Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » special reserve rolls question
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Makoa
Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 34
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2009
special reserve rolls question Wed, 15 April 2009 22:09
I was wondering since the special reserve rolls are at "no reserve cost".....does that allow me to do another reserve roll.

example: Allies roll flag+star, which allows them to move a unit up 2 hexes at no reserve cost. After having done that, does another reserve roll and gets star+star, which allows them to take 1 air sortie/air power token at no reserve cost. Next rolls infantry+star, which allows him to use one reserve token to call up an elite infantry unit. Reserve roll ends.

^is that possible?

or example: Allies roll star+star, which allows them to take 1 air sortie/air power token. Reserve roll ends.

^or is this how it should be played?
      
Brummbar44
DoW Content Provider
Spécialiste de l'artillerie

Pages Perso
Messages: 1129
Enregistré(e) en :
June 2004
Re:special reserve rolls question Wed, 15 April 2009 22:17
Makoa wrote on Wed, 15 April 2009 13:09



or example: Allies roll star+star, which allows them to take 1 air sortie/air power token. Reserve roll ends.

^or is this how it should be played?


Correct. There is only one Reserve Roll, it's just that these special rolls don't end up costing any Reserve Tokens.
      
Makoa
Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 34
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2009
Re:special reserve rolls question Fri, 24 April 2009 05:18
i have another question on the reserve rolls.

If I roll a star+infantry. Can i choose what type of elite unit i want. Say like if i wanted to have French Resistance unit or a sniper unit.

Or does it always have to be the basic special troops that can move 2 hexes and battle.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7129
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:special reserve rolls question Fri, 24 April 2009 05:28
You can only choose normal Elite Infantry. If you're going to be allowed to get a Sniper or other special units, the rules will tell you specifically.
      
Makoa
Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 34
Enregistré(e) en :
January 2009
Re:special reserve rolls question Fri, 24 April 2009 12:10
ok thanks. I didn't actually do that in a match but was curious if i could.
      
KBracey
Junior Member

Messages: 9
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2009
Re:special reserve rolls question Fri, 24 April 2009 13:22
One more - what about a star+grenade? It seems logical to infer that you get a unit of your choice that can be upgraded to elite status. But it doesn't actually say that - it says "Star along with a unit symbol" (its bold). So maybe you just get a unit of your choice, and the star has no effect.

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 24 April 2009 13:23]

      
Talespinner
DoW Content Provider
Rikugun Taii

Pages Perso
Messages: 119
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2006
Re:special reserve rolls question Sat, 25 April 2009 23:36
Grenade+Star is an Elite Unit of your choice that is permitted by the campaign rules. So usually this means people take the standard Elite Infantry or Elite armor.
      
Ernest_Harmon
Junior Member
First Lieutenant

Messages: 16
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2010
Re:special reserve rolls question Thu, 10 March 2011 22:14
Sorry to reopen this thread, but I disagree with the last reply. A grenade is not a unit symbol, so a grenade + star doesn't give you an Elite unit of your choice, only normal inf., armor, or artillery.
      
Ernest_Harmon
Junior Member
First Lieutenant

Messages: 16
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2010
Re:special reserve rolls question Thu, 10 March 2011 23:39
There is a thread at BGG discussing this question:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/628872/reserve-roll-question

Am I wrong that for a Grenade + Star Reserve Roll, the Star is ignored, since the rule specifically says a unit symbol + Star equals Elite Unit (either infantry or armor)?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3064
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:special reserve rolls question Thu, 10 March 2011 23:59
Read page 3 of the Campaign Book #1:

Under RESERVES, second paragraph.
Quote:

For each unit symbol rolled, you may choose to exchange a Reserve Token from your Strategic Reserve Pool for a unit of the type just rolled (grenades are wild, allowing an artillery, infantry or armor unit to be chosen). This process is referred to as Calling up Reserves.


Read page 5 of the Campaign Book #1:

Quote:

If you roll a Star along with a unit symbol during your reserve roll, the unit you call up may be upgraded to Elite status.


So if you roll a grenade you get to choose whichever unit you want. A grenade plus a star would be an Elite unit of your choice. Since there is no OFFICIAL elite artillery, this would not be a choice. However, Elite Infantry or Elite Armor would be fine.
Grenades are wild They don't stop being wild in the company of stars.
Laughing Laughing Laughing

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 11 March 2011 00:10]

      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Pages Perso
Messages: 1075
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2007
Re:special reserve rolls question Fri, 11 March 2011 22:49
No elite artillery - true. So how about being able to choose Mobile Artillery instead?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3064
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:special reserve rolls question Fri, 11 March 2011 23:25
Quote:

No elite artillery - true. So how about being able to choose Mobile Artillery instead?


I don't that that is an option officially, but if you and your compatriots wish to play with that houserule, then have at it.

I think being able to reinforce with regular artillery is pretty awesome by itself. Just ask Steve Nightrain. I got artillery as a reinforcement at Fort Eben Emael and killed his Germans on the roof. Because of this loss, for the remainder of the campaign he suffered the inability to reinforce with armor. This one die roll was probably the deciding factor in the whole campaign.

GRENADES ARE WILD!!!

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 11 March 2011 23:33]

      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1399
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:special reserve rolls question Sun, 13 March 2011 04:47
Rasmussen81 (Jesse) has some very good resources for the Campaign book on his user page! Check it out! I used his Campaign book help sheets to run a campaign at a game convention back in November! They are available on his projects page of his user page here: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/mypage/362174/m44/story#_inde x_9

[Mis à jour le: Sun, 13 March 2011 05:05]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7129
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:special reserve rolls question Sun, 13 March 2011 04:59
50th wrote on Sun, 13 March 2011 07:47

Rasmussen81 (Jessie) has some very good resources for the Campaign book on his user page! Check it out! I used his Campaign book help sheets to run a campaign at a game convention back in November! They are available on his projects page of his user page here: http://www.daysofwonder.com/en/mypage/362174/m44/story#_inde x_9




Thanks for the kind words. I actually spell my first name "Jesse"...without the "i" in there! Cool The spelling with an "i" is the girls name. Confused
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1399
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:special reserve rolls question Sun, 13 March 2011 05:05
Embarassed Embarassed Oops! Sorry about that, can't spell very good. (Thank God for spell checkers). I will edit my original post. But good job on those Campaign help sheets! They really did the trick at that convention!

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7129
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:special reserve rolls question Sun, 13 March 2011 07:40
50th wrote on Sun, 13 March 2011 08:05

Embarassed Embarassed Oops! Sorry about that, can't spell very good. (Thank God for spell checkers). I will edit my original post. But good job on those Campaign help sheets! They really did the trick at that convention!




No worries...just don't call me a girl again!! Laughing

I'm glad they helped at the convention. Cool
      
    
Sujet précédent:Passive Pacific
Sujet suivant:How to keep your big maps
Aller au forum: