Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Questions for the Official FAQ
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 895
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 19:03
50th wrote on Sat, 01 September 2012 13:58

I see what you are saying, but where does it say that the -2 for battling out isn't included in the maximum die reduction of 1?




I think you are mixing two different types of combat die reductions.

An armor battles at -2 when on a town and this is a penalty to the attacking unit.
The -1 is a dice reduction because of the terrain protection, which is a benefit that the target takes.

So in this case, they stack. There are no 2 different terrain protections but 1 penalty and a reduction based on a terrain protection.

That is my understanding and that is the way we play it.

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 01 September 2012 19:09]

      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2164
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 01 September 2012 22:45
Tanks are limited for battling into towns as their main weapon systems are not as effective as when firing on troops in the open.

A flame tank is more effective at dealing with units in towns - thus the -1 drm.

The limitation of any tank type firing from town (-2 drm) should not change as neither type can fully deploy and thus bring the unit's full offensive might to bear from the narrow confines of towns.

At least that is how I see it and also how I believe the rules to be.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 02 September 2012 04:04
tank commander wrote on Sun, 02 September 2012 00:45

Tanks are limited for battling into towns as their main weapon systems are not as effective as when firing on troops in the open.

A flame tank is more effective at dealing with units in towns - thus the -1 drm.

The limitation of any tank type firing from town (-2 drm) should not change as neither type can fully deploy and thus bring the unit's full offensive might to bear from the narrow confines of towns.

At least that is how I see it and also how I believe the rules to be.


You guys are correct. Cool
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1407
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 02 September 2012 17:12
Thanks and oops, may have played than one wrong in the past. Although I can't remember any specific examples of when this might have occurred. Many thanks!
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 11 September 2012 14:56
May a combat Engineer use a BEL card to remove a mine?

It seems obvious to be YES, but is not possible in the ONLINE game so it is causing confusion.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 13 September 2012 05:22
This is what Mr. Borg said about the scenario, Resistance at Marvie.

Q: In the scenario Resistance at Marvie a temporary majority medal is gained for controlling 4 Town hexes. However, one Town hex is further away from the others and a Church hex is close by. Which hexes count for the medal?

A: The Church is indeed part of the 4 hexes that make up the town of Marvie.

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 17 September 2012 16:18]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 14 September 2012 04:59
Here is some clarification that Mr. Borg gave us about Engineer units.


Q: If an Engineer is ordered with BEL, what is he allowed to do? Can he move 3 hexes into a minefield, battle normally, Take Ground, then move 3 more hexes and end in another minefield, all without blowing up any mines?
A: (RB) Rule: An Engineer unit that moves onto a Minefield hex and that is eligible to battle must clear the Minefield hex instead of battling.

Therefore if Engineer unit when ordered by the Behind Enemy Lines and ends its first part of the BEL move on a Minefield hex, the unit instead of battling must clear the Minefield. Also because there was no battle, there is no taking ground.

Note an Engineer unit when ordered by the Behind Enemy Lines may move through a Minefield hex, the unit does not have to stop because the Behind Enemy Lines card allows the ordered unit to ignore terrain movement restrictions. A hex with a minefield piece, like other man-made fixed obstacles, is consider terrain.


Q: If an Engineer unit starts its turn in a minefield and chooses not to move, can he battle or is he required to remove the mine?
A: (RB) When an Engineer unit starts on a Minefield hex and is ordered, but chooses not to move, instead of battling he must clear the Minefield in the hex.


Q: Does an Engineer unit have to move to be able to remove a Mine token? Or can he start his turn in the hex and still remove the token?
A: (RB) An Engineer unit does not have to move to be able to remove a Mine token. When the unit starts on a Minefield hex and is ordered, but chooses not to move, instead of battling he must clear the Minefield in the hex. If the Engineer unit chooses to move, the Minefield hex does not detonate.

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 14 September 2012 20:37]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 14 September 2012 06:15
Good job! Do you have a date for the new FAQ, (+- a week or so)?
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 14 September 2012 07:04
JFKoski wrote on Fri, 14 September 2012 08:15

Good job! Do you have a date for the new FAQ, (+- a week or so)?


Sadly I don't have a sense of when it might be ready. As I'm learning a new program (InDesign) it's going to take me longer. With life and work, it will also add some time and I am working on some other Memoir '44 projects...

So the FAQ update will still be a long while out. Sorry. Razz
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Fri, 14 September 2012 14:14
rasmussen81 wrote on Thu, 13 September 2012 22:59

Here is some clarification that Mr. Borg gave us about Engineer units.


Q: If an Engineer is ordered with BEL, what is he allowed to do? Can he move 3 hexes into a minefield, battle normally, Take Ground, then move 3 more hexes and end in another minefield, all without blowing up any mines?
A: (RB) Rule: An Engineer unit that moves onto a Minefield hex and that is eligible to battle must clear the Minefield hex instead of battling.

Therefore if Engineer unit when ordered by the Behind Enemy Lines and ends its first part of the BEL move on a Minefield hex, the unit instead of battling must clear the Minefield. Also because there was no battle, there is no taking ground.

Note an Engineer unit when ordered by the Behind Enemy Lines may move through a Minefield hex, the unit does not have to stop because the Behind Enemy Lines card allows the ordered unit to ignore terrain movement restrictions. A hex with a minefield piece, like other man-made fixed obstacles, is consider terrain.


Q: If an Engineer unit starts its turn in a minefield and chooses not to move, can he battle or is he required to remove the mine?
A: (RB) When an Engineer unit starts on a Minefield hex and is ordered, but chooses not to move, instead of battling must clear the Minefield in the hex.


Q: If an Engineer unit starts its turn in a minefield, can he remove the mine or does movement trigger the ability to remove mines?
A: (RB) When an Engineer unit is on a Minefield and is ordered and chooses move, the Minefield hex does not detonate.




I like the consistency of Richard's logic in this since the unit using BEL is still effected by the terrain he lands on on his first movement. If a unit lands on a hex that prohibits battle, then it cannot battle; if an engineer ends on a minefield, he must remove the mine in lieu of battling. Consistent.
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 17 September 2012 15:47
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 12 September 2012 23:22

This is what Mr. Borg said about the scenario, Resistance at Marvie.

Q: In the scenario Resistance at Marvie a temporary majority medal is gained for controlling 4 Town hexes. However, one Town hex is further away from the others and a Church hex is close by. Which hexes count for the medal?

A: The Church is indeed part of the 4 hexes that make up the town of Marvie.



Check spelling on the word "temporary"

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 17 September 2012 15:47]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 17 September 2012 16:16
stevens wrote on Mon, 17 September 2012 17:47

rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 12 September 2012 23:22

This is what Mr. Borg said about the scenario, Resistance at Marvie.

Q: In the scenario Resistance at Marvie a temporary majority medal is gained for controlling 4 Town hexes. However, one Town hex is further away from the others and a Church hex is close by. Which hexes count for the medal?

A: The Church is indeed part of the 4 hexes that make up the town of Marvie.



Check spelling on the word "temporary"


Thanks for catching that! It's fixed now. Very Happy
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 24 September 2012 19:08
Q. If a Japanese unit moves two hexes and does not have an adjacent enemy unit when the Battle Phase begins, may it battle if an enemy unit retreats into a hex adjacent to it?

A. Yes

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 28 September 2012 03:40]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 1173
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 26 September 2012 17:26
Answer from Richard received. Yes it can battle.
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 26 September 2012 18:31
Quit2 wrote on Wed, 26 September 2012 17:26

Answer from Richard received. Yes it can battle.


i kinda expected that, since when you play a firefight, you can order an extra unit out off range, anticipating a retreat by the enemy, coming into range. Extended faq pg 8 below, Q 1.

This is in the same idea line, the unit is ordered so it has battle opportunity and the enemy comes into range ! Cool

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 26 September 2012 18:32]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 895
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 27 September 2012 22:21
Flemish_Havy wrote on Wed, 26 September 2012 18:31

Quit2 wrote on Wed, 26 September 2012 17:26

Answer from Richard received. Yes it can battle.


i kinda expected that, since when you play a firefight, you can order an extra unit out off range, anticipating a retreat by the enemy, coming into range. Extended faq pg 8 below, Q 1.

This is in the same idea line, the unit is ordered so it has battle opportunity and the enemy comes into range ! Cool


Yes, I do understand the answer is to keep the game consistent. However, the "frenzy" action of a Banzai! should be done with a target in mind, not expecting that a target may appear somehow. That's how we do understand the "Banzai War cry" and that should be the spirit of the rule.

But as I said, we will stick to Richard's policy.

Regards

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 27 September 2012 22:50]

      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 04 October 2012 01:00
Tank destroyer attacked by BARRAGE:

when a barrage rolls a star, is the TD unit hit ?

I would say no, since the TD card says, "hit on star by other unit then infantry."
Barrage is a CARD or is it an artillery ?

If it is a card, TD is not hit !
If barrage is regarded as artillery, TD is hit by a star.

what do you think and is the outcome ?

thx for the advice in advance Rolling Eyes
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 04 October 2012 02:03
Flemish_Havy wrote on Wed, 03 October 2012 19:00

Tank destroyer attacked by BARRAGE:

when a barrage rolls a star, is the TD unit hit ?

I would say no, since the TD card says, "hit on star by other unit then infantry."
Barrage is a CARD or is it an artillery ?

If it is a card, TD is not hit !
If barrage is regarded as artillery, TD is hit by a star.

what do you think and is the outcome ?

thx for the advice in advance Rolling Eyes


Good question...
If you are playing a BREAKTHROUGH scenario and using the Breakthrough Deck than a STAR is a hit, regardless.

p.6 Winter War Rules - Barrage Card
Quote:

Barrage (1 card)
A Star symbol is added to the list of
symbols that score a hit on the Barrage.


Otherwise, it is a Richard thing.
Laughing
      
Phread
Senior Member
Flegme Britannique

Pages Perso
Messages: 1778
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2008
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 04 October 2012 03:38
Flemish_Havy wrote on Thu, 04 October 2012 12:00

Tank destroyer attacked by BARRAGE:

when a barrage rolls a star, is the TD unit hit ?

I would say no, since the TD card says, "hit on star by other unit then infantry."
Barrage is a CARD or is it an artillery ?

If it is a card, TD is not hit !
If barrage is regarded as artillery, TD is hit by a star.

what do you think and is the outcome ?

thx for the advice in advance Rolling Eyes


Barrage, imho is long range artillery firing as a group at a target area. Therefore as it is artillery fire the star hits.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2164
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 04 October 2012 12:12
Flemish_Havy wrote on Wed, 03 October 2012 19:00

Tank destroyer attacked by BARRAGE:

when a barrage rolls a star, is the TD unit hit ?

I would say no, since the TD card says, "hit on star by other unit then infantry."
Barrage is a CARD or is it an artillery ?

If it is a card, TD is not hit !
If barrage is regarded as artillery, TD is hit by a star.

what do you think and is the outcome ?

thx for the advice in advance Rolling Eyes


Barrage is a card, not a unit, so I think it need not be classified. I think a star from Barrage would indeed hit the TD.

Also, let us not forget that SW AT Inf (which is an infantry type unit) would also hit TDs on a star roll. I just wish that rule read "non-infantry unit (other than SW AT Inf)" to avoid confusion.

Perhaps a hint can be obtained from pg 4 of the Winter War rules under "Reduced visibility".
      
stevens
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3070
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 04 October 2012 12:27
P 5 FAQ
Quote:

DICE QUESTIONS
Q. What happens if there are dice conflicts?
A. In case of conflicts between the rules of the attacker and the defender in the interpretation of a Star result on the attacker's dice, it is the attacker's interpretation that prevails.


Since the player playing the Barrage card is the "attacker" - it is a hit.

No further discussion needed. Laughing Rolling Eyes

[Mis à jour le: Thu, 04 October 2012 12:28]

      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Thu, 04 October 2012 12:54
stevens wrote on Thu, 04 October 2012 12:27

P 5 FAQ
Quote:

DICE QUESTIONS
Q. What happens if there are dice conflicts?
A. In case of conflicts between the rules of the attacker and the defender in the interpretation of a Star result on the attacker's dice, it is the attacker's interpretation that prevails.


Since the player playing the Barrage card is the "attacker" - it is a hit.

No further discussion needed. Laughing Rolling Eyes


Nice one ! Smile
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 07 October 2012 22:20
Q. Is there a limit toward the number off smoke screens on the map at ones ?

I think not but we need extra markers ! Rolling Eyes
(if not we ll have to use some wadding i gess)

[Mis à jour le: Sun, 07 October 2012 22:22]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Mon, 08 October 2012 11:08
Flemish_Havy wrote on Mon, 08 October 2012 00:20

Q. Is there a limit toward the number off smoke screens on the map at ones ?

I think not but we need extra markers ! Rolling Eyes
(if not we ll have to use some wadding i gess)


I would have to look in the rule book (which I don't have in front of me) to see if there's anything about limiting the number of Smoke Screens on the board at a time. I don't remember if it said anywhere...

If there's nothing preventing it, then you could have as much smoke on the board as you want. I think the official scenarios only ever have one screen on the board at a time but you could certainly have a unit shoot a smoke screen more than once.

If you don't have enough smoke screen tokens (or any), the Equipment pack explains that you should use a token or badge of your own to represent the smoke. Wadding would also work. Smile
      
Quit2
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 1173
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 21 October 2012 11:08
A rules question that came up on the french forum:
Q: When a command car is in a hex that belongs in 2 sections (on the red dotted line), can you order an extra unit in both of those sections when playing recon in force or general advance, or do you have to choose one section?

I think this is one that is not clear in the rules, and we might need input from someone at DoW or Richard himself.
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 21 October 2012 20:13
Quit2 wrote on Sun, 21 October 2012 11:08

A rules question that came up on the french forum:
Q: When a command car is in a hex that belongs in 2 sections (on the red dotted line), can you order an extra unit in both of those sections when playing recon in force or general advance, or do you have to choose one section?

I think this is one that is not clear in the rules, and we might need input from someone at DoW or Richard himself.


Personaly, i would play it as: " you order the extra unit in the section you are giving commands and i case your command card orders troops in more then one section, you have the free choice off section (between the 2 where the CC is in) where to apply the extra.
I do not see why you would want to order more then 1 extra Rolling Eyes
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 23 October 2012 05:29
Q. According to the new rules for Big Guns, all similar units (Big Guns, Destroyers, etc) from the same nation can benefit from the Crosshair Markers benefit of +1 die. If one Big Gun unit hits a target and a different Big Gun unit moves, do we have to remove the Crosshair Marker?
A. In scenarios with more than one Big Gun (or similar unit), the Cross-hair markers are not returned unless the target moves or is eliminated. If players want to add more detail and want to track which weapon zeroed-in, they can play the rules as normal and also return the marker when the appropriate Big Gun moves.

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 23 October 2012 20:41]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Tue, 23 October 2012 19:55
Q. When a Command Car is in a hex that belongs in 2 sections (on the red dotted line), can you order an extra unit in both of those sections when playing Recon in Force or General Advance, or do you have to choose one section?
A. (RB) When a section card is played in the same section as a Command Car, the player activates 1 more unit than indicated by his card. When the Command Car is on a hex that belongs in 2 sections, and a Recon in Force or General Advance is played, a player must choose which one section the 1 additional unit will be ordered in.

[Mis à jour le: Tue, 23 October 2012 20:41]

      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 10 November 2012 05:22
Q. Can a Sniper move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and still battle?
A. A Sniper moves like a Special Forces Infantry unit, 1 or 2 hexes and battle. Jungle terrain rules do not allow a Special Forces Infantry unit to move 2 hexes into the Jungle hex and still battle. Therefore a Sniper cannot move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and battle.

I do agree with this answer but it could be more clear what is the outcome ! I dont see what the Special Forces Infantry movement has to do with that, except complicate this answer by answering a second question in the same time, that woudl be: can a Special Inf unit move 2 into a Jungle hex and fight ? "

I suggest: " Since a sniper still has to obay terrain movement restriction rules (marked on the summary card), it is not possible to move into the jungle hex from 2 hexes away."

You coudl add the second question mentioned here above seperately !


Rolling Eyes
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sat, 10 November 2012 06:59
Flemish_Havy wrote on Sat, 10 November 2012 08:22

Q. Can a Sniper move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and still battle?
A. A Sniper moves like a Special Forces Infantry unit, 1 or 2 hexes and battle. Jungle terrain rules do not allow a Special Forces Infantry unit to move 2 hexes into the Jungle hex and still battle. Therefore a Sniper cannot move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and battle.

I do agree with this answer but it could be more clear what is the outcome ! I dont see what the Special Forces Infantry movement has to do with that, except complicate this answer by answering a second question in the same time, that woudl be: can a Special Inf unit move 2 into a Jungle hex and fight ? "

I suggest: " Since a sniper still has to obay terrain movement restriction rules (marked on the summary card), it is not possible to move into the jungle hex from 2 hexes away."

You coudl add the second question mentioned here above seperately !


Rolling Eyes


Thank you for the suggestion. However, the wording of the question and answer for this one went through a lot of discussion and Richard chose this answer. His wish is my command, so it's unlikely to change. Smile

[Mis à jour le: Sat, 10 November 2012 07:16]

      
sdnative
Senior Member
Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 448
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2009
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 14 November 2012 02:11
rasmussen81 wrote on Fri, 09 November 2012 21:59

Flemish_Havy wrote on Sat, 10 November 2012 08:22

Q. Can a Sniper move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and still battle?
A. A Sniper moves like a Special Forces Infantry unit, 1 or 2 hexes and battle. Jungle terrain rules do not allow a Special Forces Infantry unit to move 2 hexes into the Jungle hex and still battle. Therefore a Sniper cannot move 2 hexes into a Jungle hex and battle.

I do agree with this answer but it could be more clear what is the outcome ! I dont see what the Special Forces Infantry movement has to do with that, except complicate this answer by answering a second question in the same time, that woudl be: can a Special Inf unit move 2 into a Jungle hex and fight ? "

I suggest: " Since a sniper still has to obay terrain movement restriction rules (marked on the summary card), it is not possible to move into the jungle hex from 2 hexes away."

You coudl add the second question mentioned here above seperately !


Rolling Eyes


Thank you for the suggestion. However, the wording of the question and answer for this one went through a lot of discussion and Richard chose this answer. His wish is my command, so it's unlikely to change. Smile


But a Sniper can move 2 hexes into a Woods and Buildings hex and fire but a Special Forces unit cannot..
So a Sniper is very unlike a Special Forces Unit.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 14 November 2012 02:11]

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 14 November 2012 03:34
sdnative wrote on Tue, 13 November 2012 20:11


But a Sniper can move 2 hexes into a Woods and Buildings hex and fire but a Special Forces unit cannot..
So a Sniper is very unlike a Special Forces Unit.


I think we've discussed this extensively, if not in this thread then another.
To sum:
Hedgerows and Jungles have entry restrictions;
Snipers, Ski Troops and French Resistance can move onto terrain and battle;
The ruling was that Hedgerows and Jungle restrictions trump these units' ability.
http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_troop_10.jpg

http://static.memoir44.com/lang/english/images/mm_compendium_terrain_57.jpg
I think the key phrase was, "But must still obey terrain movement restrictions."

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 14 November 2012 03:43]

      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 14 November 2012 03:53
FAQ Arty & Mobile Arty in a wire:

I have searched the forums and did not find an 'official' answer from Dow yet ! (Hoping i didnt miss it anywhere.) Confused

What i found so far is:

Artillery can move into a wire hex. "I did not find any rules saying artillery can not move into wire hex."

Arty can NOT remove wire, since "the wire card mentions only inf to be able to remove wire and armor."

Arty fires out at -1 die from wire: Faq on Artillery bombard, states: "like inf an arty on wire will reduce the number of battle dice it rolls by 1"



MoBile Artillery can move into wire hex." I did not find any rules saying Mob Arty can not move into wire."

Mobile Arty can NOT remove wire: "the card mentions only inf to be able to remove wire (in staid off batteling) and armor (simple moving onto it and STOP on it.)"
Stopping on it is an obligation for all units (except Hubart funnies with Bobbin.

Mobile Arty fires out at -1 die from wire: "Mobile arty fires like arty, so the same rules should be applied."

Could we have an official answer from DoW on this please ? Rolling Eyes
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 14 November 2012 04:14
Can Cavalry remove wire ?

We know infantry can remove wire instead off battling.

Armor just runs over and stops on wire to remove it and can still battle.

" Cavalry is treated as Inf for ordering and as armor for movement and battle. "

So, following the above rules:
- order the cavalry as infantry
- move onto wire, stop and flatten it = remove like armor does.
/-> " That doesnt sound right does it ? " Rolling Eyes

/-> i feel Cavalry should at least 'dismount' to be able to cut down = remove the wire, so this might be done by battling like infantry does ? Rolling Eyes
"On the other hand, with those horses tangled up into that wire, should they at all be able to remove wire ?" ! Rolling Eyes

/-> might it not be a good idea, since cavalry can move 3 since they are on horses, to give it the abbility to JUMP OVER the wire (that is afcourse if there is a free unoccupied open field hex behind it) !? Rolling Eyes

      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 14 November 2012 04:25
Hubart Funnies with Fascine may ignore the movement restrictions of all Fords and Trenches, treating them as countryside hexes for movement and battle.

Does this implement that they can ignore the movement restriction off Fordable Rivers, so can just run over them as if open terrain ? Rolling Eyes


      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 14 November 2012 04:32
Flemish_Havy wrote on Wed, 14 November 2012 07:25

Hubart Funnies with Fascine may ignore the movement restrictions of all Fords and Trenches, treating them as countryside hexes for movement and battle.

Does this implement that they can ignore the movement restriction off Fordable Rivers, so can just run over them as if open terrain ? Rolling Eyes





No. Just fords...the rectangular tile.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 14 November 2012 05:52
Flemish_Havy wrote on Wed, 14 November 2012 06:53

FAQ Arty & Mobile Arty in a wire:

I have searched the forums and did not find an 'official' answer from Dow yet ! (Hoping i didnt miss it anywhere.) Confused

What i found so far is:

Artillery can move into a wire hex. "I did not find any rules saying artillery can not move into wire hex."

Arty can NOT remove wire, since "the wire card mentions only inf to be able to remove wire and armor."

Arty fires out at -1 die from wire: Faq on Artillery bombard, states: "like inf an arty on wire will reduce the number of battle dice it rolls by 1"



MoBile Artillery can move into wire hex." I did not find any rules saying Mob Arty can not move into wire."

Mobile Arty can NOT remove wire: "the card mentions only inf to be able to remove wire (in staid off batteling) and armor (simple moving onto it and STOP on it.)"
Stopping on it is an obligation for all units (except Hubart funnies with Bobbin.

Mobile Arty fires out at -1 die from wire: "Mobile arty fires like arty, so the same rules should be applied."

Could we have an official answer from DoW on this please ? Rolling Eyes


You never actually asked a question here... Very Happy What is it that you're wanting an official answer to? Rolling Eyes
      
Flemish_Havy
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 477
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2011
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 14 November 2012 11:18
rasmussen81 wrote on Wed, 14 November 2012 05:52

Flemish_Havy wrote on Wed, 14 November 2012 06:53

FAQ Arty & Mobile Arty in a wire:

I have searched the forums and did not find an 'official' answer from Dow yet ! (Hoping i didnt miss it anywhere.) Confused

What i found so far is:

Artillery can move into a wire hex. "I did not find any rules saying artillery can not move into wire hex."

Arty can NOT remove wire, since "the wire card mentions only inf to be able to remove wire and armor."

Can artillery remove wire ?

Arty fires out at -1 die from wire: Faq on Artillery bombard, states: "like inf an arty on wire will reduce the number of battle dice it rolls by 1"

Does artillery have a dice reduction into wire ?

MoBile Artillery can move into wire hex." I did not find any rules saying Mob Arty can not move into wire."

Mobile Arty can NOT remove wire: "the card mentions only inf to be able to remove wire (in staid off batteling) and armor (simple moving onto it and STOP on it.)"
Stopping on it is an obligation for all units (except Hubart funnies with Bobbin.
Can Mobile artillery remove wire ?

Mobile Arty fires out at -1 die from wire: "Mobile arty fires like arty, so the same rules should be applied."

Does Mobile artillery have a dice reduction into wire ?


Could we have an official answer from DoW on this please ? Rolling Eyes


You never actually asked a question here... Very Happy What is it that you're wanting an official answer to? Rolling Eyes


What i meant is, i found lots off talk amongst players about the above on the forums and sometimes with diffrent opinions, but what i wrote above seems the most logical to me.
On those treads there was no answers nore statements from you sir Rasmussen nore DoW.

It might be my wrong use off words in translations, but i (we the community)would like a confirmation or the needed changes, toward the above mentioned about: " Rules for Arty & Mobile Arty in a wire "

All Question toward the FAQ in Color now !

And adding even more:

" Can cavalry remove wire and how it that played if so ? "

" Can snipers remove wire ? "
I would say no, since i dont see 1 man cutting up a hole bunch off wire. He might make a small hole you can pass trew, but that doesnt remove all wire

To add other units:

TD, Tiger, HT = same rules as for armor

SWA: is treated as normal infantry for all purposes. It removes wire in stead off batteling !
How does Early war SWA remove wire ?
Since Early War SWA can not battle when it moves, it takes 2 turns to remove the wire. Turn 1 move into the hex, turn 2 remove the wire en stead off batteling.

PC and trucks can NOT remove wire, so i suppose the CC can NOT remove wire then ?

Summond up question: " How do different kinds off units behave in wire regarding movement, firing, what units can remove wire and how do they do this ? " Surprised

Thx in Advance

H.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 14 November 2012 12:01]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Wed, 14 November 2012 11:55
EDIT: deleted post...

You made things more clear, and I'll look over your questions when I have time. Smile

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 14 November 2012 11:56]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7133
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Questions for the Official FAQ Sun, 18 November 2012 04:42
RBorg wrote on Sun, 18 November 2012 07:09

Turboheizer wrote on Wed, 14 November 2012 09:06

Quote:

On the "Operation Epsom" map, there is a medal marker on the town of Mouen, but there is nothing mentioned about it in the scenario rules!


This needs to be clarified by DoW or Richard Borg. Is this medal valid, and if so, how it is earned and how much does it count?



The town of Mouen is a Start Turn Permanent Medal Objective worth 1 Medal for the Axis forces.

Richard Borg


Note to self: Include this scenario clarification in the next FAQ update.
      
Pages (9): [ «  <  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  >  » ]     
Sujet précédent:Let's Play OVERLORD -- Saturday, May 4, on Vassal!
Sujet suivant:Countryside "City Ruins" Tile
Aller au forum: