Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » BattleLore - English » Some Epic questions
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
GandalfTheGrey
Junior Member

Messages: 28
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Some Epic questions Thu, 04 October 2007 20:56
1. The fifth card is deployed in the 5th row of hexes.In the rules I have read: "As with other deployments, if there are no vacant hexes left, Scout Guard units must be deployed on vacant hexes of the player's baseline...". Is that possible?

2. What if you can't replace your Feudal Levy f.e. two green banners and no green banners left?

Thanks!
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Some Epic questions Thu, 04 October 2007 21:06
1. I am not sure what you are asking. if you try to deploy scouts and you have no room in that area - say because of impassable terrain, they must be sent to the baseline.

2. Then you don't get a unit. Remember, a green levy token can be replaced with any green unit - be it foot or mounted. I would think it very rare indeed to run out of green units.
      
mvettemagred
Senior Member

Messages: 266
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2005
Re:Some Epic questions Thu, 04 October 2007 21:25
1. I think he's saying, since the Scout Guard is deployed like the Reserves (i.e. in any hex on the 5th row), and since the Scout guard is deployed first, how could there not be enough vacant hexes available on the 5th row to deploy 4-5 units?

I agree; this should be a rare instance indeed. If there is an impassable river running through your 5th row, for example, you may be limited in your hexes. Otherwise, all Scout Guard units should easily deploy on the 5th row.

2. CF is correct; green tokens must be replaced by green units. I've yet to run out of green units when using CtA.
      
GandalfTheGrey
Junior Member

Messages: 28
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Some Epic questions Thu, 04 October 2007 23:07
mvettemagred wrote on Thu, 04 October 2007 21:25

1. I think he's saying, since the Scout Guard is deployed like the Reserves (i.e. in any hex on the 5th row), and since the Scout guard is deployed first, how could there not be enough vacant hexes available on the 5th row to deploy 4-5 units?

I agree; this should be a rare instance indeed. If there is an impassable river running through your 5th row, for example, you may be limited in your hexes. Otherwise, all Scout Guard units should easily deploy on the 5th row.



Yep that was my question...

Thanks voor the answers!
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 1597
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2004
Re:Some Epic questions Sat, 06 October 2007 01:52
IN regards to question #1, I believe the word "vacant" means there is no terrain in that square for Epic for deploying Scout guard units.

Cab
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Messages: 830
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Some Epic questions Sat, 06 October 2007 15:26
Caboose wrote on Fri, 05 October 2007 17:52

IN regards to question #1, I believe the word "vacant" means there is no terrain in that square for Epic for deploying Scout guard units.


Consistency is unimaginitive, but helpful in rule sets Very Happy - in the glossary I believe (too lazy to tromp down the stairs and rumage through the game closet for the rulebook, I will not be disappointed when I can view a pdf of that online Wink ) "empty hex" is defined as a hex unoccupied by a unit, "countryside hex" is defined as a regular gameboard hex with no terrain tile upon it. I think "vacant" simply refers to an "empty hex" and not necessarily a "countryside hex" as well. Usually the rules are specific when something must be placed on a countryside hex, like with the landmarks. Anyway, all that brain damage was to say that I'm pretty sure vacant just means "empty", should have read "empty hex" rather than "vacant hex" (unless "vacant hex" is in the glossary too and I just don't remember Very Happy ).
      
Caboose
Senior Member
First Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 1597
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2004
Re:Some Epic questions Mon, 08 October 2007 19:12
Todd, since the Guard is the FIRST group to be deployed, what else would vacant mean ? Unless it was a "last minute" rule change and Guards were the last group to be deployed and now are the first.

Granted the word vacant is vague. But then also it seems odd about the last line if one cannot deploy the units on the 5th line they must be also deployed on the 2nd since there are no other units on the board.

Cab
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Some Epic questions Mon, 08 October 2007 20:51
I have to agree with Todd on this one. A hex can have passable terrain and still be vacant. They used the same terminology for placing units in CtA. I think they were just trying to be consistent with that wording.

And to think of it within context, why wouldn't your scouts take to the terrain such as hills or forests? They are scouting out the enemy not announcing their presence.

Vacant - for the sake of placing units - means to be vacant of other units (a pointless definition for those being the first down anyway) and not impassable terrain.
      
GandalfTheGrey
Junior Member

Messages: 28
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Some Epic questions Wed, 10 October 2007 09:02
Some detail questions:

1. Rules: "Each player draws five deployment cards..." Which is the fifth card used for 'Scout Guard'? May we pick the fifth card randomly?

2. Do we deploy the 'Scout Guard' before we deploy the 'Guards' and 'Reserve'. I mean, yesterday we first put the 'Scout Guard' on the board, picked are 'Guards' for each section and put the 'Reserve' aside. When we deployed our 'Scout Guard', we already looked at the other cards. If we first deploy our 'Scout Guard' without knowing/looking at the other cards, we don't have an advantage.

Thanks!
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Some Epic questions Wed, 10 October 2007 13:22
1. You draw all 5 cards first. Then you select which card represents which section: Scout, Right Guard, Center Guard, Left Guard, Reserve.

2. They are played in the order listed above in #1, one at a time. The "Scout" goes first and just gives you the opportunity to place units in front of your guards. There is no "scouting" advantage, per se. So when you place the Scout, you shouldn't know what your opponent's other cards might be.
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Messages: 830
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Some Epic questions Wed, 10 October 2007 14:28
GandalfTheGrey wrote on Wed, 10 October 2007 01:02



2. Do we deploy the 'Scout Guard' before we deploy the 'Guards' and 'Reserve'. I mean, yesterday we first put the 'Scout Guard' on the board, picked are 'Guards' for each section and put the 'Reserve' aside. When we deployed our 'Scout Guard', we already looked at the other cards. If we first deploy our 'Scout Guard' without knowing/looking at the other cards, we don't have an advantage.




ColtsFan wrote shortly thereafter

2. They are played in the order listed above in #1, one at a time. The "Scout" goes first and just gives you the opportunity to place units in front of your guards. There is no "scouting" advantage, per se. So when you place the Scout, you shouldn't know what your opponent's other cards might be.


I think the advantage Gandalf was referring to was in knowing what one's own other deployment cards would be, and yes one should know that: draw all 5 cards at once and from those decide which is to be the scout, which the guards, and which the reserve. If that's not what you meant, Gandalf, we can all just pretend this post never happened Very Happy

But, yeah, not disputing any of the content in ColtsFan's post - that's the way I've been playing it anyway Smile
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Some Epic questions Wed, 10 October 2007 15:33
Todd-

I didn't read it that way. Obviously, you know what your cards are since they are all drawn at the same time and what you want to assign them as. I thought he was getting tripped up in the fact that the first troops down are "scouts" yet they have nothing to scout. One would think that scouts would have that advantage, and he has a point. (If that is what he was trying to say!)
      
GandalfTheGrey
Junior Member

Messages: 28
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Some Epic questions Wed, 10 October 2007 19:17
ColtsFan wrote shortly thereafter

2.
I think the advantage Gandalf was referring to was in knowing what one's own other deployment cards would be, and yes one should know that: draw all 5 cards at once and from those decide which is to be the scout, which the guards, and which the reserve. If that's not what you meant, Gandalf, we can all just pretend this post never happened Very Happy



That's what I meant. But I take the fifth card ('scout') without looking at the rest. Then after deploying the 'scout', I look at the other cards.
So if a player may look at all the five cards, my question is answered.

Thanks a lot! (also ColtsFan76 Very Happy )

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 10 October 2007 19:18]

      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Some Epic questions Wed, 10 October 2007 20:51
Yes, you draw all 5 cards first, look at them all, and then reveal them to your opponent one at a time.
      
Golden Dragon
Junior Member

Messages: 7
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Some Epic questions Fri, 19 October 2007 17:11
Let's add a further question:

Can the Scout Guards be placed in 5th row hexes outside the "deployment zones" where the regular cards go? Can the reserves be placed in 2d row hexes outside the deployment zones?
      
andrewgr
Junior Member

Messages: 28
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2006
Re:Some Epic questions Fri, 19 October 2007 21:54
Which player places their scout units first?

If it's simultaneous, you get into a never-ending cycle where I want to playce my unit near (or far) from a particular opposing unit, and he wants the opposite, so we sit staring at each other waiting for one of us to deploy the unit first...
      
ColtsFan76
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 3326
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2006
Re:Some Epic questions Fri, 19 October 2007 22:08
andrewgr wrote on Fri, 19 October 2007 14:54

Which player places their scout units first?

If it's simultaneous, you get into a never-ending cycle where I want to playce my unit near (or far) from a particular opposing unit, and he wants the opposite, so we sit staring at each other waiting for one of us to deploy the unit first...

Epic is silent on this so you must go back to CtA. CtA makes it sound like it is alternating but nothing specific as to who starts it off.

It seems the default "tie-breaker" is that the owner of the game has final say. Most people don't like that so the next tie-breaker would be for each player to roll 6-dice. The player that rolls the most green helmets get his choice to either start or defer. Then it should alternate back and forth.
      
Maimed
Senior Member
Oberleutnant

Pages Perso
Messages: 304
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2007
Re:Some Epic questions Sat, 03 May 2008 19:33
ColtsFan76 wrote on Wed, 10 October 2007 13:22

1. You draw all 5 cards first. Then you select which card represents which section: Scout, Right Guard, Center Guard, Left Guard, Reserve.

2. They are played in the order listed above in #1, one at a time. The "Scout" goes first and just gives you the opportunity to place units in front of your guards. There is no "scouting" advantage, per se. So when you place the Scout, you shouldn't know what your opponent's other cards might be.



I played Epic with only 4 cards..
"Right Guard, Center Guard, Left Guard, Reserve.!"
When and where do I place the "Scouts" ? do I get scouts in all Epic games?
When using the scouts, what is the number of flags before the end of game? ( with the normal 4 cards the flags are 7 right? how many flags are need to break and army with the 5 cards?)

thank you
Mike
      
toddrew
Senior Member
Cadet

Messages: 830
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Some Epic questions Sat, 03 May 2008 23:36
I probably should look this up before answering, as it's been sometime since I actually played an Epic game, but I've got a few lazy tendencies Very Happy :

the scout is placed before the sections, which are placed before the reserves. Just place all the units from one card along that top row (the 6th?), then proceed as in a smaller board game.

As to the number of victory banners needed, those are adventure specific - up to you how many you want to go to, unless an adventure already has determined the amount. I think 7 is about the minimum for Epic games. When playing CtA games on the small board, 7 is the amount I suggest, on Epic I would imagine going to the max would be the way to do it too.

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 03 May 2008 23:38]

      
    
Sujet précédent:Blue Hobgoblin Ostrich Riders
Sujet suivant:Skeleton/Zombie Army
Aller au forum: