Forums

Search
Memoir '44 » Memoir '44 - English » A draw in a scenario
Show: Today's Posts 
  
AuthorThread
Morgiliath
Senior Member
Generalmajor

User Pages
Posts: 165
Registered:
January 2011
A draw in a scenario Sun, 09 December 2012 14:25
Hi,
Richard Borg explained once that a draw in a scenario is possible only with kamikaze...
Well, yesterday I played Aiwan (the board game) and we had another one. That is, if we understood the rules correctly Smile

Scenario: Fire action at Singling (from Equipment Pack)
End of turn A: Axis 7 medals, Allies 6 medals.

In this scenario there are TWO majority TURN START medals possible.

One for UNCONTESTED CONTROL of four road hexes
One for MAJORITY of five towns

At the end of turn A, no medals for that are awarded, as
AXIS have two roads and two towns
ALLIES have two roads and two towns
one town is unoccupied

Then comes turn B
Allies move ONE unit FROM a town hex (counting), therefore reducing number of held towns to 1, and with this unit kill an AXIS unit holding a road hex (counting). ALLIES feared ambush, so they had to move out of town. So at this stage medals are 7-7.
BUT -
beginning of turn C
AXIS have ONE road and TWO towns
ALLIES have TWO roads and ONE town - therefore both sides simultaneously get one medal each, ending in an 8-8 draw.

Sounds bizzare, but that's what happened to our game yesterday. We spent 15 minutes analyzing this, and decided that it was indeed a draw.


We are not novices, we have in total around 3000 games online and 1000 board Smile and it was our first draw.

Can someone from DoW confirm that it was indeed a draw?
Will enclose pictures of the final situation.


[Updated on: Sun, 09 December 2012 14:39]

      

SubjectPosterDate
  A draw in a scenario  MorgiliathSun, 09 December 2012 14:25
  Re:A draw in a scenario rasmussen81Sun, 09 December 2012 14:35
  Re:A draw in a scenario MorgiliathSun, 09 December 2012 14:39
  Re:A draw in a scenario sam1812Sun, 09 December 2012 16:01
  Re:A draw in a scenario AlmilcarSun, 09 December 2012 18:33
  Re:A draw in a scenario JFKoskiMon, 10 December 2012 02:43
  Re:A draw in a scenario MorgiliathMon, 10 December 2012 16:05
  Re:A draw in a scenario rasmussen81Mon, 10 December 2012 16:52
  Re:A draw in a scenario Flemish_HavyTue, 11 December 2012 07:11
  Re:A draw in a scenario ad79Tue, 11 December 2012 09:13
  Re:A draw in a scenario Flemish_HavyTue, 11 December 2012 14:36
  Re:A draw in a scenario TurboheizerFri, 18 January 2013 12:05
  Re:A draw in a scenario sam1812Fri, 18 January 2013 13:41
  Re:A draw in a scenario Quit2Fri, 18 January 2013 14:52
  Re:A draw in a scenario TurboheizerFri, 18 January 2013 15:37
  Re:A draw in a scenario JFKoskiSat, 16 February 2013 21:20
  Re:A draw in a scenario rasmussen81Sun, 17 February 2013 03:02
  Re:A draw in a scenario 5 star generalSun, 17 February 2013 22:10
  Re:A draw in a scenario clexton27Mon, 18 February 2013 01:26
  Re:A draw in a scenario 5 star generalMon, 18 February 2013 21:26
  Re:A draw in a scenario 5 star generalMon, 18 February 2013 21:29
Previous Topic:Which expansion to get next?
Next Topic:Occasional infidelity
Goto Forum: