Memoir '44 D-Day Landings Memoir '44 D-Day Landings

Forums

Search
Forums » Off-Topic » Off Topic - C&C:A question
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorTopic
jackscratch76
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Registered:
May 2004
  Off Topic - C&C:A question Wed, 27 December 2006 15:42
Is there anyone out there who's familiar with Commands and Colors Ancients? Specifically I'm trying to find out what the "Immortals" rule is in the Greek/Eastern Kingdoms expansion says. Thanks!

      
Faithful
Member

Posts: 82
Registered:
May 2006
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Wed, 27 December 2006 16:59
I wish I could help, but I got C&C:A and the Exp. 1 for Christmas (along with BattleLore), and I have been very busy placing stickers on the blocks.

I have only placed stickers on one side as I thought the blocks would have a tendency to fall over standing up, so one side allows them to lay on the Board.

Now I just need to find someone to play this game with!
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Wed, 27 December 2006 23:39
It is on their website under Living rules.....

Quote:

The Carthaginian Sacred Band is a special unit. Place a Special Unit block (if playing with expansion blocks) or a Carthaginian Victory Banner block in the hex with the Sacred Band unit to distinguish it from other Carthaginian units. Sacred Band special abilities:

-The Sacred Band will score one hit for each leader symbol rolled in close combat. A leader does not have to be attached or in an adjacent hex to confer this benefit.
- The Sacred Band may ignore one flag.
- The Sacred Band retains these special abilities until the last block of the unit has been removed from the battlefield.

The Special Unit/Victory banner block moves with the unit. It does not count as a block that can be removed to satisfy losses. This block is not transferable to any other unit. If the Sacred Band unit is eliminated, this block is removed from the map along with the last block of the unit.
      
jackscratch76
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Thu, 28 December 2006 15:29
Thanks, ColtsFan, that's exactly what I wanted to know. Wow, those Immortals are some bad hombres.
      
Kenntak
Member

User Pages
Posts: 63
Registered:
May 2006
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Thu, 28 December 2006 16:39
Wait, do you mean the Persian Immortals? They are medium infantry armed with bows.
      
jackscratch76
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Thu, 28 December 2006 16:42
Yeah the Persian Immortals. They use different rules from the Sacred Band ColtsFan posted above? What are the rules for the Persian Immortals? Are they just medium bowmen?
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Thu, 28 December 2006 18:29
opps sorry. I read too fast. those were the rules for the sacred band. I thought that a "special" unit in Ancients was basicall trearted as if it had a leader attached to it without having a leader piece. So it could ignore a flag, score on a leader roll, etc.

I'll have to check on the imoortals when I get home as the expansion is not up on the website yet.

Oh wait.... It will probably be in Vassal - what scenario is this?

      
jackscratch76
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Thu, 28 December 2006 19:27
The scenario I was looking at is one created by Don Clarke; the battle of Thermopylae. It has a note on the side that one of the units uses the "Immortals" rule in the C&C:A expansion, but I can't actually find that rule anywhere. I was just kind of curious what the Immortals do game-wise.

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Fri, 29 December 2006 03:00
Found it finally. Battle of Issus - 333 BC

Quote:

Persian Immortals:
The Immortals are armed with bows and follow Ranged Combat Rules.


The scenario indicates they are to be Medium Infantry with a special forces badge. Not sure what it all translates too. I guess that means they can move 1 and roll 4 in Close combat; but stay still and roll 2 up to 3 hexes away? Or move one and roll 1 up to 3 hexes? hmmmm.....
      
Kenntak
Member

User Pages
Posts: 63
Registered:
May 2006
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Fri, 29 December 2006 04:19
Yes, treat them as medium infantry with bows. They can move 1 and shoot with one die up to three hexes away, or don't move and shoot with two dice up to three hexes away. In close combat they roll 4 dice. An interesting unit.
      
jackscratch76
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Registered:
May 2004
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Fri, 29 December 2006 16:04
In close combat they roll FOUR dice? I thought medium infantry (with the exception of a full-strength warrior unit) rolled 3 dice.
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

User Pages
Posts: 3326
Registered:
February 2006
Re:Off Topic - C&C:A question Fri, 29 December 2006 17:21
jackscratch76 wrote on Fri, 29 December 2006 09:04

In close combat they roll FOUR dice? I thought medium infantry (with the exception of a full-strength warrior unit) rolled 3 dice.


No, it's like this for close combat....

Light Infantry (Green) - 2 dice
Auxilia (Green) - 3 Dice
Medium Infantry (Blue) - 4 Dice
Warior Infantry (Blue) - 4/3 Dice
Heavy Infantry (Red) - 5 Dice
      
    
Previous Topic:Vassal?
Next Topic:Days of Wonder announces newest board game - Colosseum!
Goto Forum: