Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Memoir '44 FAQ update
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
RBorg
Game Designer
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 238
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2003
Memoir '44 FAQ update Tue, 03 August 2004 03:51
Hi All
Because of Ticket to Ride and Memoir '44 success, the personal at Days of Wonder is stretched beyond all human limits. I'm posting this update to the FAQ to this Forums section as a stopgap until this text can be coded into the FAQ section.

ENJOY!
Richard Borg


Update From 7/5/04 to 8/2/04

MEMOIR '44 FAQ


Hills - Line of Sight

Q. Can an Infantry or Armor unit on a hill hex see over a hex with terrain that blocks line of sight?
A. No
Terrain (towns, forest, hedgerows, bunkers) and units friend or enemy block line of sight.

Q. Can an Infantry or Armor unit on a hill hex, see over a hex with terrain that blocks line of sight if the target unit is also on a hill hex?
A. No
Also note per the rules (Page 14) a Hill hex will block line of sight for units trying to look over the Hill. In addition, when there are a group of hill hexes together, an enemy unit on a lower level will only have line of sight to the front (first rank) hill hexes. A unit on a hill in the second rank may not be seen. A unit on the second rank hill does not have line of sight over the front (first rank) onto hexes on the lower level.

The plateau explanation in the rules is there because hills are the only type of terrain that doesn't block Line of Sight when they are in a group or part of the same larger hill.

Note also review in the Scenarios from the Front section Hills (Examples of Line of Sight).


Days of Wonder Memoir '44 Scenario Editor

Q. Is it ok for the authors of scenarios created using the DoW scenario editor to use the product of that editor on other web sites? In most cases, this would mean saving the print version as an MS Word document.

A. Absolutely, this is fine. In as much as possible, we will try and be as open as possible regarding the game and welcome the community's contributions, regardless of where they publish those (or which tool they use to do so for that matter). Of course, this does not mean (like I read somewhere, on BGG maybe?) that the game itself is "Open Source" or that we won't defend the game's copyrights, trademarks and other rights. But the more open we can be, the better the game will be, we believe.
eric


Beach Movement

Q. When an armor unit moves two hexes along clear terrain, may it enter a beach hex as its third hex of movement?
A. No
A unit that moves onto a beach hex may only has a move of 2 hexes that turn. However, the unit may take ground and gain an additional hex of movement
If a unit moves onto a beach hex during any part of its movement phase (it does not matter if it's the first or the second hex), it may only move two hexes for its movement this turn.

- An armor unit moves ashore from the ocean. The first hex is a beach. The armor can only move one more hex.
- An armor unit moves from one beach hex to another. The next hex is open ground, but the unit must stop because it moved into a beach hex first.
- An armor unit moves across one open hex then onto a beach hex. It may proceed onto the beach hex then it must stop. The two hex limit applies once the unit enters the beach hex.


Behind Enemy Lines - Card

Q. May an infantry unit move three hexes on a beach when playing the 'behind enemy Lines' card?
A. Yes
To avoid endless debate about this card, the original intent of the card was that the infantry unit's movement would not be restricted by terrain but terrain battle restrictions would still apply. I failed to word this clearly on the card. The card should of read that Terrain movement restrictions do not apply but battle restrictions do still apply.


Artillery

Q. Does artillery ignore terrain as well as fixed and removable obstacles?
A. Yes
See Bunkers / Sandbags (page 16) - Artillery battle dice are not reduced.

Q. Does an artillery unit in a bunker have a 360-degree fire arc?
A. Yes


Armor Bonus Die

Q. If armor makes an attack which is given a bonus die (ie Their Finest Hour, Armored Assault, etc), at Close Assault range...then retreats/kills the unit it assaults and makes an Armored Overrun...does it keep the bonus die for the second attack?
A. Yes


Pegasus Bridge Axis Card Draw

Q. If the Axis player plays a Recon card on his first or second turns how many cards should he draw. After my first turn, I get to draw 2 cards to add to my hand. The Recon card shows that I get to pick 2 cards and discard 1 of them. This seems kind of confusing to me concerning the way this one is set up.
A. Here is how you should play it:
Draw 2 cards (for your Recon card), and keep one and discard the other, then draw a 'second' card.


Additional Airdrop - Sainte-Mere-Eglise

Q. Are all four Paratrooper figures dropped at the same time?
A. Yes
Put the Paratrooper figures in you hand. Position your hand about 12" above the board and just open your hand. I believe they should all fall out at about the same time Wink

Q. If two figures drop into same hex are both are out of action?
A. Yes
If any part of the Paratrooper figure is off board and also on a hex on the board, the figure is out of action. If any part of the figure is on the same hex as a friendly or enemy figure and also on a hex with no other figure, the Paratrooper figure is out of action.

Q. What part of a Paratrooper figure determines which hex it is in?
A. When a figure that is on more than one hex, the Allied player may choose any of these hexes to place the figure and the rest of the unit. If however, part of the figure is in a hex and part off the board it is out of action.


Operation Lüttich Scenario

Q. If the Ally player plays a Recon card as an Air Power strike, does he also get to draw 2 command cards and pick 1 as stated in the special card text? Or is this game text ignored?
A. You play it EXACTLY like an Air Power card, so you do not get the 2 cards draw.

Q. Does this special rule also apply to the 'Recon In Force' card?
A. No
The Recon in Force card may not be used as an Air Power strike.

Q. May my opponent played a counter attack card right after my Recon card (used as air power card)?
A. Yes
The counter attack is an Air Power strike, not a Recon card.


Wire

Q. May an armor unit that retreats onto a hex with wire remove the wire?
A. No
We look at the act of removing wire by an infantry or armor unit as an offence action. Therefore an armor unit retreating onto or through a hex with wire will not remove the wire.


Close Assault - Card

Q. When playing the close assault card-can a unit designated to close assault still fire if the unit he was to close assault is no longer adjacent to him?
A. No
Units ordered may only close assault.

Q. Close assault card is played, unit retreats, which puts it next to a unit that originally was not adjacent when order was issued. Can it battle?
A. No, only units adjacent when the order card is played are issued orders.
(Thanks Ubergeek)


Dig In - Card

Q. The Dig in card says, issue orders to 4 infantry units. Improve position by adding sandbags. Does this mean to move and shoot like normal then add sandbags when those 4 units are done?
A. No, just add sandbags to 4 infantry units and turn over.
(Thanks Sarge 77)
      
mdkiria
Junior Member

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2004
Re:Memoir '44 FAQ update Tue, 03 August 2004 20:53
Thanks for the updated FAQ. I had 2 questions. One concerned Recon cards played by the German during the first 2 turns of Pegasus Bridge which is covered in the post.

The second concerned playing the Ambush card. If your opponent is eliminated or forced to retreat, can the ambushing player Take Ground? If the ambushing player used an armor unit, can it then use Armor Overrun?
      
Blitzkrieg
Junior Member

Messages: 2
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2004
  Re:Memoir '44 FAQ update Wed, 04 August 2004 00:16
Thanks for the update.

Re: Wire and retreating armor

After retreating now I have my armor sitting on wire.
In what situations can the wire now be removed?
We've played that if the armor moves it doesn't remove
the wire (like infantry). But if given an order to fire
then it can remove the wire. We also play that you can issue
an order to just remove the wire and not fight or move.

      
MadJackMcMad
Junior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 25
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Memoir '44 FAQ update Wed, 04 August 2004 09:14
Blitzkrieg wrote on Tue, 03 August 2004 18:16

Thanks for the update.

Re: Wire and retreating armor

After retreating now I have my armor sitting on wire.
In what situations can the wire now be removed?
We've played that if the armor moves it doesn't remove
the wire (like infantry). But if given an order to fire
then it can remove the wire. We also play that you can issue
an order to just remove the wire and not fight or move.




Since the rules say that all units must stop when entering a hex with wire, it would make sense that you would have to order the armor unit to remain in the hex so that the wire can be removed, but it could still battle. It seems unfair to assume that you can move out of the wire hex and still remove the wire.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 04 August 2004 09:15]

      
RollD6
Senior Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 110
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2004
  Re:Memoir '44 FAQ update Wed, 04 August 2004 22:53
Quote on Wire rule:
"...An Infantry unit that is on a hex with Wire, will reduce the number of Battle dice it rolls by 1.
An Infantry unit that is eligible to battle may remove the Wire instead of battling. Armor must remove
the Wire and may still battle."

My read on the rule is that Armor automatically removes wire when it moves through/onto/over it. Hence the words "must remove", even though it still stops.

Now, here is another situation worth discussing;

If you are forced to retreat 2 hexes as an infantry unit and your only choices for your first hex of retreat is barbed wire on either side, the infantry (or arty unit) would have to stop and take a loss for the second flag because they cannot move.

If this is an armor unit, they have to stop, but the mear action of them moving over wire removes it, therefore they are free to continue their retreat and move away per the second flag and not take a loss.

What do you (all) think?

TTFN,

John
      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Spécialiste de l'artillerie

Pages Perso
Messages: 1129
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Memoir '44 FAQ update Thu, 05 August 2004 02:24
Terrain doesn't have an effect on retreat so wire wouldn't stop a retreat. See the retreat rules.
      
MadJackMcMad
Junior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 25
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Memoir '44 FAQ update Thu, 05 August 2004 09:05
RollD6 wrote on Wed, 04 August 2004 16:53


My read on the rule is that Armor automatically removes wire when it moves through/onto/over it. Hence the words "must remove", even though it still stops.


Yes, that would be the case for a normal move of armor onto a wire hex. But the discussion is specifically about retreating back onto a hex with wire. When and how does the armor get to remove the wire on its' next order. Do you get to remove the wire when moving out of the hex? Or do you have to remain in the hex to remove the wire but still battle?

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 05 August 2004 09:05]

      
GreatDane
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 755
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Memoir '44 FAQ update Thu, 05 August 2004 12:09
RollD6 wrote on Wed, 04 August 2004 16:53

But the discussion is specifically about retreating back onto a hex with wire. When and how does the armor get to remove the wire on its' next order. Do you get to remove the wire when moving out of the hex? Or do you have to remain in the hex to remove the wire but still battle?



My personal feeling is that the wire will not be removed if you move out of the hex. That is consistant will all other terrain rules (ie. you are not limited to only 1 move when leaving water etc.)

If the player decide to stay and fight would I think he was forced to to remove the wire, but I am not at all certain that will be the official answer.

we will just have to wait for the next official update of the FAQ.

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 05 August 2004 12:10]

      
Yann
-= Crew =-
KS Backer - Skeleton

Pages Perso
Messages: 2350
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2002
Re:Memoir '44 FAQ update Thu, 05 August 2004 13:34
We just updated the FAQ page, at last. Basically, it contains the same things as what Richard posted at the top of this thread.

Sorry about the delay to update this important document.

Enjoy,
      
    
Sujet précédent:3 questions
Sujet suivant:10mm is correct size?
Aller au forum: