Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
gunhawk
Senior Member
Major

Messages: 169
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 04:27
I made it to the M44 demo at Historicon last night and it was a mighty interesting and enlightening experience.

Richard demo'd the game as both a miniatures game and a board game. There were several sets of M44 to demo the set, but Richard also set up a gaming table for miniatures. It looked exactly like an M44 game, but 1/72nd scale landing craft, bunkers,buildings, armor, etc. were used. The table was marked off in the same hex pattern as the game board and a new scenario was used. I believe it was Juno or Gold beach. I didn't play in it. Beside the miniature game there were at least 6 board games going on at the same time. There was a *lot* of interest and the area was pretty busy throughout the demo and many misconceptions were cleared up.

Re: Paratroop landings.

This was the biggest surprise. *Nobody* has been playing this correctly. I was so surprised at his explanation of the paratroop drop rules that I asked him to re-explain it about three times, just to make sure I got it right.

If two or more figs are dropped into the same hex they are *both* removed.

Yep. You heard me right. They are *both* removed.

The next big surprise is that even if a *piece* of a dropped fig, not most of it, just a piece of it, is touching a hex that another dropped piece is either entirely in, or just *partially* in, they are *both* removed.

So if three dropped figs are just *partially in* the *same* hex *all three* are removed.

Now understand this. I placed figs on a board and showed Richard these situations and asked him to confirm what he said and he did.

He also said that the pieces can be dropped across the board. They don't have to all be dropped simultaneously. I guess that in his eyes the above situation can be avoided in that way.

Re: Wire and retreating armor.

Retreating armor does *not* remove wire. Even if it stops in the same hex. Armor has to make it's full retreat and moves right through wire without stopping. The wire is totally ignored in the retreat. Richard's reasoning is that the armor is retreating through a large area with wire in it, but not necessarilly covering the whole area, so the tanks maneuver around the wire while retreating.

Re: Terrain and sandbag emplacements:

A sandbag on another type of terrain does not have any effect. So to put a sandbag on a hill, town, or any other sort of terrain is totally useless.

I found this out when Richard happened to walk by during one of my games and told me that a sandbag that I had placed in a town would have no effect. He said that "terrain effects are not cumulative" and that's a direct quote. I was so surprised at this rather crappy turn of events in my game that I didn't think to question him about other similar situations. So don't ask. Sad

The only other interesting tidbit that I picked up is that half hexes block LOS.

So there ya go boys and girls. Them's the rules. Play it that way or don't play it that way at home, but expect to see these rules enforced at tourneys.

      
inquisitor
Member

Messages: 43
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 04:49
I am sorry, but Richard's group said that Sandbags do have an effect, they don't allow you to cumulate dice reductions, but sandbags allow you to ignore the first flag rolled. I don't believe it was ever indoubt that terrain effects are not cumulative (I received that information when playing at Kublacon).

When I played at the convention it was explained that you could not place say a bunker on hill and get a -3 when armor attacked.

You could entrench your units in town, place a sandbag with them thereby allowing them to ignore the first flag (but again you could not get a dice reduction for both being in town and being behind sandbags.

The paratroopers was not really explained that well in the rule box and this sheds alot of light on the subject.

Thanks for sharing.
      
gunhawk
Senior Member
Major

Messages: 169
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 05:11
inquisitor wrote on Fri, 23 July 2004 22:49

I am sorry, but Richard's group said that Sandbags do have an effect, they don't allow you to cumulate dice reductions, but sandbags allow you to ignore the first flag rolled. I don't believe it was ever indoubt that terrain effects are not cumulative (I received that information when playing at Kublacon).

When I played at the convention it was explained that you could not place say a bunker on hill and get a -3 when armor attacked.

You could entrench your units in town, place a sandbag with them thereby allowing them to ignore the first flag (but again you could not get a dice reduction for both being in town and being behind sandbags.

The paratroopers was not really explained that well in the rule box and this sheds alot of light on the subject.

Thanks for sharing.


Richard didn't make that distinction. Are you saying that *Richard* said this, or that his *group* said this?


      
KippRyon
Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 55
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 05:44
Look at the Official FAQ, second question.
It will answer your post about the sandbags, keeping all of us from PANIC.

The 'Half Hex - Line of Sight' is answered in the FAQ (I asked this on day 1, and it made it in the v.1 FAQ...)

Anything else you heard/saw that has not been the general assumption on this forum will either be in future updates of the FAQ, or were due to a 'heat of the moment' interpretation.

Thanks for the update and keeping the forum group in the loop.

Good report.

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 24 July 2004 05:48]

      
gunhawk
Senior Member
Major

Messages: 169
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 05:57
KippRyon wrote on Fri, 23 July 2004 23:44

Look at the Official FAQ, second question.
It will answer your post about the sandbags, keeping all of us from PANIC.



Yow! Sorry. I guess Rich and I had a lack of communication on the sandbag issue, but as I said, I didn't have time to have a deep discussion about it.

Thanks for clearing that up before it got out of hand. Very Happy
      
KippRyon
Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 55
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 06:10
Razz No Prob.

Did you get any good rumors about:

More Standard Scenarios (how many and when?).

More Overlord Scenarios (how many and when?).

Updated FAQ (how many and when?).

New release version candidates (i.e., M'45, M'40, Pacific, etc...?).

Thanks again for your post!
      
gunhawk
Senior Member
Major

Messages: 169
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 06:42
KippRyon wrote on Sat, 24 July 2004 00:10



Did you get any good rumors about:




Sorry, no. Rich was pretty busy explaining the game to newbs, and I just wanted a few issues clarified. I also wanted to get in a few games. Very Happy All that I know for sure is that there will be three new scenarios introduced at the WBC. They will all be D-Day oriented. As I said before though, the game seems well received. There were quite a few people at the demo and they rotated out and in as new people arrived. I can also say this; Richard is very helpful and enthusiastic about his game, so we can assume that by the time the weekend is over he will have introduced the game to *many* new people.
      
boombob
Junior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 22
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 07:25
Re: Wire and retreating armor.

Retreating armor does *not* remove wire. Even if it stops in the same hex. Armor has to make it's full retreat and moves right through wire without stopping. The wire is totally ignored in the retreat. Richard's reasoning is that the armor is retreating through a large area with wire in it, but not necessarilly covering the whole area, so the tanks maneuver around the wire while retreating.

This seems odd, because Richard ran my son and I thru a beach landing game at Origins with his "minis" set and when one of our armor units had to retreat back toward the beach, it went thru a wire hex and he indicated that that action WOULD remove the wire. His rationale there was that, since a retreat was not a "controlled movement" (just guys trying to get the hell out of what they had gotten into) they would not, especially with armor, be picky about how they extricated themselves out of the situation; hence his reasoning at Origins that retreating armor DID remove wire.
      
gunhawk
Senior Member
Major

Messages: 169
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 08:39
boombob wrote on Sat, 24 July 2004 01:25

Re: Wire and retreating armor.


This seems odd, because Richard ran my son and I thru a beach landing game at Origins with his "minis" set and when one of our armor units had to retreat back toward the beach, it went thru a wire hex and he indicated that that action WOULD remove the wire.


Y'know what? I'm not surprised. If he had stopped me in the middle of our game and explained the *whole* rule to us, indicating that there *wouldn't* be a reduction to the die roll if a sandbag was added to other terrain as "terrain effects aren't cumulative", but that we could *still* ignore the 1st retreat flag, there wouldn't be so much confusion. Instead he just pointed out that it wasn't a good idea to add the sandbag to the town. He probably meant it as a tip on good tactics while *I* took it as a rules explanation. I wouldn't be surprised to find that either you or I misunderstood him in this wire/armor case as well. It's really tough to nail him down on a rules topic in the middle of a demo. It's really odd though that he would explain his reasons for a rule in an entirely different way to you than he did to me. Change of heart maybe? I dunno. If I was going back I'd ask him. As it is, this is really a pain in the ass!
      
KippRyon
Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 55
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 09:06
As in the famous words of 'Dragnet':

"Just the facts, ma'am"

We'll wait...

      
BloodyBucket
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 193
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 09:12
The updated FAQ is due soon, then we will have it in black and white. I'm willing to wait.
      
gunhawk
Senior Member
Major

Messages: 169
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Sat, 24 July 2004 17:08
BloodyBucket wrote on Sat, 24 July 2004 03:12

The updated FAQ is due soon, then we will have it in black and white. I'm willing to wait.


Heh Heh. Under the circumstances, so am I. Very Happy
      
Blitzkrieg
Junior Member

Messages: 2
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2004
  Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Tue, 27 July 2004 20:08
gunhawk wrote on Fri, 23 July 2004 22:27



{Snip}

Re: Wire and retreating armor.

Retreating armor does *not* remove wire. Even if it stops in the same hex. Armor has to make it's full retreat and moves right through wire without stopping. The wire is totally ignored in the retreat. Richard's reasoning is that the armor is retreating through a large area with wire in it, but not necessarilly covering the whole area, so the tanks maneuver around the wire while retreating.

{snip}

OK my armor has retreated and has stopped on a hex with wire.

Under what circumstances can the wire be removed?
My group has played that:
If it moves out - the wire stays (like infantry).
If it fights from that hex - wire is removed.
If it is given and order but does not move or fight - wire can be removed.

I hope this is covered in the revised FAQ too.



      
gunhawk
Senior Member
Major

Messages: 169
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Wed, 28 July 2004 06:09
Blitzkrieg wrote on Tue, 27 July 2004 14:08

gunhawk wrote on Fri, 23 July 2004 22:27



Re: Wire and retreating armor.

Under what circumstances can the wire be removed?
My group has played that:
If it moves out - the wire stays (like infantry).
If it fights from that hex - wire is removed.
If it is given and order but does not move or fight - wire can be removed.

I hope this is covered in the revised FAQ too.






I agree 101%. We definitely need this stuff in writing. Confused
      
MadJackMcMad
Junior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 25
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Richard Borg answers questions at Historicon Mon, 02 August 2004 16:59
boombob wrote on Sat, 24 July 2004 01:25



since a retreat was not a "controlled movement" (just guys trying to get the hell out of what they had gotten into) they would not, especially with armor, be picky about how they extricated themselves out of the situation;


In my opinion, It's exactly for this reason that i believe it makes sense to not remove wire as an armour unit retreats. When armour is moving normally I would believe that they purposely move into an area with wire to remove it as a tactical move. When a unit is retreating they are only thinking about one thing - getting out of the firing line and as such wont be specifically targeting wire (as symbolically, it's only considered to be in part of the hex area and not all of it). Sure a retreating tank may well be rolling through wire but it may equally not be.

I think by removing wire as part of a retreat move you are taking advantage of the rule and shouldn't be allowed.

What do people think?
      
    
Sujet précédent:"Dig In" card question.
Sujet suivant:Ideas for Japanese Armor?
Aller au forum: