Five Tribes Five Tribes

Forums

Recherche
Forums » Memoir '44 - English » Overlord Questions
Montrer: Messages du jour 
  
AuteurSujet
GI John
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 156
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2009
Overlord Questions Fri, 30 November 2012 00:27
I've read the original Overlord rules and the updated rules and I still have some questions. My first observation was the new deck included in the overlord pack just eliminates the need to consult the rule book. So, it's nice to have the new deck (if you can find it)

1) So, the Commander-In-Chief starts the game holding all the cards. I'm assuming the Field Generals are not allowed to ever see the C-I-C's hand? Correct?

2) So, for example, he passes out 2 section cards to the left flank field general, 1 tactic card to the Center flank FG and 0 to the right flank FG. Is it almost always best to 'shaft' a FG so he'll get an Initiative Roll?

3) What is the turn sequence? Which Field General plays his cards first? Does the other side's C-I-C pass his cards out before any battles take place? How would your opponent(s) use Counter Attack and remember which section an opposing FG used a card if the cards are turned in to be discarded?

I need to understand the turn sequence better. Does one team play all of their cards face up in the appropriate section and leave them face up until the other team has played their round, then both sides turn in their cards to their respective C-I-C at that time?

Please help

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 30 November 2012 00:28]

      
Quit2
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 1201
Enregistré(e) en :
July 2007
Re:Overlord Questions Fri, 30 November 2012 01:01
1) correct
2) it depends
it is almost always better to give a field general 1 card for 2 onsecutive turns than to give two in one turn and 0 in the next. But then again, it depends on the situation on the board.
Sometimes it is also better not to take initiative.
Example: all your units are still on your first row, without retreat. Bot a flag and a grenade make you loose a figure. 2 chances in 6, or 33 percent to loose a fig.
Imagine now you only have infantry, so 3 chances in 6 to order a unit. If you know in advance that any of your infantry would only attack with one die against infantry, you have 50 percent chance to hit, times 50 percent chance you'd order something, so in total, 25 percent chance you will take out a fig on your initiative roll, while you had 33 percent chance to loose a fig. You're better of not rolling a die.
Watch the board to see what to do. And then still, you might have thought about something great to do, but when you give the card to the field general, he uses it totally different than you would have.

3) the commander in chief plays his card first (like barrage, air power, TFH, ...) and applies the effect.
Then, all field generals reveal their cards at the same time. If it is a section card, they put it in front of the section they want to use it in.
All field generals order their units at the same time. They can discuss this, especially when it concerns actions around their common section separation.
All field generals move their units at the same time. Each unit is moved in turn, like in solo play, for his full movement, but you can move one unit from the flank player, then one unit from the centre player and then the second unit from that same flank player.
All players battle at the same time. Same rules as for movement.
All players discard their cards.
It is often a good idea to ask the opposing CiC if he wants to counter anything before you discard the cards, or you can keep them in play until the opponents played their cards and then you discard whenthey ordered their units.
      
GI John
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 156
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2009
Re:Overlord Questions Fri, 30 November 2012 01:12
You Said
it is almost always better to give a field general 1 card for 2 onsecutive turns than to give two in one turn and 0 in the next.

Questions:
ok, but the C-I-C can choose to give the Left Flank player 2 cards in consecutive turns and 0 to the right flank if the situation demands it correct?

Also, isn't there a limit of 3 cards to be played per turn? So, if the C-I-C gives 2 section cards to right flank, 1 to center and zero to the left, the C-I-C would not be able to play any card correct? Or does the C-I-C always get to play a card (that only he can play-if he has it).

And the initiative roll would be done before ordering units correct?

One more question...why do you need two decks of cards for Overlord? With 'Their Finest Hour' you're going to reshuffle the deck long before you get to the end anyway. I don't see the need for it.



[Mis à jour le: Fri, 30 November 2012 02:57]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2292
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Overlord Questions Fri, 30 November 2012 03:07
There are only a few cards that the CinC is permitted to play: Air Power, Barrage, TFH, and Ambush. (And a Counter Attack being used as one of the first three.) All the other cards are given to the FGs.

The CinC may play a maximum of 3 cards per turn, subject to certain distribution requirements.

If an FG gets a Tactic card or a Recon-in-Force, General Advance, or Pincer, then that's the only card he may be given. (If playing with Air rules, a Sortie may be given with one of the section cards.)

An FG may be given up to 2 Section cards. Each must be a single-section card, and if he's given two, he must play them in different sections. With Air rules, he may also be given one Section card and a Sortie.

The Overlord rules are neatly summarized in the original, old-version Overlord Rules PDF, which can be downloaded from the Rules & Goodies page. I highly recommend it. There are just a couple of details that were revised when the Overlord expansion subsequently came out.

Whether to give an FG multiple cards on a single turn, or single cards for multiple turns, totally depends on the situation. As CinC, you have to use your best judgement.

Overlord is a blast. Have fun with it!
      
GI John
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 156
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2009
Re:Overlord Questions Fri, 30 November 2012 03:23
so, out of 4 players on a side, you could have the below:

1 card for C-I-C
1 card for the Left Flank FG
1 card for the Center FG
0 cards for the Right Flank FG (Initiative Roll-optional)

OR

any other combo...except if the CIC gives 1 card to each FG he has no initiative roll, correct?
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Overlord Questions Fri, 30 November 2012 05:51
Remember, limit 1 card to FG if it's a...
Tactic card, or
Pincer Move (2 or 2 to LFG or RFG), or
Recon-in-Force (1+1), or
General Advance (2+2).

There's other things to learn if you choose to play with...
Commissar, or
Urban/Winter Combat Cards, or
Marines, or
Air Rules.

I think the double deck allows for greater variety of cards that might not otherwise come up in a single deck, like 3 Armor Assaults, or 2 Firefights, etc. My opponent said he drew 2 Dig-In cards!
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3090
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Overlord Questions Fri, 30 November 2012 15:13
GI John wrote on Thu, 29 November 2012 21:23

so, out of 4 players on a side, you could have the below:

1 card for C-I-C
1 card for the Left Flank FG
1 card for the Center FG
0 cards for the Right Flank FG (Initiative Roll-optional)

OR

any other combo...except if the CIC gives 1 card to each FG he has no initiative roll, correct?


The initiative roll is solely for the Field Generals. The C-in-C NEVER has the option of an initiative roll.

JFKoski wrote on Thu, 29 November 2012 23:51


I think the double deck allows for greater variety of cards that might not otherwise come up in a single deck, like 3 Armor Assaults, or 2 Firefights, etc. My opponent said he drew 2 Dig-In cards!


Yes, JFKoski is BANG ON! on this answer. The multiple decks allow more opportunities for both sides.

[Mis à jour le: Fri, 30 November 2012 15:16]

      
GI John
Senior Member
Lieutenant Colonel

Pages Perso
Messages: 156
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2009
Re:Overlord Questions Mon, 03 December 2012 02:14
Question...If there are only two players playing Overlord why not just play it as a normal game? I don't understand why two players would go through the extra steps of assigning cards to left flank, center flank etc.

What do other players do? It would seem to me to the special rules would only apply when there are 3 or more players.

Your thoughts?

I guess because not enough action per turn. I guess I answered my own question.

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 03 December 2012 02:15]

      
sam1812
Senior Member
Brigadier General

Pages Perso
Messages: 2292
Enregistré(e) en :
August 2006
Re:Overlord Questions Mon, 03 December 2012 02:58
I like the Overlord rules as they are. The dynamic of one-card-at-a-time is completely different from the dynamic of the 3-card maximum (and the related hand management) and being able to attack on multiple fronts at once.

If people want to experiment with their own house rules, obviously, they're always free to do that. (My sister and I once came up with a really novel set of rules for chess.)
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1412
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Overlord Questions Mon, 03 December 2012 14:47
I've been reading this thread and resisted getting in for awhile, but maybe the overlord chart I put together for conventions would help. It is available on my user page or here:
http://cdn.daysofwonder.com/uploads/userpages/272628/_5568.p df

I know it helped clear up confusion at the conventions that I play at (my own included).

      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Overlord Questions Mon, 03 December 2012 21:20
50th wrote on Mon, 03 December 2012 08:47

...Maybe the overlord chart I put together for conventions would help....

I know it helped clear up confusion at the conventions that I play at (my own included).



Yeah, that looks pretty good for describing the cards. I have my own note cards for reference, but feel I still need something for the sequence of play, since I keep making mistakes. I haven't done Overlord w/Air Rules or Overlord w/Commissar Rules yet, but just played with Marines and that took a few minutes to understand the bonus order correctly. Now I read that if you have just two per side you can play all roles jointly?
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1412
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Overlord Questions Wed, 05 December 2012 00:13
did you download the Original overlord rules booklet?I find it better for most overlord, but the Operation Overlord rulebook is better at answering questions about overlord with Eastern Front. I think there was an airpack answer sheet on overlord somewhere, I'll look for it.

First edition overlord rules:
http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_overlord_en. pdf

Operation Overlord rules:
http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_operation_ov erlord_en.pdf

Airpack with overlord:
http://cdn1.daysofwonder.com/memoir44/en/img/mm_airpack_over lord_en.pdf

Try these!
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Overlord Questions Wed, 05 December 2012 04:39
Since this thread came to my attention (and since I had problems with my last Overlord, Pelileu Landing), I decided to work on a reference card for Overlord Sequence of Play. I posted it on Boardgamegeek so it will stick around for awhile.

Please take a look and comment here or there. I need to look up the Behind Enemy Lines sequence. You may have to wait for all combat to finish before your second movement. (EDIT: Despite FAQ saying both Marines BEL shoot first then make 2nd movement, the Online game has one unit battle, its 2nd movement then 2nd unit battles and moves.)

I looked at both Overlord rulebooks, and the FAQ was helpful for Commissar rules after I read it twice and a thread discussing it.

[Mis à jour le: Wed, 05 December 2012 05:34]

      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 899
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Overlord Questions Wed, 05 December 2012 07:59
Hello,

nice and very helpful list. I'll keep an eye on it.
      
tank commander
Senior Member
J'adore les ananas

Pages Perso
Messages: 2183
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2004
Re:Overlord Questions Mon, 17 December 2012 11:51
I posted a comment on this on the BGG forum - hope it may be helpful.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 899
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Overlord Questions Mon, 17 December 2012 12:22
JFKoski wrote on Wed, 05 December 2012 04:39

Since this thread came to my attention (and since I had problems with my last Overlord, Pelileu Landing), I decided to work on a reference card for Overlord Sequence of Play. I posted it on Boardgamegeek so it will stick around for awhile.

Please take a look and comment here or there. I need to look up the Behind Enemy Lines sequence. You may have to wait for all combat to finish before your second movement. (EDIT: Despite FAQ saying both Marines BEL shoot first then make 2nd movement, the Online game has one unit battle, its 2nd movement then 2nd unit battles and moves.)

I looked at both Overlord rulebooks, and the FAQ was helpful for Commissar rules after I read it twice and a thread discussing it.


Do you plan creating a PDF help-sheet with your sequence?
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Overlord Questions Mon, 17 December 2012 18:37
Almilcar wrote on Mon, 17 December 2012 06:22


Do you plan creating a PDF help-sheet with your sequence?


No (I don't have a pdf-maker), but I'll post that BBG page as a Word file under my "user pages" (see left link).

[Mis à jour le: Mon, 17 December 2012 18:37]

      
Phread
Senior Member
Flegme Britannique

Pages Perso
Messages: 1778
Enregistré(e) en :
December 2008
Re:Overlord Questions Mon, 17 December 2012 20:11
There are a lot of free printer drivers that allow you to "print" a word document as a PDF file, essentially they save the word file as a PDF file.

PM me if you wish to know which I use.
      
50th
Senior Member
Spécialiste des blindés

Pages Perso
Messages: 1412
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2006
Re:Overlord Questions Tue, 18 December 2012 12:17
You may also have the ability to export as pdf from Word. I use open office, which has that capability.

      
CappyTom
Junior Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 17
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2010
Re:Overlord Questions Sat, 29 December 2012 20:17
I understand how overlord works, my question is with 4 players what is the sequence of play and is there still a C-I-C? If there is a C-n-C I guess the teams decide who that will be? Does one person play all 3 FG and one play C-I-C?
      
clexton27
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 3090
Enregistré(e) en :
February 2007
Re:Overlord Questions Sat, 29 December 2012 21:12
CappyTom wrote on Sat, 29 December 2012 14:17

I understand how overlord works, my question is with 4 players what is the sequence of play and is there still a C-I-C? If there is a C-n-C I guess the teams decide who that will be? Does one person play all 3 FG and one play C-I-C?



The CinC will usually command one section as well as serve as the CinC. His partner will command the other two sections.
      
Almilcar
Senior Member
Lettres d'Iwo Jima

Pages Perso
Messages: 899
Enregistré(e) en :
November 2011
Re:Overlord Questions Sat, 29 December 2012 21:45
stevens wrote on Sat, 29 December 2012 21:12

CappyTom wrote on Sat, 29 December 2012 14:17

I understand how overlord works, my question is with 4 players what is the sequence of play and is there still a C-I-C? If there is a C-n-C I guess the teams decide who that will be? Does one person play all 3 FG and one play C-I-C?



The CinC will usually command one section as well as serve as the CinC. His partner will command the other two sections.


We use to play 3 vs 3. One of us assume a two-hat role: CinC + FG. We draw lots for both, the CinC and the flanks.

In your case, I'd give the role of the CinC + 1 FG to one of the players, while the other may take the other 2 sections.

Regards

      
CappyTom
Junior Member
Cadet

Pages Perso
Messages: 17
Enregistré(e) en :
April 2010
Re:Overlord Questions Sun, 30 December 2012 04:49
Almilcar wrote on Sat, 29 December 2012 15:45

stevens wrote on Sat, 29 December 2012 21:12

CappyTom wrote on Sat, 29 December 2012 14:17

I understand how overlord works, my question is with 4 players what is the sequence of play and is there still a C-I-C? If there is a C-n-C I guess the teams decide who that will be? Does one person play all 3 FG and one play C-I-C?



The CinC will usually command one section as well as serve as the CinC. His partner will command the other two sections.


We use to play 3 vs 3. One of us assume a two-hat role: CinC + FG. We draw lots for both, the CinC and the flanks.

In your case, I'd give the role of the CinC + 1 FG to one of the players, while the other may take the other 2 sections.

Regards




Thanks guys.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Overlord Questions Sun, 30 December 2012 17:39
I think the rules state that if you have 2 on a side, they should play all roles cooperatively.

We didn't do this last time, instead we had the CiC play the Center and the other do the flanks.
      
JFKoski
Senior Member
Historien accompli

Pages Perso
Messages: 603
Enregistré(e) en :
October 2005
Re:Overlord Questions Wed, 30 January 2013 04:07
I updated both my BGG page, and my Word file today for Overlord Sequence of Play.

I needed to correct an error I made so as to conform with the following rules.
>With Air Rules, Air Sorties and Air Sortie equivalents go to the Field Generals, who move the planes.
>Without Air Rules, Air Power and Recon as Air Power (Air Strikes/Blitz) are played by the Commander in Chief (no plane figures).

I also added some things to the sequence.
>I was surprised to find that if you play 1-3 Air Sorties, and no Tactic or Section cards, CiC draws NO cards!
>Strafing, Rescue, and Kamikaze attack are resolved immediately after the plane finishes moving.
>Recon by plane lets the CiC draw 3 cards instead of 2, and FG gets a Combat Card.

I can see it might be worthwhile to bring in a Storch, Recon to draw 3, then Rescue a lone-figure infantry.
      
    
Sujet précédent:New Memoir '44 Equipment Pack - largest set of figures ever!
Sujet suivant:General stevens Rules Quiz No.1
Aller au forum: