Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Search
Forums » Ticket to Ride - the Board Game - English » Can destination cards be returned?
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
player1531917
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
February 2014
Can destination cards be returned? Thu, 27 February 2014 02:32
We have an argument going in our family. One member thinks you can return un-met destination cards when you pick up three new destination cards.

Ex. Player 1 picks 2 destination cards to keep. One track gets blocked. 3 turns later Player 1 picks 3 new destination cards and returns 2 from this turn and 1 from 3 turns ago, now that it has been blocked.

Is this allowed?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

User Pages
Posts: 7071
Registered:
July 2007
Re:Can destination cards be returned? Thu, 27 February 2014 05:15
player1531917 wrote on Wed, 26 February 2014 17:32

We have an argument going in our family. One member thinks you can return un-met destination cards when you pick up three new destination cards.

Ex. Player 1 picks 2 destination cards to keep. One track gets blocked. 3 turns later Player 1 picks 3 new destination cards and returns 2 from this turn and 1 from 3 turns ago, now that it has been blocked.

Is this allowed?


No, that is not allowed. If you keep a ticket, you're stuck with the ticket for the rest of the game. Sorry. Razz
      
mommers711
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Registered:
January 2012
Re:Can destination cards be returned? Fri, 20 June 2014 01:49
You can never return 3 cards as you said in your example - only 2.
It does not say in the US version of the game that you can't return destination cards that you previously picked (it does say that in other versions) so we play you can as long as you are only returning 2.
There might be a time when someone is going out soon & you need to dump a long destination, we will redraw to get a smaller destination for lesser points that you have to eat.
      
DetroitMichael
Junior Member

User Pages
Posts: 18
Registered:
December 2013
Re:Can destination cards be returned? Fri, 20 June 2014 08:33
mommers711 wrote on Thu, 19 June 2014 19:49

It does not say in the US version of the game that you can't return destination cards that you previously picked (it does say that in other versions) so we play you can as long as you are only returning 2.

If you enjoy playing the game that way and your interpretation is known to those who play against you, that's great. Just be aware that it is your house rule, not part of the official rules. Just because the official rules are silent on the issue does not mean that you can return up to 2 destination cards.
      
    
Previous Topic:Marklin, Switzerland and new to be announced map pack.
Next Topic:printable USA map
Goto Forum: