before movement; it just wasn't obvious if the effect was intended to allow overriding the conventional turn order or just the need to pay for exploration.


Like Graham Butters said, you cannot explore before moving. This is clearly explained in the rules. So to do what you're talking about would be breaking the rules.

The toolbox ability does not let you explore any time you want...it simply lets you explore without using one of your Rations.


Fair enough, but virtually every toolbox and temple effect lets you break some rule, so there's no compelling reason to say that changing the turn order is absolutely forbidden.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7193
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Perform the Temple Effect for Free Sun, 27 October 2013 20:25
ericamick wrote on Sun, 27 October 2013 22:45

rasmussen81 wrote on Sun, 27 October 2013 13:19

ericamick wrote on Sun, 27 October 2013 20:30

I was thinking more of this:

Explore temple using toolbox ability
Move
Explore second (different) temple

I can go along with not allowing exploration before movement; it just wasn't obvious if the effect was intended to allow overriding the conventional turn order or just the need to pay for exploration.


Like Graham Butters said, you cannot explore before moving. This is clearly explained in the rules. So to do what you're talking about would be breaking the rules.

The toolbox ability does not let you explore any time you want...it simply lets you explore without using one of your Rations.


Fair enough, but virtually every toolbox and temple effect lets you break some rule, so there's no compelling reason to say that changing the turn order is absolutely forbidden.


Except that any time the tile lets you break a rule, it outlines the "break" clearly. In this one, the "break" is that you don't have to pay a Ration. The turn order isn't explained as being broken.
      
ericamick
Junior Member

Posts: 21
Registered:
October 2010
Re:Perform the Temple Effect for Free Wed, 30 October 2013 18:47
You might find this answer from Matthew Dunstan, the game's designer, of interest:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1060309/perform-temple-effec t-for-free
      
ericamick
Junior Member

Posts: 21
Registered:
October 2010
Re:Perform the Temple Effect for Free Wed, 06 November 2013 20:30
ericamick wrote on Wed, 30 October 2013 13:47

You might find this answer from Matthew Dunstan, the game's designer, of interest:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1060309/perform-temple-effec t-for-free


He realized he was mistaken. Oh well.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7193
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Perform the Temple Effect for Free Wed, 06 November 2013 21:18
ericamick wrote on Wed, 06 November 2013 23:30

ericamick wrote on Wed, 30 October 2013 13:47

You might find this answer from Matthew Dunstan, the game's designer, of interest:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1060309/perform-temple-effec t-for-free


He realized he was mistaken. Oh well.


Good to know, thanks for the link.
      
    
Previous Topic:Ivory Tile which Flips Toolbox Tokens when leaving Base Camp
Next Topic:Pathway Rules Question
Goto Forum: