Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Frozen River rolls
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2140
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Frozen River rolls Wed, 09 February 2011 03:06
I do not know if this has come up before but....

I have played a number of games on Vassal and seen both a player roll for his own units when they move onto / retreat onto a river. I have also seen the opposing player makes these rolls.


In one recent Vassal game I thought my opponent was asking me to make ice rolls for one of his units - I did so only to have him also make 2 rolls - luckily no stars were rolled in either set.

The rules on this do not state who makes the rolls (I suspect that the owning player should make any ice rolls for his own units).
      
Ernest_Harmon
Junior Member
First Lieutenant

Messages: 16
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2010
Re:Frozen River rolls Wed, 09 February 2011 04:37
From the FAQ:

Q. An Infantry unit is attacked and forced to retreat onto a frozen river. It has one figure left. Two dice are rolled. a Star comes up and the Infantry figure is eliminated. Does this count as a medal for the opponent?
A. Yes. When rolling for units moving or retreating onto a frozen river, we have the opposition player roll to see if the ice is thin and figures are lost. Note: Frozen rivers are the only terrain where its effect is still applied when a unit retreats onto it.

Q. When a unit is already on a frozen river hex, does it need to roll if it does not move?
A. No
      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2269
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Frozen River rolls Wed, 09 February 2011 06:04
You're right. I've looked for that in the rules, and couldn't find it, either. In my experience (and I'm sure yours), the players usually work it out.

In this rare, awkward case where both players roll, I guess I'd use the usual convention for excess dice, and count the first 2.

[Edit: Whoops -- I missed the part about "the opposition player" in Ernest's post, above. The moving player's roll should be ignored.]

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 09 February 2011 13:12]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2140
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Frozen River rolls Wed, 09 February 2011 11:16
Ernest_Harmon wrote on Tue, 08 February 2011 22:37

From the FAQ:

Q. An Infantry unit is attacked and forced to retreat onto a frozen river. It has one figure left. Two dice are rolled. a Star comes up and the Infantry figure is eliminated. Does this count as a medal for the opponent?
A. Yes. When rolling for units moving or retreating onto a frozen river, we have the opposition player roll to see if the ice is thin and figures are lost. Note: Frozen rivers are the only terrain where its effect is still applied when a unit retreats onto it.



I missed this in the FAQ -- which I did check before I posted my question, but not well enough I guess Laughing

So, it looks like the official answer is that the opposing player makes those frozen river rolls.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2140
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Frozen River rolls Wed, 09 February 2011 11:17
sam1812 wrote on Wed, 09 February 2011 00:04

In this rare, awkward case where both players roll, I guess I'd use the usual convention for excess dice, and count the first 2.


I was thinking along those lines too.

      
    
Sujet précédent:Winter Wars Roll Call?
Sujet suivant:M44 Solitary
Aller au forum: