Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Tyveil
Junior Member

Messages: 17
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Fri, 11 June 2004 15:14
Just played my first Pointe-Du-Hoc battle last night and have a few questions about the "cliff". Does it play out normally from both sides as far as close combat is concerned? As far as the rules are concerned, the only thing written is that it requires 2 move to move onto the cliff from the beach side. Played as the rules are written, if the Axis player were to place a unit on the cliff during his turn, an Allied ranger, from the beach/ocean hex, could move 2 to be next to the cliff, close combat, and move up the cliff on a take ground on a successful attack. This effectively allows a possible total move of 4.

Just a few other comments about this map.

1) It seems to heavily favor the allies, who get the first turn, and can move infantry up the hill and attack by turn 2 (also gaining a defensive position on the hill). Both times we played, the Axis player lost but was able to gain 2 very hard fought victory chips. I may try advancing the artillery as the Axis next time I play to bring them more into play.

2) Right flank cards weak for both sides. Be wary of filling up your hand with unusable right flank cards on this one. I recommend keeping some units on this flank side (and/or moving in units) just so you can get some use out of these cards.

      
bwridge
Junior Member

Messages: 11
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Fri, 11 June 2004 16:09
A friend and I tried this scenario today and neither of us liked it much.

It does seem heavily tilted towards the allied side, who have pretty much one optimal strategy: storm the cliff on the far left as far away from the artillery as possible.

Once that is done, it's simply a matter of moving right and mowing down any Germans in your way.

Brian
      
oivind22
Junior Member

Messages: 27
Enregistré(e) en :
May 2004
Re:Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Fri, 11 June 2004 22:19
Tyveil wrote on Fri, 11 June 2004 15:14

Played as the rules are written, if the Axis player were to place a unit on the cliff during his turn, an Allied ranger, from the beach/ocean hex, could move 2 to be next to the cliff, close combat, and move up the cliff on a take ground on a successful attack. This effectively allows a possible total move of 4.




This has already been clarified for the bluff in the Omaha Beach scenario, and the official answer there was that it was allowed to take ground up the bluff, even though it costs 2 to move.

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 11 June 2004 22:21]

      
Iluvatar
Junior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 22
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Fri, 13 August 2004 21:26
Indeed, I have played this scenario yesterday too. As Axis player I did not dare to go on the cliffs for this reason, so I stayed in defense in my bunkers.
That was not really a good idea either. The rangers assembled all before the cliffs and then that player just ran through the deck until he got the right cards. He made a major assault and everything was finished with the Axis.

Shouldn't the cliffs (historically) help the Axis in their defence? In this scenario, the cliffs are more advantageous for the allies. I don't see the logic. Sad
      
GreatDane
Senior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 755
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Sat, 14 August 2004 18:17
Quote:

Shouldn't the cliffs (historically) help the Axis in their defence? In this scenario, the cliffs are more advantageous for the allies. I don't see the logic.


The fact that the cliffs does cost the Allied player 2 movement points to climb does favour the Axis. Consider how terrible it would be if the worked like normal hills![/img]

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 13 July 2010 15:57]

      
PSauberer
Junior Member

Messages: 8
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2004
Re:Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Tue, 17 August 2004 03:53
What about making a move onto a cliff hex similar to a move into the woods, i.e. a unit cannot move onto that hex and fire in the same turn? Movement from a cliff hex to another cliff hex could be exempt.
      
Chairman7w
Junior Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 17
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2004
Re:Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Tue, 17 August 2004 23:22
Hhhmmmm... what about giving the Axis one more Artillery unit?
      
moodster
Junior Member
Second Lieutenant

Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2005
Re:Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Sun, 02 January 2005 23:14
Played this scenario as the Axis twice today and got totally toasted. As we played it the hills provide normal cover for the rangers (which seems illogical, but that was the scenario rules). There isn't much the Germans can do about it really, apart from abandoning their stations, retreating to the left flank and hoping they will draw a Dig In card in order to set up new defensive positions.

I think this scenario is probably best played with some kind of time limit, forcing the rangers to act fast. For example, let the Axis player automaticall earn a free medal at the beginning of each turn past turn 10 (or something like that).
      
Carolus
Junior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 1
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2004
Re:Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Wed, 05 January 2005 20:42
Everytime we played, the Axis barely managed to win two tokens. Best balancing would be to have the Axis win with just two (or three?) medals, Rangers still needing four. That would make for some serious head-ache and planning on the Allied side.
      
xfoley96
Member
KS Backer - Skeleton

Pages Perso
Messages: 52
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2005
Re:Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Mon, 10 January 2005 05:40
Tyveil,

One rule you need to keep in mind regarding artillery (and I just caught this a few days ago)- artillery in bunkers cannot be moved. Bummer, I know. Crying or Very Sad

      
Jaykay2010
Senior Member
Michael Wittmann

Pages Perso
Messages: 599
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2009
Re:Pointe-Du-Hocs Cliff Tue, 13 July 2010 13:28
To add even further to the imbalance ... it appears from the Special Rules/Conditions that a unit which reaches the trees successfully can grab the first medal, then (next turn) move off that hex and grab the second, keeping both!! That means only two other Axis units need to be destroyed to give you the four points for victory.

(The Artillery is there yes, but is only effective if the Axis player has left flank cards ) It was quite easy when i played it to get an Allied unit to the Forest unscathed ... especially if you pick up the Behind Enemy Lines card! 2 Victory Points have never been scored so cheaply!


Having said all that ... the idea of these scenarios is that you SWITCH SIDES after playing ... even if the Allied player sweeps in and gets his victory, if it costs him only 2 of his units, the challenge is on for the other player to show him how it's done and win the scenario with one or even no losses! Now that would be an impressive result!
      
    
Sujet précédent:help on point du hoc
Sujet suivant:Destroyer: Frist Wave At Omaha
Aller au forum: