Forums

Search
Forums » Cleopatra and the Society of Architects - English » Purchasing multilpe mosaics
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
dwcraig
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Registered:
June 2005
Purchasing multilpe mosaics Fri, 23 June 2006 02:37
If a player is able to purchase multilpe mosaics, must he play those in the order purchased or can he choose to play those in any order he wishes?

      
Luke the Flaming
Senior Member

Posts: 270
Registered:
July 2003
Re:Purchasing multilpe mosaics Fri, 23 June 2006 20:58
Does it make any difference?
      
eric
-= Crew =-
Advanced Combat Training

User Pages
Posts: 3198
Registered:
October 2002
Re:Purchasing multilpe mosaics Sat, 24 June 2006 13:26
the order in which you build the mosaic during a same turn should make no difference.
eric
      
drewchap
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Registered:
December 2004
Re:Purchasing multilpe mosaics Sun, 25 June 2006 18:37
Actually, it does make a difference. I was in a situation where I bought 2 mosaics. The first one I bought would net me a big sanctuary IF I didn't place the second one inside it.

I asked this question on BGG and the consensus was: even if you buy multiple mosaics at once, you must build one at a time. So I could not create the sanctuary with that first piece.

What do you think, Eric?

[Updated on: Mon, 26 June 2006 16:41]

      
Passenger57
Junior Member

Posts: 25
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Purchasing multilpe mosaics Tue, 27 June 2006 19:53
drewchap wrote on Sun, 25 June 2006 09:37

even if you buy multiple mosaics at once, you must build one at a time. So I could not create the sanctuary with that first piece.


That's the same way we play it in our group, since it might give that player too much advantage. If the second piece can be built in the area that was created by the first that area is not a sanctuary, at least not by our standards.
      
straycat
Junior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 4
Registered:
June 2004
Re:Purchasing multilpe mosaics Tue, 29 August 2006 03:11
If you read the rules, you would not be able to create a sanctuary if you are able to put another mosaic in the space you want to create a sanctuary. A sanctuary may not be big enough to fit another mosaic. Twisted Evil
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 399
Registered:
January 2006
Re:Purchasing multilpe mosaics Sun, 22 October 2006 00:44
Quote:

Often a Sanctuary will be 4 or less spaces large, but some larger ones
can be built, as long as it can be proved that no remaining Mosaic could
be placed inside the newly formed Sanctuary.

Rules, Page 9. Emphasis mine

which means to me that if you can play one before another, it's not remaining anymore. So order would matter. Not much, but it would.
      
reverendvader
Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 94
Registered:
November 2005
Re:Purchasing multilpe mosaics Mon, 23 October 2006 22:18
So, could he have placed the "second" mosaic first (in a different area) and then the first to create his sanctuary?

The question still remains: Do you have to play the mosaics in the order they were purchased if purchased at the same time?

[Updated on: Mon, 23 October 2006 22:19]

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Purchasing multilpe mosaics Mon, 23 October 2006 23:42
reverendvader wrote on Mon, 23 October 2006 15:18

So, could he have placed the "second" mosaic first (in a different area) and then the first to create his sanctuary?

The question still remains: Do you have to play the mosaics in the order they were purchased if purchased at the same time?



Eric already stated that the order in which you build the mosaics in a given turn is not important. So I think that means you can buy multiple and place them in any order that you want.
      
AK_Aramis
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 399
Registered:
January 2006
Re:Purchasing multilpe mosaics Tue, 24 October 2006 08:14
I was just pointing out the Straycat's error. It's not "any mosaic tile" but only those "remaining." The question is "Remaining where?"

If remaining means only in the quarry, then, no, order matters not at all which you play first.

If remaining means "not on the temple board", then it does. Since Eric says it shouldn't matter, then perhaps remaining means "in the quarry."

(note: I haven't gotten this one yet, I just happened to browse the rules and forum, and spot that, while trying to decide whether to get it or not...)
      
dee2
Senior Member
Cadet

User Pages
Posts: 286
Registered:
November 2002
Re:Purchasing multilpe mosaics Thu, 26 October 2006 16:18
Hello, designer Bruno Cathala answer me that you can play the mosaics you just purchased in any order.

and it can be very effective to buy 2 mosaics Twisted Evil
      
    
Previous Topic:Refilling the market
Next Topic:Orientation of discarded cards
Goto Forum: