Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Urban Combat Cards Question
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 893
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Urban Combat Cards Question Sat, 08 December 2012 10:53
Hello,

yesterday we had a blast playing the brand new OL scenario from the EP "High Stakes at Bruyeres".

This scenario uses the Urban Combat Cards. One question that came up during the game was:

What if a FG gets a card that is only usable by the opponents? Discard and draw another? Keep it and use it as "Street Fight"?

Thanks
      
Achtung Panzer
Senior Member
Leutnant

Pages Perso
Messages: 1075
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2007
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sat, 08 December 2012 12:03
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 09:53

Keep it and use it as "Street Fight"?


This one Wink
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7129
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sat, 08 December 2012 13:51
Achtung Panzer wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 15:03

Almilcar wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 09:53

Keep it and use it as "Street Fight"?


This one Wink


Yep, this becomes your best option...and you might as well use it early so that you can hopefully get a more useful card later. Smile
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 893
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sat, 08 December 2012 14:30
rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 13:51


Yep, this becomes your best option...and you might as well use it early so that you can hopefully get a more useful card later. Smile


Sometimes you have no other choice than keep it, since the Street Fight action needs to be in or next to a building... Or maybe it's a very good card how to let your opponent draw it in the next turns Cool
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7129
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sat, 08 December 2012 15:31
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 17:30

rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 13:51


Yep, this becomes your best option...and you might as well use it early so that you can hopefully get a more useful card later. Smile


Sometimes you have no other choice than keep it, since the Street Fight action needs to be in or next to a building... Or maybe it's a very good card how to let your opponent draw it in the next turns Cool


That's kind of my point...your FG is going to want to use the Street Fight action the first time they can because it isn't always an option.

I'm a little unclear what you mean about it being a good card "how to let your opponent draw it in the next turns" because once it's discarded you probably won't see it come back into the game...but that's always your choice! Cool
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 893
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sat, 08 December 2012 18:48
rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 15:31

Almilcar wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 17:30

rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 13:51


Yep, this becomes your best option...and you might as well use it early so that you can hopefully get a more useful card later. Smile


Sometimes you have no other choice than keep it, since the Street Fight action needs to be in or next to a building... Or maybe it's a very good card how to let your opponent draw it in the next turns Cool


That's kind of my point...your FG is going to want to use the Street Fight action the first time they can because it isn't always an option.

I'm a little unclear what you mean about it being a good card "how to let your opponent draw it in the next turns" because once it's discarded you probably won't see it come back into the game...but that's always your choice! Cool


Reshuffling after a TFH?
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sat, 08 December 2012 19:25
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 12:48

Reshuffling after a TFH?


There's 12 Recons in Overlord, 6 in standard or Breakthrough. The Overlord games don't last very long, so it will be rare that you'd play Out of Ammo, for instance, then TFH then Recon to draw it back.

Currently I only play with 2 house rules. One is to remove the Pincers from the Overlord double-deck (due to confusion). Perhaps I should replace them with Left and Right Probes, but I'm trying to keep it simple. It's unfortunate they didn't think up a special deck for Overlord different from a double deck. I can imagine a 60-80 card deck where the # of each section cards is equal, instead of more centers than either flank.

The other house rule I've been playing with is to use Winter and/or Urban Combat cards in scenarios that don't call for them but could. I'd like to play Suomussalmi with Winter Combat cards, and Red Barricades with Urban Combat cards. It's also too bad they didn't think to have the rule where you add Recon cards to the deck if playing with Combat cards or if there's Air Strikes/Blitz. In Red Barricades, despite it being a long game, you'll be lucky as Germans to get 2 Recons or 1 + an Air Power that can hit the same artillery.

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 10 December 2012 05:34]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 893
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sat, 08 December 2012 20:01
JFKoski wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 19:25


There's 12 Recons in Overlord, 6 in standard or Breakthrough. The Overlord games don't last very long, so it will be rare that you'd play Out of Ammo, for instance, then TFH then Recon to draw it back.



Never counted how many Recons 1 are in the OL deck... For sure that may be improbable but nothing ridiculous. So many times drawing TFH or BEL after the opponent have it played a few turns earlier...
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7129
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sun, 09 December 2012 04:22
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 23:01

JFKoski wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 19:25


There's 12 Recons in Overlord, 6 in standard or Breakthrough. The Overlord games don't last very long, so it will be rare that you'd play Out of Ammo, for instance, then TFH then Recon to draw it back.



Never counted how many Recons 1 are in the OL deck... For sure that may be improbable but nothing ridiculous. So many times drawing TFH or BEL after the opponent have it played a few turns earlier...



It's true that even a small risk is larger than no risk! Smile If you prefer to keep the card in your hand to ensure that your enemy never gets to use it that is a fine choice. It's always a matter of measuring the risk with the benefits! Cool
      
ad79
Senior Member
Major Howard

Pages Perso
Messages: 786
Enregistré(e) en :
September 2007
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sun, 09 December 2012 13:51
I have made a standard deck with an extra set of Recon-1's in it, for use in scenarios that has combat cards in play.

This let's us see more combat cards drawn and the high number of Recon-1's played keep the scenarios equally deadly in my experience.

Great fun, but as always in this game, you get plays where every card is a recon-1 and then you have plays where you never draw them. But it is fun to know that there is a high chance you will get to draw more combat cards.

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7129
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sun, 09 December 2012 14:26
ad79 wrote on Sun, 09 December 2012 16:51

I have made a standard deck with an extra set of Recon-1's in it, for use in scenarios that has combat cards in play.

This let's us see more combat cards drawn and the high number of Recon-1's played keep the scenarios equally deadly in my experience.

Great fun, but as always in this game, you get plays where every card is a recon-1 and then you have plays where you never draw them. But it is fun to know that there is a high chance you will get to draw more combat cards.




That's a cool idea! Building your own custom deck for different battles is a neat idea if you have a few extra (or even just one extra) deck around. And since DoW sells the deck by itself, anyone can do this for their battles!

Of course this wouldn't be used in tournament games, but if it makes things more fun at home I like it. I might even try that myself when I have a chance! Cool
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2148
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Sun, 09 December 2012 16:02
rasmussen81 wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 07:51

Achtung Panzer wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 15:03

Almilcar wrote on Sat, 08 December 2012 09:53

Keep it and use it as "Street Fight"?


This one Wink


Yep, this becomes your best option...and you might as well use it early so that you can hopefully get a more useful card later. Smile


I am not sure why you seem to state playing this type of card early on may get you a better combat card.

There is no limit to the number of Combat Cards a FG can hold (nor play in a give turn for that matter) and playing it early has no effect on obtaining an additional Combat Card. Only playing a Recon card allows the draw of a Combat card.

[Mis à jour le: Sun, 09 December 2012 16:06]

      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7129
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Mon, 10 December 2012 05:23
You're right that it doesn't open your hand for a better card...my use of the word 'so' was probably not needed...my intention was more that you might as well use the Street Fighting part of the card as soon as you can to get the benefit of the card instead of holding onto it and 'wasting' the card.

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 893
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Mon, 10 December 2012 07:53
rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 10 December 2012 05:23

You're right that it doesn't open your hand for a better card...my use of the word 'so' was probably not needed...my intention was more that you might as well use the Street Fighting part of the card as soon as you can to get the benefit of the card instead of holding onto it and 'wasting' the card.




Yea, Rass. You are probably right. Depends a lot on the scenario, since the Street Fight action requires a building to be used.
      
rasmussen81
DoW Content Provider
Designer's Oath

Pages Perso
Messages: 7129
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Urban Combat Cards Question Mon, 10 December 2012 08:20
Almilcar wrote on Mon, 10 December 2012 10:53

rasmussen81 wrote on Mon, 10 December 2012 05:23

You're right that it doesn't open your hand for a better card...my use of the word 'so' was probably not needed...my intention was more that you might as well use the Street Fighting part of the card as soon as you can to get the benefit of the card instead of holding onto it and 'wasting' the card.




Yea, Rass. You are probably right. Depends a lot on the scenario, since the Street Fight action requires a building to be used.


Well, to be using the Urban Combat deck you would already be playing a scenario with lots of buildings...that's one of the expectations for using the deck. Smile

Of course you could use it any time you want, but it will be a lot less useful in battles with only a few (or no) city/town hexes.
      
    
Sujet précédent:Memoir 44 East-Flanders friends group Belgium play dates
Sujet suivant:Web Feature Request
Aller au forum: