Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3021
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Thu, 22 October 2009 11:11
Are the bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael still in effect BUNKERS [Terrain-2] for the French defenders?
Do they get a 1 dice reduction while occupying this hex and may they ignore the first flag?


      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7083
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Thu, 22 October 2009 15:44
stevens wrote on Thu, 22 October 2009 02:11

Are the bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael still in effect BUNKERS [Terrain-2] for the French defenders?
Do they get a 1 dice reduction while occupying this hex and may they ignore the first flag?


My first answer was incorrect...look down at jdrommel's clarification below! Very Happy

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 22 October 2009 18:45]

      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 881
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Thu, 22 October 2009 17:08
While we're talking about Fort Eben-Emael I have a couple questions. I happened to be playing this last night and I think we played it right, but...

1. We did a reserve roll. The Germans cannot bring in reserves anyway because they have no "non-impassable" baseline hexes, correct?

2. The Allies did a reserve roll and got a tank and star. Allied player (me) brought this into play, but that was pretty stupid as it has very bad mobility in this scenario. But, is the Allied player allowed to activate a tank in this scenario? According to rules it can, but it makes little sense for a tank to be driving around on top of the fort.

3. No units can exit or retreat off of the fort, correct? Or at least if they do, they cannot re-enter. But what happens if the only retreat path is off the fort?

4. On the objective track. The turrets are objectives only for the Axis, so if Axis is denied an objective, it does NOT score as an objective for the Allies, correct?

5. If a unit fires from a fortress hex, across a hill to a unit in a turret, the hill does not block line of sight, correct? (Because all hexes within the fort are at the same height and that includes the fortress hexes.)
      
jdrommel
DoW Content Provider
Bureau FFM44

Pages Perso
Messages: 746
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2006
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Thu, 22 October 2009 18:10
Hello,

Just some considerations about this scenario :

1) Defenders are Belgian, not French.
2) Bunkers are not really bunkers, they represent artillery turrets, so nobody can used them as bunkers.
3) Turrets are objective only for the Axis player.
4) It's effectively a nonsense to bring a tank unit on the top of the fort.
5) No units can exit the top of the fort, so a flag means a loss if no retreat path.
6) No reserve unit in renfort for the Axis player.
7) All hexes inside the hills are at the same level (height) than the hills since hills represent the walls of the fort, and fortress hexes are effectively at the same level.

I hope these informations can help you. Smile


Jdrommel.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 881
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Thu, 22 October 2009 19:39
Thanks a lot. That helps.

We were playing turrets as bunkers, but since Germans are sappers and most attacks were close assault that didn't really affect the result very much.
      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 881
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Fri, 23 October 2009 00:54
Another question about this scenario and I guess about Sabotage...just for clarification.

The rules for sabotage imply that a unit does not need to be ordered to sabotage a turret, since it says "at the start of any turn during which at least one the saboteur's unit is on the landmark...". Is that right because its darn easy to sabotage these turrets without orders."

Also it says "any turn" and not "any saboteur's turn". I assume this is just poor choice of language and it is only on the saboteur's turn that you role the dice, correct?
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3021
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Fri, 23 October 2009 02:42
Thanks for the helps and explanations JDRommel.


      
Sgt Storm
Senior Member
Lieutenant

Pages Perso
Messages: 881
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Fri, 23 October 2009 20:44
Okay, one more question about the turrets.

Do they block line of sight?

We played that they did not, but that is not clear.
      
jdrommel
DoW Content Provider
Bureau FFM44

Pages Perso
Messages: 746
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2006
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Fri, 23 October 2009 22:35
Hello,

Sgt Storm écrit le Fri, 23 October 2009 20:44

Okay, one more question about the turrets.

Do they block line of sight?

We played that they did not, but that is not clear.


Yes, turrets block line of sight.

Jdrommel.
      
machiniste81
Junior Member

Pages Perso
Messages: 13
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2008
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Fri, 30 April 2010 17:38
just to be clear, inside the wall we are inside the fort(open sky) or we are on the top of the fort ? cause there is trees, what forest terrain are doing on top of the fort.

nobody can enter the fort and nobody can leave ?

is everyone on the fort including on the walls have the hills bonus on those outside. walls block line of sight ?

can you take the fort as being one big hill, and use the effect of hills terrain card. with just the fact that nobody can enter or ge out of ? ( there was no stairs on top of the fort so you can go down ?)

is it an underground fort ? can the walls be treated as the Cliff terrain card. how do we treat the walls, and whats the difference between on the walss outside the walls and inside the walls ?




[Mis à jour le: Fri, 30 April 2010 17:52]

      
jdrommel
DoW Content Provider
Bureau FFM44

Pages Perso
Messages: 746
Enregistré(e) en :
March 2006
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Sat, 01 May 2010 23:00
Hello machiniste81,
machiniste81 écrit le Fri, 30 April 2010 17:38

just to be clear, inside the wall we are inside the fort(open sky) or we are on the top of the fort ? cause there is trees, what forest terrain are doing on top of the fort.
On the top of the fort.

nobody can enter the fort and nobody can leave ?
Yes.

is everyone on the fort including on the walls have the hills bonus on those outside. walls block line of sight ?
Yes.

can you take the fort as being one big hill, and use the effect of hills terrain card. with just the fact that nobody can enter or ge out of ? ( there was no stairs on top of the fort so you can go down ?)
Yes, one big hill.

is it an underground fort ? can the walls be treated as the Cliff terrain card. how do we treat the walls, and whats the difference between on the walss outside the walls and inside the walls ?
Yes, an underground fort and walls are impassable.

For a better understanding, I propose you to have a glance on Google Earth to see Fort Eben Emael (Near Masstricht). I used this image to built the ground of my scenario.

Jdrommel.







      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2083
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Mon, 14 March 2011 22:29
I am looking to play this scenario but have a few questions.

1) I assume the fortress hexes are part of the fort and there considered part of that "large hill mass".

If yes, then that means of course that the Belgium infantry in those hexes are in the fort.

2) For Sabotage - Actions 6 - does a unit which attempts sabotage need to be ordered for that turn in order to do so?

      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 987
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Tue, 15 March 2011 17:27
Hi guys,

Maybe a stupid question, but I can't find this scenario you are talking about.
Has anyone a link for me ?

Thanks.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7083
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Tue, 15 March 2011 17:29
Erik Uitdebroeck wrote on Tue, 15 March 2011 20:27

Hi guys,

Maybe a stupid question, but I can't find this scenario you are talking about.
Has anyone a link for me ?

Thanks.


It's Classified because it's found in Campaign Book Volume 1. Smile
      
Erik Uitdebroeck
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 987
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2006
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Tue, 15 March 2011 17:33
Aaaahh, ok. That's why I didn't find it.
I have it, I have the book.

Thanks.
      
Ernest_Harmon
Junior Member
First Lieutenant

Messages: 16
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2010
Re:bunkers (turrets) in Fort Eben-Emael Wed, 16 March 2011 02:14
Quote:

2) For Sabotage - Actions 6 - does a unit which attempts sabotage need to be ordered for that turn in order to do so?


http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_action_6.jpg

So each unit that is on a turret gets to roll 2 dice, before playing a card.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 16 March 2011 02:14]

      
    
Sujet précédent:Missing terrain cards?
Sujet suivant:Kicking it old school...
Aller au forum: